The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Fun With Behind The Backboard … (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105393-fun-behind-backboard.html)

BillyMac Thu Apr 15, 2021 11:48am

Fun With Behind The Backboard …
 
IAABO Make The Call Video

https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...pl82%2Fg%3D%3D

Is this an out of bounds violation? The ball passes behind the backboard on this cross-court pass. Is that considered out of bounds?

Two choices: This is a violation. This is not a violation.

My comment: This is not a violation. The front, top, sides, and bottom of the backboard are all in play. The ball cannot legally pass over, but it can pass behind, a rectangular backboard from either direction. The back of a backboard is out of bounds, as well as the supporting structures.

BillyMac Thu Apr 15, 2021 11:54am

Embarrassed In The IAABO Universe ...
 
Some IAABO members have commented that White #2 may have touched the boundary with his right foot before releasing his cross court pass.

Also, and I'm embarrassed to say this, several IAABO members who commented just don't know the rule.

https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/...51eb950c_m.jpg

JRutledge Thu Apr 15, 2021 11:59am

Not sure what they are asking here. It is not a violation to throw a pass outside the plane of the out-of-bounds line. It honestly looks like a Travel before the pass, but that was not the question.

Peace

bob jenkins Thu Apr 15, 2021 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1042864)

Also, and I'm embarrassed to say this, several IAABO members who commented just don't know the rule.

Did any of them post a long, rambling, off-topic (or only tangentially related) essay on the history of the backboard?

That would be more embarrassing

BillyMac Thu Apr 15, 2021 12:06pm

Instigator ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1042868)
Did any of them post a long, rambling, off-topic (or only tangentially related) essay on the history of the backboard?

Thanks for the idea:

(Wilt) Chamberlain is also credited with a rule change regarding inbounding the ball by front court inbounders standing behind the endline underneath their basket. His (Kansas) teammates would routinely inbound the ball by lobbing the ball over the backboard where Chamberlain would catch the lob pass and dunk the ball into the basket for an easy score. In 1956, the NCAA, followed by the NFHS in 1957, ruled that the ball is out of bounds when it passes over a rectangular backboard (in either direction).

BillyMac Thu Apr 15, 2021 12:13pm

Confused ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1042866)
Not sure what they are asking here. It is not a violation to throw a pass outside the plane of the out-of-bounds line.

IAABO is trying to see if members will confuse "over" the backboard rules with "behind" the backboard rules, and some IAABO members, unfortunately, were confused.

Do to a lack of controversy, or a lack of a challenging rule interpretation, I almost didn't post this IAABO Make The Call Video on the Forum, until I started reading many incorrect comments.

JRutledge Thu Apr 15, 2021 12:22pm

It seems like they need to in plays like this state this is not a violation or show a legal play, but this muddies the waters with other rules that do not apply. I guess, not my organization.

Peace

BillyMac Thu Apr 15, 2021 12:33pm

Muddy The Waters ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1042873)
It seems like they need to in plays like this state this is not a violation or show a legal play, but this muddies the waters with other rules that do not apply.

Agree. The question should have been: The ball passes behind the backboard on this cross-court pass. Is that considered out of bounds?

Adding the question: Is this an out of bounds violation? did muddy the waters, especially when there is possibility that White #2 may have touched the boundary with his right foot before releasing his cross court pass.

Note: I do not believe that White #2 touched the boundary with his right foot before releasing his cross court pass.

While IAABO members have to choose one of the limited answers offered (two choices in this video), all members must write a comment explaining their answer in order to cast a "vote". No explanatory comment means no "vote". Also, one can't see "votes" and explanatory comments from others until one posts one's own "vote" and explanatory comment.

Raymond Thu Apr 15, 2021 01:09pm

Great pass after putting himself in a bad position.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Thu Apr 15, 2021 01:17pm

No Way ??? Way ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1042878)
Great pass after putting himself in a bad position.

Agree. Knowing in advance (we see the questions before we click on the video) that this video was going to be about a pass behind the backboard, as I was watching the video I was thinking to myself that there was no way that White #2 was going to get out of this jam with a cross court pass behind the backboard.

But he did. Bravo.

BillyMac Thu Apr 15, 2021 03:25pm

Over A Rectangular Backboard In Either Direction Rule ...
 
Several years ago, working with one of the best officials on my local high school board. Highly rated (big rivalry games every Friday night). Respected by coaches (several state finals as voted by coaches). Knows the rules (rules training committee and mechanics training committee). Knows the game (former star college player). Also officiates NCAA.

