The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA-M Technical Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105668-ncaa-m-technical-foul.html)

Zoochy Sat Mar 05, 2022 11:43am

NCAA-M Technical Foul
 
Player A1 has 4 personal fouls. A1 attempts a dunk. Loses control of the ball during the dunk process. Hangs on the rim (for protection). continues to hang on the rim with 1 hand while trying to secure control of the ball with the other hand.
Referee calls a Technical foul on A1.
In NFHS, this Technical foul also counts towards the players 5 personal fouls. Is this process different for NCAA-M?

crosscountry55 Sat Mar 05, 2022 11:52am

Yes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zoochy Sat Mar 05, 2022 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1047294)
Yes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

'xplain Lucy . How is it different? Is it added towards Team total? Is it added towards Personal total?

Raymond Sat Mar 05, 2022 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1047293)
Player A1 has 4 personal fouls. A1 attempts a dunk. Loses control of the ball during the dunk process. Hangs on the rim (for protection). continues to hang on the rim with 1 hand while trying to secure control of the ball with the other hand.

Referee calls a Technical foul on A1.

In NFHS, this Technical foul also counts towards the players 5 personal fouls. Is this process different for NCAA-M?

It's a Class B technical foul, which does not count towards the team foul count or the personal foul count.

Basically, technical fouls against players are only Class A if they involve some type of unsporting conduct.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

crosscountry55 Sat Mar 05, 2022 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1047293)
Referee calls a Technical foul on A1.

My bad. I thought what was described was a Class A.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Camron Rust Sun Mar 06, 2022 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1047299)
It's a Class B technical foul, which does not count towards the team foul count or the personal foul count is.

Basically, technical fouls against players are only Class A if they involve some type of unsporting conduct.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

I wish HS would do something to achieve that same effect. There are some technical fouls that are just not egregious enough to warrant being DQ'd.

I was on a game where I had a partner call BI for a similar infraction. It was actually BI so that part wasn't wrong. However, we could have called that T but we didn't.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1