The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   So what your saying is. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105607-so-what-your-saying.html)

Pantherdreams Fri Jan 14, 2022 11:22am

So what your saying is.
 
End of Arizona womens' game ball hit a referee after being touched by the inbounders defender. Nothing done wrong only .5 seconds left on the clock when touch happed game is over before contact with official happens. If you want to see play and haven't:

https://twitter.com/ArizonaWBB/statu...098493953?s=20

Now it did get me thinking. If players are where they were until they get there their going, but officials are part of equipment/floor when ball contacts them. When are we inbounds and out of bounds?

Obviously I'm out of bounds when ball touches me then its out.
If I'm on the playing court I'm inbounds play on.

1) If I'm straddling the line and its hits my foot or body that's inbounds because the rest of me is out of bounds I think I'm still equipment that's out of bounds so whistle play down?

2) If I was straddling line and ball comes towards so I jump (imagine if I could still jump) to avoid the ball but it hits me anyway. Am I inbounds? Out of bounds? Does which foot left the floor first matter?

bob jenkins Fri Jan 14, 2022 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 1046451)
When are we inbounds and out of bounds?

3-35-1 "The location of a player *OR NONPLAYER" ...."

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Jan 14, 2022 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1046452)
3-35-1 "The location of a player *OR NONPLAYER" ...."


Bob:

If the Officials thought that the Ball touched the Official (Out-of-Bounds) before the Horn sounded, could the Official do a video review to ascertain if the Ball went Out-of-Bounds before the Horn sounded? It appeared to me that the Ball touched the Official before the Horn sounded.

MTD, Sr.

Raymond Fri Jan 14, 2022 02:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1046453)
Bob:

If the Officials thought that the Ball touched the Official (Out-of-Bounds) before the Horn sounded, could the Official do a video review to ascertain if the Ball went Out-of-Bounds before the Horn sounded? It appeared to me that the Ball touched the Official before the Horn sounded.

MTD, Sr.

On the Men's side it is reviewable if the officials feel there was an error in stopping the clock.

BillyMac Fri Jan 14, 2022 02:35pm

Always Listen To bob ...
 
... even when he's one number off.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1046452)
3-35-1 "The location of a player *OR NONPLAYER" ...."

4-35-1-A: The location of a player or non-player is determined by where the person is touching the floor as far as being: Inbounds or out-of-bounds.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 14, 2022 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1046455)
On the Men's side it is reviewable if the officials feel there was an error in stopping the clock.

Same.

Nevadaref Fri Jan 14, 2022 09:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 1046451)
End of Arizona womens' game ball hit a referee after being touched by the inbounders defender. Nothing done wrong only .5 seconds left on the clock when touch happed game is over before contact with official happens. If you want to see play and haven't:

https://twitter.com/ArizonaWBB/statu...098493953?s=20

Now it did get me thinking. If players are where they were until they get there their going, but officials are part of equipment/floor when ball contacts them. When are we inbounds and out of bounds?

Obviously I'm out of bounds when ball touches me then its out.
If I'm on the playing court I'm inbounds play on.

1) If I'm straddling the line and its hits my foot or body that's inbounds because the rest of me is out of bounds I think I'm still equipment that's out of bounds so whistle play down?

2) If I was straddling line and ball comes towards so I jump (imagine if I could still jump) to avoid the ball but it hits me anyway. Am I inbounds? Out of bounds? Does which foot left the floor first matter?

1. If any part of a person is touching out of bounds, then the entire person is out of bounds by rule. So, yes, this would require a whistle for an OOB violation.

2. Excellent question! If you jump with both feet simultaneously, you would be consider out of bounds while airborne because you were out of bounds when last in contact with the floor. Same for if you lift your inbounds foot first. However, you correctly posited that if you clearly lift your OOB foot first, you give yourself inbounds status and would retain that status while airborne.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1