I'm Lead. Three point attempt from opposite my side. Like any well trained Lead, I've got my eyes down watching for rebounding action. Not watching the ball. There's an odd pause in the rebounding action. Over my shoulder I see the ball hitting out of bounds on the floor directly behind the basket.

Sound my whistle. Stop the clock. I don't have a call. Ask my partner for help. Indicates we're going the other way. I inbound the ball.

Halftime intermission. I ask my partner about the "help" out of bounds call, "What happened?".

Reply was, "Shot bounced off the rim and went over the backboard, but it didn't touch anything".

I replied to, "Double check the rule", which was immediately followed by a knock on the locker room door to start the second half.

I never followed up. Is the NCAA "over the (rectangular) backboard in either direction" rule the same as the NFHS rule?

crosscountry55 Sun Apr 18, 2021 07:24am

My biggest concern watching this video wasn’t the play. It was game management and what was surely violations of fire code regulations.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sun Apr 18, 2021 08:53am

You Can't Stand There ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1042931)
It was game management and what was surely violations of fire code regulations.

Keen eye crosscountry55.

1-20: Non-playing personnel must be located outside the free-throw lane lines extended toward the sidelines throughout the game.

Among other problems.

Camron Rust Sun Apr 18, 2021 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1042931)
My biggest concern watching this video wasn’t the play. It was game management and what was surely violations of fire code regulations.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I doubt they were anywhere near a fire code violation. Many gyms are also spec'd to be used with rows of season filling the floor for non-sports gatherings. Such an arrangement would support hundreds more than could stand on the endline.

BillyMac Sun Apr 18, 2021 03:59pm

Fire Marshall Bill ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1042931)
... violations of fire code regulations.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1042940)
I doubt they were anywhere near a fire code violation.

Is there a "Firefighter Forum"?

https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.4...=0&w=300&h=300

BillyMac Mon Apr 19, 2021 08:54am

IAABO Survey Says …
 
Disclaimer: Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.

https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...pl82%2Fg%3D%3D

IAABO Play Commentary

Correct Answer: This is not a violation.

The ball is considered out of bounds when it touches or is touched by:
1. A player who is out of bounds.
2. Any other person, the floor, or any object on or outside a boundary.
3. The supports or back of the backboard.
4. The ceiling, overhead equipment or supports.
b. When it passes over a rectangular backboard. (7-1-2)

In this play, the ball was legally passed behind the backboard among teammates. It should be further noted that a ball that is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court. (4-4-3) In this play, the passer has inbounds status when he releases the pass that appears to break the plane of the boundary line toward his teammate. Even though the ball may be on the out-of-bounds side of the boundary plane, the ball retains inbound status while in flight.


Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This is not a violation 74% (including me). This is a violation 26%.

BillyMac Mon Apr 19, 2021 09:03am

Unpleasantly Surprised ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1042944)
This is a violation 26%.

Wow.

While we can all agree to disagree on subjective judgement calls, or debate the sometimes ambiguous and/or complex definition language found in the rulebbok, or politely discuss the intent and purpose of some rules and interpretations, or speculate on something that is not clearly shown in a video ... I was unpleasantly surprised by this survey result.

Wow.

Mike Goodwin Mon Apr 19, 2021 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1042944)
Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This is not a violation 74% (including me). This is a violation 26%.

I reviewed many of the comments when I completed this activity. Plenty of them believed W2 landed out of bounds before releasing the ball, which had to have contributed to the 26%. Some number definitely, and very much incorrectly, considered the pass itself as out of bounds.

BillyMac Mon Apr 19, 2021 11:34am

Is That Considered Out Of Bounds ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike Goodwin (Post 1042949)
I reviewed many of the comments when I completed this activity. Plenty of them believed W2 landed out of bounds before releasing the ball, which had to have contributed to the 26%. Some number definitely, and very much incorrectly, considered the pass itself as out of bounds.

Agree. Maybe I over-reacted.

IAABO worded the video poorly. As I discussed earlier with JRutledge, Is this an out of bounds violation? and This is a violation, were not worded in a way to investigate the legality of what IAABO wanted examined, a pass going behind the backboard (or a pass going over the plane of the endline).

The additional wording The ball passes behind the backboard on this cross-court pass. Is that considered out of bounds? was easier to understand (and tell the viewers what needed be examined).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1