The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2021, 06:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
28) B-1 goaltends A-1’s try. After this violation airborne A-1 charges B-2 and is charged with a player control foul. The official awards Team B the ball at the designated spot closest to the foul. Is the official correct?

IAABO says the answer is Yes, and cites 7-5-7.

I say the answer is No. The ball is not awarded at the designated spot closest to the foul, but rather, B’s throw-in is from anywhere along the end line. Citations below.

[clip]

What say you?
I don't like their answer to this one.

A full reading of 4.19.6 Situation (a) and (b) suggests that sequence matters.

In (a): BI then PCF = 2pts, throw-in anywhere along the end line. 7-5-7.

In (b): PCF then GT = 0pts, designated spot nearest the foul. 7-5-4a.

According to their answer, the official awards 2 points to Team A then also 'penalizes' Team B with a designated spot throw-in.


4.19.6 SITUATION A

B1 obtains a legal position in A1’s path before A1 becomes airborne. A1 jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. Before returning to the floor, airborne shooter A1 charges into B1. (a) Before the foul by A1, B2 commits basket interference; or (b) after the foul on A1, B2 slaps the ball on its downward flight.

In (a), both the violation and the foul are penalized. The basket interference by B2 causes the ball to become dead immediately. The violation is penalized by awarding the two points. The player-control foul on A1 is also charged. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in anywhere along the end line. A defensive-goaltending or basket-interference violation committed prior to a player-control foul does not contradict the general statement that when a player-control foul occurs that player cannot score. In the case of a defensive violation, it is the violation which results in awarding the score.

In (b), the ball becomes dead and the try ends immediately when the player-control foul on A1 occurs. The action of B2 is ignored as goaltending cannot occur after the try has ended. The ball is awarded to Team B for a throw-in from a designated spot out of bounds closest to where the foul occurred. (4-12-1, 6-7-4, 6-7-9 EXCEPTION, 7-5-4a, 9-11)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IAABO Refresher Exam Question #57 ... BillyMac Basketball 0 Wed Nov 05, 2014 05:48pm
IAABO Refresher Exam 2014 LIRef Basketball 9 Sat Oct 25, 2014 08:03pm
IAABO Refresher Exam Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 33 Sat Dec 27, 2008 03:08pm
Backcourt ? from IAABO Refresher Exam Joel Poli Basketball 10 Fri Nov 07, 2003 11:05pm
IAABO Refresher Exam Question 25 ken roberts Basketball 6 Wed Oct 27, 1999 08:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1