![]() |
In Bounds-Out of Bounds-In Bounds
NCAA-M
A1 has the ball and is passing the ball towards A2. B2 tries to intercept the pass and deflects the ball. His momentum carries him out of bounds. He reestablishes himself inbounds and secures control of the ball. Is this a violation in NCAA-M? |
It's not a violation in high school or college.
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Own Volition ...
Quote:
NCAA Rules: Rule 9, Section 3, Article 1: A player who steps out of bounds under his own volition and then becomes the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court has committed a violation. https://thumbs.gfycat.com/WastefulLa...rel-mobile.mp4 |
This is not a violation, because B2 is making a legitimate attempt to secure the ball. A player jumping or diving into out-of-bounds territory to secure a ball has always been a legal play, provided the player is not actually in contact with an out-of-bounds area and the ball at the same time. This is different than a player running out of bounds without the ball and using out of bounds-status to gain an unfair advantage, such as an offensive player disappearing out of bounds, and reappearing to catch a pass (or a defender going OOB to avoid a screen).
|
So in your video example the basket was disallowed?
Quote:
|
Quote:
And, the fact that this is a spot throw-in makes another rule come into play. |
I'm Authorized (Detective Joe Fontana, Law & Order) ...
Quote:
Said player would be "authorized" to leave the court in a run the endlne throwin. |
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Haste Makes Waste ...
Quote:
NFHS 9-2-11: No teammate of the thrower must be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03pm. |