![]() |
Fun With A Hip Check …
IAABO Make The Call Video
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...w%2B0UYg%3D%3D Is this illegal contact during this rebound action? Which official should be responsible for this contact in the lane area while a ball is in flight during a try for goal? Two choices: This is a foul for illegal contact. This is not a foul and the play should have continued. My comment: This is a foul for illegal contact. White #20 “hip checked” and displaced Red #10. |
Cannot see the link.
Peace |
Working Link ...
Quote:
|
Fists ...
From a nit-picker perspective. Nice to see an official put hands on hips instead of fists on hips. I've been trying to do it the correct way for years, with little success. Best I can do is fist on hips at site of foul and hands on hips at reporting area.
Yeah, I'm aware that this is nit-picking, and definitely a local "thing", but I figure that when given a choice between the right way and the wrong way, I might as well try the right way. Besides giving evaluators one less thing to pick on, it sets a good example for young'un officials. Of course, as usual, when in Rome ... Also for young'uns, leave the ball alone. I've been doing this for forty years and have never lost a ball. Not even once. |
The angle is horrible for us. It looks like there is some contact and they came together, but not sure how much. The C in this case had a much better look and angle. I guess it is a foul, but I would also suggest that the signal for the foul was flawed. It was not a "block" It was a push if that is the call. Undermines the credibility of what happened. Most people associate a "block" with some kind of facing-up action like an illegal screen or a defender getting in the way to the basket.
Peace |
Quote:
While a player can push using other parts of their body, I generally use the "pushing" signal when a player uses their hands to commit the foul. I'm okay with the block signal here. |
Quote:
Peace |
One Man's Push Is Another Man's Block ...
Quote:
Agree. I believe that JRutledge is correct in that most blocks are illegal screens or a block/charges. However, I may sometimes give a block signal if a player uses their entire body (not just an arm) to cause illegal contact as in the "hip check" in this video. In situations where I have a choice of signals, I will often default to a push. |
Game Management ...
Quote:
What such officials don't realize is that many coaches do pay attention to the type of foul called and signaled, and giving the correct signal can sometimes deescalate a game management issue before it even begins. |
Coaches Do Pay Attention To Signals ...
Quote:
Coaches do pay attention to signals. https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.I...=0&w=188&h=164 |
Signals ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Great Salesman ...
Quote:
|
I use block when someone creates illegal contact by putting themselves in the path of an opponent.
I use push when someone uses their body or arms to knock an opponent off their path. To me, this is clearly the second situation. I am OCD about using the correct signals b/c I don't like to give coaches reasons to question our judgment. Giving incorrect signals allows for such opportunities. |
Rule Of Thumb ...
Quote:
Quote:
As JRutledge stated earlier, I almost always call blocks for illegal screens and block/charge situations, and usually default to pushes for players knocking opponents off their paths. |
Quote:
Peace |
Cheery On The Hot Fudge Sundae ...
Quote:
And after doing so for forty years, I've finally figured out why I often default to "push" when the exact nature of the contact, while clearly illegal, is kind of blockish/pushish. On the other hand, I kind of also agree with Mike Goodwin's idea that "one man's push is another man's block" (my quote). Anybody who rides on dog sleds, or flies on puddle-jumper planes, to officiate games hundreds of miles away, when the temperature is below zero and it's snowing, and can sell air conditioners and refrigerators to Alaska Natives, deserves some credibility. http://www.cfinotebook.net/graphics/...r/skiplane.jpg |
This is a "Do what your supervisor or local association wants you to do" situation.
Honestly do what works, but every year I have people at camp tell someone about the believability of signals we give. And give the proper action and not default to the same signal for every kind of foul no matter what. And those camps I am referring to are with people from multiple states and backgrounds. So if that works in Alaska, more power to you. But we teach being more specific and not using a block for this kind of foul? Does that mean someone is going to do that on this kind of foul? Of course. But if evaluated someone might point it out to them. No biggie. Peace |
Quote:
|
Calmed Down The Coach ...
Quote:
Quote:
Luckily, that calmed down the coach. He still didn't like the call, but he calmed down enough to avoid a technical foul. To extrapolate from JRutledge's point, most coaches associate the player control foul signal with only block/charge situations, it's wrong, but something all good officials should be aware of. |
Quote:
Peace |
Hand Behind The Head ...
Quote:
Quote:
Of course, that assumes that individuals and local and state associations will follow the new NFHS signal chart. I've heard through the grapevine that many local and state associations will stick with the "stronger" team control punch for team control fouls. And to confuse matters even more, in the past, many individuals and local and state associations have never used the hand behind the head player control signal, using the "punch" signal for both player control fouls and team control fouls. In the past, individual officials here in my little corner of Connecticut have used as many different player control foul signals (often variations of a "punch") as Carter has little liver pills, with evaluators and assignment commissioners overlooking and allowing such individual differences as variations in "style". I'm interested in seeing what happens next season regarding player control fouls signals and team control fouls here in my local area. Once again, as usual, when in Rome ... |
I was not referencing the "hand behind the head" mechanic. For the record both the NCAA and the NF have stopped using different signals for TC and PC fouls. The funny thing is both have decided on different signals. My point is either way people are not confused when we call a PC foul even if it is not a block/charge play.
Peace |
Different Strokes For Different Folks (Sly And The Family Stone, 1969) ...
Quote:
I thought the purpose of doing away with the the "punch" was to keep it from being confused with "count the basket". Label me, "Confused in Connecticut". |
Quote:
Peace |
Punch Confused With Count Basket ...
