![]() |
Fun With A Delayed Free Throw Violation …
IAABO Make The Call Video
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...lfSlEFUNsW.mp4 Is there a free throw violation committed on this play? Observe the action on this free throw and make a ruling as to whether or not a violation should have been ruled. Two choices: This should have been ruled a free throw violation. There is no violation on this play. My comment. This should have been ruled a free throw violation. Defender Green #14 moved into the lane before the free throw shooter released the ball. Delayed violation. |
This should not be complicated. Call the violation on the player in the low block and give another free throw. Very simple.
Peace |
Clock Erroneously Started ...
Quote:
Clock ticked down from 1:11 to 1:10. Should the officials reset the clock? Will the officials reset the clock? Same questions, but with eleven seconds left in the fourth period of a tied game? |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
A Little Bit More Complicated ...
Quote:
Quote:
https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.C...=0&w=215&h=159 |
For something to be MORE complicated it has to be complicated in the first place.
And the added scenario still doesn't make it complicated. Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Wordsmith ...
Quote:
|
IAABO Survey Says …
Disclaimer: For IAABO eyes only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO International interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...lfSlEFUNsW.mp4 IAABO Play Commentary Correct Answer: This should have been ruled a free throw violation. Green #14 in the lower lane space on the left side of the lane appears to break the plane of the lane line before the free throw shooter releases the try. A player occupying a marked lane space may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the outside edge of any lane boundary or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of the space designated by lane-space marks. (9-1-3g) Since an opponent of the free-throw shooter committed this infraction, the Lead official correctly displays the delayed free-throw violation signal. When the try is unsuccessful, the official properly rules a violation on Green #14 and awards a substitute throw. (9-1-3g) Had the try been successful, the violation would have been disregarded by the officials. (9-1 Penalty 2.a) Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This should have been ruled a free throw violation 90% (including me). There is no violation on this play 10%. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02pm. |