The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 4.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 22, 2022, 05:53pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,931
Player Throws His Opponent To The Floor ...

4.19.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling in the frontcourt. A3 and B4 are in the lane. (a) A3 throws B4 to the floor; (b) B4 throws A3 to the floor. RULING: In (a), illegal and in (b), intentional foul due to excessive contact while the ball is live. (4-19-3d)

I see only one difference between these two fouls. One, by A3, is a team control foul, and the other, by B3, isn't a team control foul.

Since both are described in the same exact manner, player throws his opponent to the floor, why is only one deemed intentional?

While a team is in control, can player on that team can be charged with an intentional foul followed by two free throws and ball as the consequence?

Or, does one never shoot free throws for a foul against player who's team is in control, even if the foul is deemed to be intentional, or flagrant?

Why am I confused by such a seemingly simple casebook play?

And where are my reading glasses?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 22, 2022, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,135
Definitely missing context or different meanings here. You can "throw" someone to the floor without throwing them to the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2022, 08:13am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
...

Or, does one never shoot free throws for a foul against player who's team is in control, even if the foul is deemed to be intentional, or flagrant?
...
This is definitively not true by any interpretation of the rules.

I actually called an off-ball, intentional foul (Flagrant 1) on an offensive player last season in a Men's JuCo game.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2022, 09:40am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,931
Confirmation

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
... does one never shoot free throws for a foul against player who's team is in control, even if the foul is deemed to be intentional, or flagrant?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
This is definitively not true by any interpretation of the rules ...
So I figured. Thanks for the confirmation Raymond.

Wasn't there an annual interpretation of two free throws and the ball after an intentional foul by a player who was in control?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Sep 23, 2022 at 09:53am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2022, 09:46am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,931
Seek And Ye Shall Find (Matthew 7) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Wasn't there an annual interpretation of two free throws and the ball after an intentional foul by a player who was in control?
REVISED 1996 INTERPRETATONS
SITUATION #13: Al is dribbling when he or she is charged with ‘an intentional foul for elbowing BI. Since Al was in control, will Bl be awarded free throws if Team A is in the bonus situation?
RULING: Whether or not Team A is in the bonus is of no consequence in this situation., An intentional foul is always penalized by awarding the offended player two free throws and the ball for a throw-in. (10-6 Pen 4)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Sep 23, 2022 at 02:11pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2022, 09:52am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,931
What's The Point ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
4.19.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling in the frontcourt. A3 and B4 are in the lane. (a) A3 throws B4 to the floor; (b) B4 throws A3 to the floor. RULING: In (a), illegal and in (b), intentional foul due to excessive contact while the ball is live. (4-19-3d)

I see only one difference between these two fouls. One, by A3, is a team control foul, and the other, by B3, isn't a team control foul.

Since both are described in the same exact manner, player throws his opponent to the floor, why is only one deemed intentional?
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Definitely missing context or different meanings here.
What's the point of this casebook play? What are we supposed to learn from this casebook play? Why two different rulings (are they really different)? Since both acts are described exactly the same, shouldn't both be deemed intentional fouls if one is deemed an intentional foul?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miami at Louisville Player Throws Ball Off Opponent's Face (Video) bballref3966 Basketball 46 Mon Mar 09, 2015 11:50am
What rule would a player violate for rerouting of an opponent? MiamiWadeCounty Basketball 19 Thu Jan 12, 2012 06:09pm
Player of floor phansen Basketball 16 Thu Mar 11, 2010 05:26pm
Player that is on the floor zanzibar Basketball 50 Sat Jan 22, 2005 06:58am
Player on the floor LepTalBldgs Basketball 26 Wed Jan 07, 2004 11:04am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1