![]() |
Fun With And One …
IAABO Make The Call Video
Was this correctly ruled a blocking foul? Did the defender obtain a legal guarding position before this contact occurred? Did the correct official make the ruling? Does the official use proper signals? https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...uOQbJ3Gw%3D%3D Reminder: IAABO uses its own signals (which doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum), that may not necessarily be the same as NFHS signals. Three choices: This is a player control foul. This is a blocking foul. This is incidental contact (no foul). My comment: This is a blocking foul. Defender White #2 moved to her left after airborne shooter Black #12 had left the floor. Center signaled the blocking foul with her fists on her hips rather than her open hands on her hips (but otherwise a good strong signal, including counting the goal). |
Looks like a block to me. The defender is sliding over after the shooter goes airborne.
Also not sure what signal is different, look like the NF signals to me. Peace |
Quote:
I agree with the block call. |
Quote:
Peace |
Fisticuffs ...
Quote:
What’s worse than finding a worm in an apple that you’re eating? Finding half a worm! Happy April Fool's Day everybody. I'll be here all day folks. Enjoy the all you can eat shrimp buffet. |
Proper Signals ...
Quote:
Quote:
Of course, proper signals (considered a part of mechanics) play only a very small role in the one's overall evaluation, but it's still on the observation/evaluation check list. For some reason, various individual player control foul signals seem to be accepted, probably because many veteran observers/evaluators have their own individual player control foul signal variations. Regarding player control foul signals, it's like the Wild Wild West here in my little corner of Connecticut. If the the NFHS changes the player control foul signal to the team control foul signal, maybe it will be like a new sheriff coming to town. |
Proper blocking foul....defender never had LGP...only moved into the path after the shooter was airborne.
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Guarding ...
Quote:
4-23: Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
PEace |
Quote:
|
Don't Move The Goal Posts ...
Quote:
|
IAABO Survey Says …
Disclaimer: For IAABO eyes only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO International interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...uOQbJ3Gw%3D%3D IAABO Play Commentary: Correct Answer: This is a blocking foul. When guarding an opponent with the ball, If the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard must have obtained a legal position before the opponent left the floor. (4-23-4b) In this play, the defender, White #2, moved laterally into the path of Blue #12 after she became airborne to attempt the try. This is a blocking foul and an excellent ruling by the Center official. The Center official does a very nice job of making a position adjustment in transition to find a way to view this play. There wasn't a great angle available to her, but she could get a good enough view to correctly rule on the play. The Lead official (not pictured until after the ruling was made) most likely had the best chance to get an open look to see between both the offensive and defensive players. When the Lead did not have a ruling, the Center came in and made the proper ruling. However, the Center did not execute proper site of foul signaling. She does display the proper stop-the-clock signal and the counting goal signal. The counted goal signal was a bit emphatic. Officials should not get caught up in the emotion of a game and should signal in a manner which is calm, unhurried, and under control. (IAABO Manual p. 131) Officials should also step toward the offender, stop and verbalize the color and number of the player who committed the foul. (Manual p. 180 Section 7) The Center did not demonstrate the proper blocking signal (Manual p. 239), instead pounded her hips with clenched fists. When free throws are to be awarded as they were in this play, the ruling official should verbalize the color and the number of the player who was fouled. Then verbally and visually inform partners of the number of free throws. (Manual pgs. 180-181 Sections 9&10) Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This is a blocking foul 89% (including me). This is a player control foul 7%. This is incidental contact (no foul) 4%. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41am. |