![]() |
|
|||
|
Left Hand, Right Hand ???
Here's the IAABO International Play Commentary from February 21, 2021 based on the exact same video.
Correct Answer: This should have been ruled a common foul. On a breakaway, Green #23 is dribbling the ball into the frontcourt as he is fouled by White #12. On plays such as this, intentional fouls should be charged when contact is not a legitimate attempt to play the ball/player or when it is considered excessive contact. (4-19-3) In this case, the defender did make a legitimate attempt to play the ball/player, and the contact was not excessive. This is a common foul and is ruled properly by the officials. This is a proper way to foul “deliberately” without being charged with an intentional foul. I fully understand the subjective nature of officiating basketball, but at some point a consensus among experts, especially four experts from a single organization, with a single unifying philosophy, looking at a single video, would be greatly appreciated. IAABO: One Rule, One Interpretation
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jun 06, 2021 at 02:42pm. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Reach No Reach | JPaco54 | Basketball | 23 | Wed Feb 24, 2010 03:14pm |
| To Reach or Not To Reach, that is the question... | zeedonk | Basketball | 12 | Fri Nov 27, 2009 12:31am |
| To reach or not reach | Ch1town | Basketball | 104 | Thu Jul 23, 2009 07:41am |
| Reach over T | ripcord51 | Basketball | 13 | Wed Nov 16, 2005 10:56am |
| Do you reach... | ref18 | Basketball | 25 | Wed Apr 06, 2005 08:03pm |