![]() |
Fun With An Off The Ball Foul …
IAABO Make The Call Video
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...Xx1LfmXp9e.mp4 Who commits the foul on this play? Observe this play and make a ruling as to which player commits the foul. Four choices: The foul is on White No. 24. The foul is on Blue No. 2. There is no foul on this play. This should be ruled a double foul. My comment: The foul is on Blue No. 2. Blue #2 extends his left arm to prevent White #24 from getting a rebound. |
Where's Waldo ...
If one doesn't catch the first foul, one might end up calling a double foul.
Early IAABO member returns are all over the map with all four answers given. Actually took me a few times through the video to find any foul. Gotta stop ball watching. |
I have one foul on this play and it is #24 for grabbing the arm of the opponent and acting like he got pushed. That is a "Fool the referee" play.
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
On *this* play -- I have no foul because the ball went OOB, so there was no advantage gained. If the ball had remained live, I have a foul on white for pulling the arm. |
Cheat Sheet ...
Quote:
|
The first foul is on Blue for sticking his hand into White's chest. White then grabs Blue's hand and fakes being fouled again with a headbob.
NBA referees will tell you that when a player boxes out with his back to the basket, he is usually the first one to do something illegal, most often by using their hands or arms to push our hold back their opponent. Get the first foul, not the reaction to the first foul. Lead need to stay as wide as the ball. You don't have to be 2 ft away from action to officiate it. He can officiate the paint while still staying as wide as the ball. Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Double Foul ???
Quote:
Quote:
But how "close" do the first foul and reactive contact have to be to consider a double personal foul instead of a single foul? 4-19-8-A: A double personal foul is a situation in which two opponents commit personal fouls against each other at approximately the same time. Technically, the first foul creates a dead ball (the foul not the whistle), meaning that in order for the reactive contact to be a "foul" (and not ignored) it would have to be a dead ball technical intentional foul, or dead ball technical flagrant foul. Can't be a double personal foul since both aren't personal. Can't be a double technical foul because both aren't technical. False double? Ignore the reactive contact because it may not be intentional, or flagrant? Interesting situation, more complicated than I initially thought. Thinking about it too much will eventually give me a headache. Keeping it simple, in a real game, in real time, I'm leaning toward two possible interpretations. In order of preference, single personal foul on Blue #2, or double personal foul on Blue #2 and White #24. That's my story and I'm probably going to stick to it (until I change my mind). |
Woman's Prerogative ...
Quote:
This (below) may be the best, and simplest, interpretation: Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Scrum Aftermath ...
Quote:
|
Freedom Of Movement ...
Quote:
10-7 A player must not ... impede the progress of an opponent by extending arm(s) ... A player must not use his/her hands on an opponent in any way that inhibits the freedom of movement of the opponent ... A player must not extend the arm(s) fully or partially other than vertically so that freedom of movement of an opponent is hindered when contact with the arms occurs. 2015-16 NFHS Points Of Emphasis Rebounding Any activity to illegally gain rebounding position on an opponent must be properly enforced and penalized. Some examples of illegal rebounding activity are: Extending the arms or elbows to impede the movement of an opponent. Rebounders include each player involved in the act, whether an offensive or defensive player. |
Quote:
Peace |
Billy,
The usage of the term "displacement" is the highlight that nothing influenced the movement or change the direction of the white player (Kind of like saying in the other video the foul was "common" or "normal.") I realize that is not the only reason you call a foul here, but to me the black player did not get a chance to do anything that would warrant a foul. Touching is not a foul. You have to do something as you stated to warrant a foul and the white player was being savvy to try to make it looked like he was being pushed or held in some way. Peace |
Hook And Hold ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Rebounding Advantage ...
Quote:
But Blue #2's intentionally and illegally extended arm into White #24"s chest kept White #24 three feet farther away from the basket and a possible rebound. This gave a much shorter Blue #2, with an inside position, a possible tremendous rebounding advantage over a much taller White #24. Of course, White #24 didn't do himself any favors by intentionally and illegally holding on to Blue #2's intentionally and illegally extended arm, creating an ugly "scrum" situation. And, of course, another problem is that the rebound didn't end up coming that way, so neither player really benefited from any illegal contact advantage. Maybe the three officials were correct to play on. Nice video. Lots to discuss and learn. |
Be Sure To Get My Good Side ...
