![]() |
Quote:
Peace |
Kick Me ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Proudly Use Kick Signal Any Damn Time We Feel Like It ...
Quote:
The NFHS finally "approved" the kick signal in 2003-04, and IAABO followed suit in its first mechanics manual in 2004-05, so there was never an IAABO unapproved kick signal. Before that, like many other officials all over the country, officials in my little corner of Connecticut were NFHS rebels, proudly using the "unapproved" kick signal any damn time we felt like it, throwing caution to the wind. I was tranied to use it over forty years ago. https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.Z...=0&w=300&h=300 |
Update ...
Quote:
The IAABO Co-Coordinators of Interpreters will meet with the NFHS basketball rules editor on September 23, 2021 and old Points of Emphasis, vanished casebook plays, and annual one-time only interpretations will be discussed. Specifically regarding the 2012-13 Contact Above The Shoulders Point Of Emphasis, one of the Co-Coordinators served on the most recent NFHS rules committee and "swinging elbows" was discussed resulting in three new casebook plays to be added to the 2021-22 NFHS Casebook: 4.19.3 SITUATION F: After a rebound, A1, while holding the ball, pivots and A1’s elbow contacts B1 above the shoulders. A1's elbow is violently and excessively swung at a speed in excess of the player’s torso. RULING: If the contact is violent or excessive, a flagrant foul shall be called. (4-27, 4-19-2, 4-19-3, 4-19-4) 9.13.1 SITUATION B: A1 is trapped in the corner by B1 and B2, who are in legal guarding position. In an attempt to create space, A1 rapidly swings arms/elbows while using the shoulders as pivots (a) without making contact; (b) making contact with an opponent above the shoulders and elbows are moving faster than the body. RULING: In (a), A1 excessively swinging arms/elbows without contacting the opponent is a violation. Team B is awarded a designated spot throw-in nearest the violation. In (b), this is considered an intentional foul. (9-13-1) 9.13.2 SITUATION: A5 catches the ball on a rebound, “chins” the ball and then turns (with the elbow at the same speed as the body) to make an outlet pass with the elbow leading the way. Prior to releasing the ball, A1’s elbow contacts B5 above the shoulders. RULING: This may be ruled incidental contact or a player control foul. One of the old POE parameters isn't interpreted the same as it was in the old POE (an elbow in movement but not excessive should be an intentional foul), but the new casebook plays are a good reminder that player safety should be a high priority, and that officials should, and often must, consider upgrades for contact to the head. Of course, as usual, and always, when in Rome ... |
Quote:
Peace |
Locavore ...
Quote:
While guidance from the Connecticut State IAABO Board (our interscholastic sports governing body (CIAC) works through the State Board, not directly with individual of officials), IAABO International, and the NFHS is important, they're not as important as my local board. The Connecticut State IAABO Board, IAABO International, and the NFHS do not control one moving up or down the ladder in my little corner of Connecticut, my local board does. “As our Founders clearly stated … government closest to the people governs best.” (Virginia Governor Bob McDonnell) "All politics is local.” (Speaker of the United States House of Representatives Tip O'Neill) Of course, as usual, and always, when in Rome ... |
Common NFHS Language ...
Quote:
To use local, or state language instead of NFHS language when such language crosses local, or state boundaries (the Forum, Referee Magazine) can often lead to confusion unless properly noted. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Now we can end this part of the discussion. ;) Peace |
Celebration (Kool And The Gang, 1980) ...
Quote:
https://tse4.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.j...=0&w=300&h=300 Situations involving contact above the shoulders are now in the casebook, as a supplement to the rulebook definitions of intentional fouls and flagrant fouls, where it probably should have been (or the rulebook) in the first place. Now we've got something to show young'un officials and coaches. Stupid NFHS. Always a dime short, and nine years too late. |
Quote:
|
I Just Want To Celebrate (Rare Earth, 1971) …
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01am. |