Quote:
Quote:
Who was it that originally believed that the "punch" could be confused with "count the basket"? From my reading of Forum threads over the past few years, I thought that it was the NCAA that was originally worried about such confusion, yet they, unlike the NFHS, decided not to act on it. That's what confused me (if my facts are straight). Or maybe signal confusion has absolutely nothing to do with the recent NFHS signal change? The official signals were also modified to use the same hand signal for a player control foul and a team control foul. Officials should use Signal 36, which is a hand placed at the back of the head, for both types of fouls. Previously, a team control foul was communicated with a punch of the hand. “It is redundant to have different signals to communicate that a foul will be charged to a member of the team in control of the ball,” Wynns said. “Officials don’t understand the need to differentiate between a player control foul and a team control foul, and many game participants, table personnel and fans don’t know the difference.” The committee reviewed various changes that had been both made and requested at a variety of levels of basketball and determined that all player and team control fouls should utilize signal 36 (the hand behind the head) rather than the previous mechanics that utilized Signal 37 (the extended fist) for a team control foul. The proper sequence for either of these calls will now be signal 4 to indicate a foul, the use of the same arm to give signal 36 to indicate a player or team control foul, followed by signal 6 indicating the direction in which the ball will be put in play and then signal 7 to indicate the throw-in spot. And maybe the NCAA figured that any slight possibility of signal confusion didn't warrant a signal change? https://tse4.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.G...=0&w=300&h=300 |
Signal Redundancy ...
Quote:
Meanwhile, the NCAA studied the (punch/count basket) signal confusion matter and simply decided that the slight possibility of (punch/count basket) signal confusion didn't warrant the elimination of the punch signal. https://tse4.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.T...=0&w=317&h=179 |
Quote:
From my reading of Forum threads over the past few years, I thought that it was the NCAA that was originally worried about such confusion, yet they, unlike the NFHS, decided not to act on it. Didn't I say That's what confused me (if my facts are straight). Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Curiosity Killed The Cat ...
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
NFHS: One signal (hand behind head) for both player control and team control fouls (that I'm certain of). NCAA Men: One signal (hand behind head) for both player control and team control fouls (according to Raymond, "went to behind the head"). NCAA: One signal (punch) for both player control and team control fouls (according to JRutledge, "both (NFHS and NCAA) have decided on different signals"). Maybe I'm confused because of a possible difference between NCAA Men and NCAA Women? Help. I'm curious and I can't get up. |
Quote:
|
NCAA Women ???
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
BTW, this was in the CCA Manual for 2020-2021. https://hosting.photobucket.com/imag...080&fit=bounds But thanks for playing. Peace |
Confused In Connecticut ...
Quote:
Quote:
If JRutledge is referring to the NCAA-W signal as being different than the NFHS signal (with the NCAA-W signal a punch), than I'm no longer confused, or I am no longer confused if JRutledge is mistaken about the NCAA signal being different than the NFHS signal. Or, Raymond might be mistaken (though he seemed confident in both of his posts). https://tse4.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.F...=0&w=376&h=174 |
Both Have Decided On Different Signals ...
Quote:
Quote:
https://hosting.photobucket.com/imag...080&fit=bounds Sure looks the SAME (as in not DIFFERENT) as the NFHS signal. |
Quote:
|
Benefit Of A Doubt ...
Quote:
Sorry to drag you into this, but thanks for your enlightening (and confirming) posts. |
NCAA Rule Expert ...
Quote:
But it's still not too late for somebody else to say that they were mistaken. https://tse1.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.k...=0&w=300&h=300 |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Stay In One's Lane ...
Quote:
https://shareitsfunny.com/wp-content...ed-the-cat.jpg |
Reading And Writing Are Fundamental ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
Hand Behind Head ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
Not Carved In Stone ... ...
Quote:
Also fell on my sword in the new comments section. But I still need to stay in my lane. When I make a mistake (in basketball and in life), I acknowledge the mistake, apologize, and correct it. |
NFHS Signal Sequence ...
Quote:
Quote:
https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/...139df9ab_m.jpg |
IAABO Survey Says …
Disclaimer: For IAABO eyes only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...w%2B0UYg%3D%3D IAABO Play Commentary Correct Answer: This is a foul for illegal contact. When the NFHS first adopted the rebounding rule (4-37), it was derived from the guarding rule 4-23. Officials need to understand specific guidelines for a player to obtain a legal rebounding position. To obtain or maintain a legal rebounding position, a player may not: a. Displace, charge or push an opponent. b. Extend shoulders, hips, knees, or extend the arms or elbows fully or partially in a position other than vertical so that the freedom of movement of an opponent is hindered when contact with the arms or elbows occurs. c. Bend his/her body in an abnormal position to hold or displace an opponent. d. Violate the principle of verticality. In this play, White #20 is moving into the lane when he displaces Red #10. This contact impacted Red #10's ability to secure the rebound and was correctly ruled a foul by the Center official. In this play, the Center's primary responsibility is to stay with the shooter, making an attempt near the sideline in her PCA. After she is confident the shooter is back to the floor without being contacted by the defender, she turns her attention back toward the lane and observes the illegal contact. With the Center having a try from her PCA, The Trail official should be responsible for the flight of the ball and any infractions at the ring. The Lead should stay focused on the rebounders and be responsible for any illegal contact in the lane area. (IAABO Manual p. 158-159) Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This is a foul for illegal contact 86% (including me). This is not a foul and the play should have continued 14%. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49pm. |