Quote:
|
Want To Come Up And See My Etchings ???
Quote:
Etchings, that is. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Rambo On The Forum, Very Cool ...
Quote:
I'm beginning to like a personal double foul more and more every time I watch the video. https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.W...=0&w=300&h=300 |
IAABO Survey Says …
Disclaimer: For IAABO eyes only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...Xx1LfmXp9e.mp4 IAABO Play Commentary Correct Answer: This should be ruled a double foul. In situations like this, the goal of officials is ty to get the first foul and penalize accordingly. Deciding on what that is was no easy task. The results among respondents are as follows: 26.1% charged Blue 2; 34.8% charged White 24; 26.6% charged double foul. A solid case could be made for any of these responses. As the play develops, it appears the defender; Blue #2, extends his right arm into the torso on White #24. As this occurs, white #24 grabs the arm of Blue #2. Each of these actions is illegal and warrants a foul. However, regardless of who fouled when. A key teaching point of this play is the actions of white #24. His approach to the contact would fall into the category of a "fool the official" play. After he grabs the arm of his opponent, he flails his arms upward and embellishes the contact. Officials should be aware that some players will "hook and hold" their opponent and then try to act as if fouled. Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: The foul is on White No. 24 35%. This should be ruled a double foul 26%. The foul is on Blue No. 2 26% (including me). There is no foul on this play 13%. Quote:
|
That greater than 10% of the respondents (who have been trained in the same IABO way) viewed this as a "play on" type of action is interesting; leading one to infer that this series of actions wasn't really all that "foul-worthy" to begin with.
However, do you guys ever call a foul on a player for feigning a foul? I know its a foul in the NF rule book (chapter and verse: 10.?.?). But honestly don't think it s ever called, agreeably it would require temerity to do so. |
Quote:
Peace |
Temerity ??? Five Dollar Word (Mark Twain) ...
Quote:
I've been playing, coaching, officiating, and observing since mid-1960's. Never saw it called. I'm pretty sure that some Forum members have seen it called (or called it). Others have posted about warning the perpetrator, or calling a "fake" foul on the perpetrator. Probably see it called more in soccer (flopping). |
No Foul On This Play ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
This is play #4 under the "Block/Charge" section of the USB program BTW. Peace |
Plurality ...
Quote:
Quote:
Kansas Ref: I see your five dollar word, temerity, and raise you another five dollar word, plurality. |
Quote:
Peace |
Number One Answer ...
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
JRutledge already matched the "number one answer", and should be pleased that his interpretation is agreed upon by many. The “Gang of Four” IAABO Co-Coordinators of Interpreters seem to imply that both "contacts" occurred at the same time (contradicting both JRutledge and me). Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Video Breakdown ...
Quote:
And, yes, sometimes they get it wrong. They themselves have occasionally admitted such. And yes, often the poll "winners" are wrong. Note: Not only are IAABO members asked for an multiple choice answer, but in order to answer such, they must give a reason, it's mandatory, not optional. |
Always Listen To bob ...
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Double Fouls ...
Quote:
One exception: It's a call that I like to make in preseason scrimmages, usually boys scrimmages. Two opponents trying to fight their way onto the varsity roster, or a earn a starting spot, both trying to impress their coaches during the little scrimmage time they get by puffing out their chests and trying to be the alpha male. Whistle. Double foul. "Cut that out". |
Quote:
|
Pretty Good Cross Section Of All Basketball Officials ...
Quote:
Great basketball officials. Journeymen basketball officials. Poor basketball officials. Varsity basketball officials. Junior varsity basketball officials. Freshmen basketball officials. Middle school basketball officials. Basketball officials with decades of experience. Inexperienced basketball officials. Rookie basketball officials. Basketball officials with great local trainers and training. Basketball officials with average local trainers and training. Basketball officials with below average local trainers and training. Some with better rules knowledge than others, just like many Forum members would find in their own local or state organizations. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37pm. |