![]() |
Fun With Creating Space ...
IAABO Make The Call Video
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...D%2Bbkkw%3D%3D Is this a player control foul on this play? Does Gold #0 illegally displace his opponent? Two choices: This is a player control foul. This is incidental contact. My comment: This is a player control foul. Ball handler Gold #0 illegally contacted defender White #30 and gained an advantage by creating space between the two players. |
Dress For Success ...
"Hey Gold player in the corner. Do you want to look like a basketball player? Then please tuck your jersey in."
|
Create Space ...
Very first look at normal speed, while I did spot some contact, I thought that defender White #30 retreated of his own volition, but after a second look, I decided that it was the push by ball handler Gold #0 into defender White #30's chest that caused him to retreat, thus creating the extra space and an illegal advantage that ball handler Gold #0 wanted to achieve (but didn't really followup on and take advantage of).
So I could easily see why some may want to pass on this call, defender possibly retreated of his own volition, or there was no actual ball handling advantage (pass, drive, shot) gained. If ball handler Gold #0 had stepped back and buried a jump shot, this would have been an easier call for me. Or maybe not? https://streamable.com/6h2jk |
I have a PC foul.
Maybe the shirt came out during play, it is not a dead ball, who cares? Peace |
I have nothing. I think the defensive player was going to retreat anyway.
I don't worry about jerseys until the ball is dead. Based on Billy's comments I was expecting something egregious, but it looks like his shirt just came out during the course of action. Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Addressing Untucked Jerseys ...
Quote:
I have been using the friendly, "Do you want to look like a basketball player?" line in my middle school games over the past three years. It seems to draw a more positive attitude and response than if I just say, "Tuck in your jersey" in an authoritarian manner. With middle school girls, I will usually followup with, "Now you look like a UCONN player", which, here in Connecticut, usually draws a smile. Boys, for whatever reason, maybe boys being boys, trying to act cool, never smile. |
Six Of One, Half Dozen Of The Other ...
Quote:
Quote:
The jersey was just an little "Easter egg" and not a serious comment, but thanks for responding. |
Quote:
Peace |
Husky ...
Quote:
|
Chain Yanking ...
Quote:
Here, if one never gets one's chain yanked, it may be a sign that one may not liked, or respected. I only yank the chains of competent and respected officials. With officials that I don't believe are competent and respected, it's all business with our interactions. It's a local thing. When I travel a long distance to observe friendly, competent, and respected officials in state tournament games, I often start my conversation with them with, "I traveled all the way here to see great officiating and I'm struck with you two (three) knuckleheads. Is there another game nearby?". With those that I don't respect as competent officials (or strangers) it's just, "Hi guys. Have a great game". |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Let's See How Things Work Out ...
Quote:
Get up to a hundred posts and I will reevaluate. |
Quote:
Peace |
With Malice Toward None (Abraham Lincoln, 1865) ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
IAABO Survey Says …
Disclaimer: For IAABO eyes only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO International interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...D%2Bbkkw%3D%3D IAABO Play Commentary Correct Answer: This is a player control foul. It is not legal to extend the arms fully or partially in a position other than vertical so that the freedom of movement of an opponent is hindered when contact with the arms occurs. (4-24-6) In this play, the dribbler extends his arm horizontally into the torso of the defender. This contact contributes to the defender moving backward when the dribbler decides to stop and change direction. The intent and purpose of the rules are to create a balance of play and provide equal opportunity between the offense and the defense. Officials have made tremendous strides penalizing acts that constitute a foul when committed against a ball handler/dribbler. (10-7-12) However, officials have a real growth opportunity to recognize this same type of illegal contact when committed by a ball handler/dribbler. Too many officials perceive this contact as incidental contact because it did not lead to a try for goal or allow the dribbler to get by the defender. These are not factors in determining if the contact is illegal or incidental. If the ball handler displaces the defender with an arm extended horizontally, the threshold has been met for this contact to be ruled illegal. It is refreshing to see 70% of respondents see this contact as a player control foul. This play scenario is important for all officials to learn from to apply the rules accurately. Officials should be diligent in ensuring a balance of play when applying the contact rules to ball handler/defender match-ups. Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This is a player control foul 70% (including me). This is incidental contact 30%. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22pm. |