The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player Throws His Opponent To The Floor ... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105792-player-throws-his-opponent-floor.html)

ilyazhito Tue Sep 27, 2022 10:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1048790)
4.19.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling in the frontcourt. A3 and B4 are in the lane. (a) A3 throws B4 to the floor; (b) B4 throws A3 to the floor. RULING: In (a), illegal and in (b), intentional foul due to excessive contact while the ball is live. (4-19-3d)

I see only one difference between these two fouls. One, by A3, is a team control foul, and the other, by B3, isn't a team control foul.

Since both are described in the same exact manner, player throws his opponent to the floor, why is only one deemed intentional?

While a team is in control, can player on that team can be charged with an intentional foul followed by two free throws and ball as the consequence?

Or, does one never shoot free throws for a foul against player who's team is in control, even if the foul is deemed to be intentional, or flagrant?

Why am I confused by such a seemingly simple casebook play?

And where are my reading glasses?

The ruling as described in (a) is wrong, because a team control foul is a common foul committed by the team in control of the ball. Because throwing an opponent to the floor is an act that rises above the level of a common foul, the intentional (or flagrant) foul penalty will supersede the common foul penalty and allow B4 to attempt free throws followed by possession for Team B.

BillyMac Wed Sep 28, 2022 09:01am

Wrong ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1048841)
The ruling as described in (a) is wrong, because a team control foul is a common foul committed by the team in control of the ball. Because throwing an opponent to the floor is an act that rises above the level of a common foul, the intentional (or flagrant) foul penalty will supersede the common foul penalty and allow B4 to attempt free throws followed by possession for Team B.

I agree with you 99.9% that ruling (a) is "wrong".

But technically, ruling (a) isn't "wrong". The (a) ruling states that situation (a) is "illegal", which it most certainly is.

If ruling (a) is "wrong", it's "wrong" because, in combination with ruling (b), ruling (a) is confusing, misleading, incomplete, and ambiguous, but it's not "wrong" because situation (a) is indeed "illegal"

Thank God the caseplay has been changed.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1048830)
In 22-23, the ruling has been changed to "In (a) and (b), intentional foul due to excessive contact while the ball is live.


Raymond Wed Sep 28, 2022 10:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1048844)
I agree with you 99.9% that ruling (a) is "wrong".

But technically, ruling (a) isn't "wrong". The (a) ruling states that situation (a) is "illegal", which it most certainly is.

If ruling (a) is "wrong", it's "wrong" because, in combination with ruling (b), ruling (a) is confusing, misleading, incomplete, and ambiguous, but it's not "wrong" because situation (a) is indeed "illegal"

Thank God the caseplay has been changed.

IT WAS WRONG!!!!

Situation (a) included the words "and, in (b)", meaning the punishment for (b) is different than the punishment for (a).

If you are going to be anal, then be completely anal.

BillyMac Wed Sep 28, 2022 10:11am

Wrong ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1048847)
IT WAS WRONG!!!!

On many different levels, which is why it's gone.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Sep 28, 2022 11:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1048790)
4.19.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling in the frontcourt. A3 and B4 are in the lane. (a) A3 throws B4 to the floor; (b) B4 throws A3 to the floor. RULING: In (a), illegal and in (b), intentional foul due to excessive contact while the ball is live. (4-19-3d)

I see only one difference between these two fouls. One, by A3, is a team control foul, and the other, by B3, isn't a team control foul.

Since both are described in the same exact manner, player throws his opponent to the floor, why is only one deemed intentional?

While a team is in control, can player on that team can be charged with an intentional foul followed by two free throws and ball as the consequence?

Or, does one never shoot free throws for a foul against player who's team is in control, even if the foul is deemed to be intentional, or flagrant?

Why am I confused by such a seemingly simple casebook play?

And where are my reading glasses?


Billy:

The 2022-23 NFHS Basketball CB Play 4.19.3E RULING has been amended. It now reads (see the highlighted portion):

"In (a) and (b), intentional foul due to excessive contact while the ball is live."

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Sep 28, 2022 11:15am

While this type of conduct most definitely falls under NFHS R4-S19-A3d and therefore is an IPF, it could also be very easily be an IFF under NFHS R4-S19-A4.

MTD, Sr.

bob jenkins Wed Sep 28, 2022 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1048830)
That's the 21-22 case play, and I'm pretty sure we discussed it before.

In 22-23, the ruling has been changed to "In (a) and (b), intentional foul due to excessive contact while the ball is live."

I hope that can end the discussion.

I knew this was too much to hope for.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Sep 28, 2022 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1048855)
I knew this was too much to hope for.


Bob:

I did not see your original comment. I read Billy's original comment and then immediately posted my comment concerning the correction in the 2022-23 Casebook.

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Wed Sep 28, 2022 11:30am

End The Discussion ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1048855)
I hope that can end the discussion.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1048855)
I knew this was too much to hope for.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1048856)
I read Billy's original comment and then immediately posted my comment concerning the correction in the 2022-23 Casebook.

I blame ilyazhito, I posted my comment in response to ilyazhito's post.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Sep 28, 2022 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1048857)
I blame ilyazhito, I posted my comment in response to ilyazhito's post.


Billy:

No one to blame. All three of us are getting old, LOL!

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Wed Sep 28, 2022 12:20pm

Young Grasshopper ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1048859)
All three of us are getting old ...

I don't know him personally, but I get the feeling that ilyazhito is a "young grasshopper".

Note: Young'uns can look up the 1972 television series "Kung Fu" on the Google.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Sep 28, 2022 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1048862)
I don't know him personally, but I get the feeling that ilyazhito is a "young grasshopper".

Note: Young'uns can look up the 1972 television series "Kung Fu" on the Google.


I was referring to Bob, you, and me. But I only consider myself old if it can get me a senior citizen discount, :p!

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1