![]() |
Ejection W/O a Technical Foul?
NCAAM game. A dead ball scuffle breaks out that results in technical fouls on two Team A players and one team B player. Additionally, another Team B player is ejected. The crew reported the three technical fouls and the ejection. No free throws were shot and the ball was put back into play according to 7-3-2.
Can a player be ejected without being charged with a technical foul, or should the ejected player have been charged with a Flagrant 2 Technical? If so, should free throws have then been shot as the penalties would have then become unequal? |
from the NCAAM rules book:
EJECTION—Article 1 and Article 2. Class B technical fouls apply toward ejection when the following have been assessed: a maximum of three Class B technical fouls (BBB) or a combination of one Class A and two Class B technical fouls (ABB). Any individual who leaves the bench area and enters the playing court but does not participate in a fight (Art. 2.j) shall not be assessed a Class B technical foul (no free throws awarded). That individual shall be ejected but is not subject to suspension. |
Quote:
|
Are you sure the amount of Ts that took place? Was this the NCAA D1 Tournament? If so, what game?
Peace |
Which game?
|
It wasn't an NCAAT game. It was a postseason game in another governing body. The play-by-play feed of the game listed the three technical fouls that were charged to the other players involved but did not list one charged to the ejected player.
|
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Yes. Semifinal game in Men's Division I.
|
I wouldn’t trust the box score to accurately capture the penalties that were assessed. I’ve found that those technical foul memos are frequently incorrect.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47am. |