![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
NCAA-M changed the rule a couple years ago. If there is a defensive touch then the offense can be the first to touch the ball in the backcourt even if they are the last to touch in the frontcourt. As described in the OP, a no-call is correct.
|
|
|||
|
As described, I believe they got the rule correct:
From the NCAA rule book: Art. 5. A pass or any other loose ball (including when a player in control of the ball loses control of the ball when a defensive player bats or deflects it out of his control) in the front court that is deflected by a defensive player, which causes the ball to go into the backcourt may be recovered by either team even if the offense was the last to touch the ball before it went into the backcourt. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The play described in the OP is not a violation. Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Sun Mar 28, 2021 at 04:01pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
February 20, 2019 Play 1 - Team A has possession of the ball in its front court when B1 deflects a pass in the direction of the backcourt. A1 jumps in the air, controls the loose ball and then lands in the backcourt. RULING - This is not a backcourt violation even though A1 touched the ball before it had gained backcourt status. Legal play. Rules 9-12.5, 9-12.3.a and 9-12.4. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Gonzaga @ BYU Play (Video) | JRutledge | Basketball | 3 | Sun Feb 28, 2016 08:05pm |
| 10-sec backcourt play | JetMetFan | Basketball | 42 | Wed Nov 04, 2015 04:39pm |
| Gonzaga vs. SMU Backcourt Violation? (Video) | Sharpshooternes | Basketball | 15 | Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:23am |
| backcourt or play on? | mdray | Basketball | 32 | Mon Nov 26, 2012 02:33pm |