![]() |
Huddle with coach during free throw?
Just wanting opinions on this tactic.
On every two shot foul a coach always brings his four players over to his sideline while his player shoots the first free throw. The four players huddle around him with his whiteboard, then after his player shoots the free throw those four players take their spots in the FT lane. Just curious if these de facto timeouts are legal? I'm not saying this isn't good coaching, but just seems like it's an unfair advantage because the other coach can't bring all of his players over during this time even if he wants to because, I believe, the bottom spots have to be filled even on a 2 shot foul, correct? Just wondering, what, if anything should be done with this tactic? |
Quote:
The opposing coach can meet with three of his players if they so choose. It isn't at all unfair. There is absolutely *zero* rule support for prohibiting this activity (aside from the players' locations I already mentioned). |
No rules against it at all. As long as the team not shooting the FTs are in place on the first block. we do not care what the other players are doing. No one has to even be on the lane but 2 players. The rest can be wherever they want outside of the 3 point line and above FT line extended.
Peace |
I will add that we should not delay the second FT to allow the coach to continue to talk or the players to slowly mosey (is there any other way to mosey?)back to the FT lane.
(Nor should we rush in order to play "gotcha" with the teams) |
Quote:
So when you say "his" player is shooting (offense), only 2 of his players MAY occupy any of the empty lane spaces, not 4. If not done in a timely manner, just bounce it to the FT shooter and keep it moving. If the D delays in occupying the lower blocks, as you may know, there are penalties for that. |
Mosey Along ...
Quote:
|
Legally Converse With Coaches ...
Not exactly the same, but similar in intent:
Things Officials Should Probably Not Be Saying In A Game "Everybody get behind the division line”, often said by an official before free throws for a technical foul, or an intentional foul, is also not rule based. According to the rule, the nine non-shooters shall remain behind the free throw line extended, and behind the three point arc, and do not have to stay behind the division line. In some cases, this may allow players to legally converse with their coaches. |
The teams can even do that any time during the game, it would not be advised outside of FTs, however.
|
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
The Old Adage ...
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Didn't realize they were your own words. Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
You Don't Say ...
Quote:
|
Watched this take place one night:
Team A is shooting FTs in the first half, coach calls the other four players over during the first. B5 jogs over. He doesn't insert himself into the huddle, but looks over their shoulder and listens while Coach A is giving instructions. A12 realizes what is happening and gives B5 a small shove to push him away from the huddle. Nothing malicious, but can't say I remember if the ball was live when the shove occurred or not. B5 grins and takes a couple steps away. All this occurred with T's back to them. Could have been a bad situation. |
Shouldn't Be Legal ...
Quote:
Unsporting? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
2) Huddling in the lane to delay the administration of the FT is NOT what the OP was about. It was the team meeting near the bench. If the defense does not put two players in the lower blocks, it's a T, with no (official) warning and certainly not a delay warning. (Good game management will have the official tell the coach that the players are needed before resorting to the T.) |
A Player Must Not Delay The Game ...
Quote:
a. Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play. c. The free thrower fails to be in the free-throw semicircle when the official is ready to administer the free throw unless the resumption-of-play procedure is in effect following a time-out or intermission. 10.4.5 SITUATION: The ruling official has reported the foul and has given directions to players along the lane. The official is ready to put the ball at free thrower A1’s disposal, but A1 is at the sideline talking to the coach. RULING: A technical foul for delay is charged to A1. No warning is authorized in this situation. (10-3-5c) |
Don't Say ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Knock It Off ...
Quote:
|
Offensive Players ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Eavesdropping ...
Quote:
Agree. But eavesdropping is not a "good look" for the sport. https://tse1.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP._...=0&w=190&h=162 |
Quote:
|
Cone Of Silence (Get Smart) ...
Quote:
Under extreme circumstances I can see this possibly leading to some type of unsporting altercation. Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I just stand by the huddle and remind participants to keep their hands to themselves and their comments towards their own team. Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Right Thing To Do ...
Quote:
I never called it unsporting, just questioned if it could be considered unsporting. It pretty difficult to call something legal unsporting. Occasionally, in regard to intrateam communication and profane language, Forum members have mentioned the "inviolability of the huddle". The huddle is not inviolable all the time, especially during a free throw. Quote:
|
Designated Time Out Areas ...
Quote:
1-13-3: The time-out area must be the area inside an imaginary rectangle formed by the boundaries of the sideline (including the bench), end line, and an imaginary line extended from the free-throw lane line nearest the bench area meeting an imaginary line extended from the coaching-box line. 5-11-2,3: … must be conducted within the confines of the time-out area. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
10.2.1 SITUATION C The ruling official has reported the foul and proceeds to his/her proper position for the first of two free throws awarded to A1... (b) two B players are not occupying the first two marked spaces next to the end line as required. In (b), Team B will be directed to occupy the required spaces. If there is delay, a team technical foul shall be charged to Team B. (4-47) Thinking of 8-1-2 perhaps, ilyazhito? |
Quadruple Violation ???
Quote:
9.1.2 SITUATION B: A1 is shooting the first of a bonus free-throw situation. A4 and A5 are positioned in the first two marked lane spaces (near the end line) and B4 and B5 are positioned in the second two marked lane spaces. The incorrect alignment is discovered by the officials (a) before the ball is at the disposal of A1; (b) after the ball is at A1's disposal, but before the try is in flight; (c) when the try is in flight; (d) when the successful try goes through the cylinder; (e) when the unsuccessful try is rebounding off the basket ring; or (f) when the rebound of the unsuccessful try is securely in A4's possession. RULING: In (a), the administering official shall "reset" the free throw and put the players in their proper marked lane spaces. In (b) and (c) an official shall sound his/her whistle immediately and call a simultaneous violation, utilizing the alternating-possession procedure to put the ball in play. In (d), (e) and (f) the free throw has ended and the improper alignment is ignored. (4-20-3; 9-1-2 Penalty 3) |
Quote:
I understand he aspires to be hired by that group, provided he can pass their arduous testing regimen and the requirement to have facility speaking Tagalog. He has already demonstrated proficient language skills, his downfall will be to assimilate basketball rule sets. |
Quote:
Shooting a three pointer at the buzzer of a game you are already winning by 30 when the defense is already walking towards their bench is poor form/bad sportsmanship . I don't believe anyone thinks it rises to the level of unsportsmanlike conduct. |
Not Limited To ...
Quote:
Rule book doesn't really define unsportsmanlike conduct. It just give examples with the open ended qualifying phrase, "this includes, but is not limited to ...". Quote:
https://tse2.explicit.bing.net/th?id...=0&w=169&h=167 |
Don't You Dare ...
Quote:
Winning captain was teeing up his shot when I told him, as the trail, "Don't you dare". He didn't shoot. Had he shot the ball, I would have counted, or not counted, the three, turned away and quietly left the gym with my partner. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53pm. |