![]() |
Trips And Tripping ...
Quote:
Quote:
4-23-1: Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent ... Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent. A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip or leg into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs. 4-37-3: Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court, provided the player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent. 10-7-1: A player must not hold, push, charge, trip or impede the progress of an opponent by extending arm(s), shoulder(s), hip(s) or knee(s), or by bending his/her body into other than a normal position; nor use any rough tactics. |
Regarding the subject/content of the video that originated this Thread: I have a Legal dribble established by the player after recovering the ball, so "no-call". Thanks.
|
Dribble ...
Quote:
After gaining possession of a loose ball with knees on the floor, one can legally start a dribble (and one can then legally continue to dribble and stand up), pass, shoot, or request a timeout. The debate is about a travel, not about possible illegal dribble. Some believe that the player, preceding the start of the dribble, was attempting to get up, others believe that the player, preceding the start of the dribble, was not attempting to get up. It's a subjective judgement call. 4-44-5-B: Travel: A player holding the ball: After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand. 4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating? RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or request a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b) |
What is defined as rolling over?
We were debating this tonight. How do you judge rolling over either from the stomach or the back? Is it from stomach to back or back to stomach that is illegal? To the side? So many degrees? We've read and found all of the rules and case book plays previously mentioned but can't conclude about the rolling over part.
|
Quote:
|
Protector ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
Look That Up In Your Funk And Wagnalls ...
Quote:
Yeah. Thank you Funk. Thank you Wagnalls. For nothing. <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/w_BaJEry-fM" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
Well regarding whether or not a travel occurs is left to the sagacity of the referee who has primary coverage of the play.
|
Boo The Umpire ...
Quote:
Sagacity? “Don't use a five-dollar word when a fifty-cent word will do.” (Mark Twain) Samuel Clemens used to live right up the street from me. I mean, from where I live now. I'm not that old, but Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is. |
Kansas Ref…..ignore BillyMac’s critique. I, for one, appreciate the profundity of your word selection.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
Words Matter ...
Quote:
I actually used the word "musings" for the first time in my life on the Forum yesterday. Had to double check the spelling and to make sure it meant what I wanted it to mean. I did not do very well on the vocabulary part of my high school SAT. My English teacher, Mr. Baumgartner, was very disappointed. Profundity? Really? |
Sagacious: definition 2 obsolete : keen in sense perception. [merriam-webster.com, accessed 12/29/21]
|
Obsolete ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38pm. |