The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Texas A&M /Troy NCAA Women's game (backcourt)? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105356-texas-m-troy-ncaa-womens-game-backcourt.html)

JMUplayer Tue Mar 23, 2021 11:40am

Texas A&M /Troy NCAA Women's game (backcourt)?
 
Just curious if any rules are different.

A&M has advanced the ball to the 28 foot line after a timeout
They are up 2 with 5 seconds to go.

Inbounds play:
A&M throws a bounce pass that hits in frontcourt/ deflects off their own player/into the backcourt / same player goes an retrieves it in the backcourt

Obviously Troy goes crazy... announcers go crazy...

Kansas Ref Tue Mar 23, 2021 11:55am

At the high school level, which is the level that I work games at, that play was a garden variety "BC violation". Peradventure, college level rules are different--I do not know the college rules regarding that play as I'm not a college level ref; however, at the high school level that is going to be back court violation.

Are they tryin to blame the refs for missing a call? No need to blame the refs, they are top notch level refs "best in the business" who know how to apply the rules if they were selected to work the NCAA games. Yet, even if they did miss that particular call, then they must be forgiven---after all it is the season of Lent now.

bob jenkins Tue Mar 23, 2021 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JMUplayer (Post 1042319)
Just curious if any rules are different.

Lots of rules are different. ;)

This one is the same, though.

BillyMac Tue Mar 23, 2021 11:58am

Backcourt ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JMUplayer (Post 1042319)
Inbounds play ... a bounce pass that hits in frontcourt deflects off their own player into the backcourt same player goes an retrieves it in the backcourt

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 1042320)
... at the high school level that is going to be back court violation.

Really?

Was there initial player control when coming from a throwin?

The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

JRutledge Tue Mar 23, 2021 12:19pm

This was not a BC violation. I will try to post it soon.

Peace

bob jenkins Tue Mar 23, 2021 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 1042320)
At the high school level, which is the level that I work games at, that play was a garden variety "BC violation".

Not as described, it wasn't.

dahoopref Tue Mar 23, 2021 12:34pm

Here's the story and clip:

https://www.espn.com/womens-college-...historic-upset

Zoochy Tue Mar 23, 2021 12:38pm

I knew this play would be discussed on this site. Before I read posts from bob jenkins, JRutledge, and BillyMac, I knew this WAS NOT a backcourt violation.
The player DID NOT obtain control of the ball until she was in the backcourt, thus a garden variety "play on".

BillyMac Tue Mar 23, 2021 01:01pm

Backcourt Violation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1042328)
I knew this WAS NOT a backcourt violation. The player DID NOT obtain control of the ball until she was in the backcourt, thus a garden variety "play on".

Although the official was somewhat in the way in the video, I believe that while the first inbounds touch (left hand, possibly both hands) did not establish player or team control, the second touch (only left hand) was definitely the start of a dribble (intentionally pushes the ball to the floor) and the dribble established both player and team control and this second touch occurred when both the player's feet were on the frontcourt side of the division line, leading to a backcourt violation by NFHS rules.

4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball.

4-12-2-A: A team is in control of the ball: When a player of the team is in control.

4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

4-15-3: The dribble begins by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted.


Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1042322)
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Bang bang play, easy to miss by an official who was mentally restricted by the immediacy of the act, and physically restricted by the sideline table behind him, in getting a better, more open look.

bob jenkins Tue Mar 23, 2021 01:02pm

I think a discussion can be had that the second time the ball hit the floor it was the start of a dribble -- and that might lead to a BC violation.

BillyMac Tue Mar 23, 2021 01:17pm

Start A Dribble ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1042330)
I think a discussion can be had that the second time the ball hit the floor it was the start of a dribble -- and that might lead to a BC violation.

Agree with "discussion" and "might".

But the ball didn't have to hit the floor to be the start of a dribble, dribbles begin with the ball being intentionally pushed, thrown, or batted to the floor.

Seeing the ball hit the floor just confirms that it probably was a dribble, not a pass, or a try, or something else.

Zoochy Tue Mar 23, 2021 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1042329)
Although the official was somewhat in the way in the video, I believe that while the first inbounds touch (left hand, possibly both hands) did not establish player or team control, the second touch was definitely the start of a dribble and the dribble established both player and team control and this second touch (only left hand)occurred when both the player's feet were in the frontcourt, leading to a backcourt violation by NFHS rules.

4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball.

4-12-2-A: A team is in control of the ball: When a player of the team is in control.

4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

4-15-3: The dribble begins by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted.




Bang bang play, easy to miss by an official who was restricted by the immediacy of the act, and the sideline table, in getting a more open look.

When you saw the play the 1st time in normal speed did you determine for sure that the player had established control in the Front court? I had to watch the play a few times, and then it is still a maybe the touch with the left hand was starting a dribble. Or is she pulling the ball closer to her to control the ball and then start the dribble with the right hand. Too many 'IF's'

BillyMac Tue Mar 23, 2021 01:40pm

Pressure Cooker ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1042333)
When you saw the play the 1st time in normal speed did you determine for sure that the player had established control in the Front court? I had to watch the play a few times, and then it is still a maybe the touch with the left hand was starting a dribble ...Too many 'IF's'

Agree. If you are not sure, don’t call it.

First time through normal time I was concentrating on the first touch (no player control, confirmed by slow motion replay). Second time through normal time I watched the second touch and where the player was located (undecided). Then I concentrated on the second touch and where the player was located on the slow motion replay to come to my final conclusion (backcourt).

The calling official doesn't have the luxury I have of watching this video in slow motion over and over again from the comfort of my computer chair without the pressure cooker of a national television audience, involving a call that won't make or break, my career as a esteemed Forum poster.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1042329)
Bang bang play, easy to miss by an official who was mentally restricted by the immediacy of the act, and physically restricted by the sideline table behind him, in getting a better, more open look.


BillyMac Tue Mar 23, 2021 01:44pm

Education Is The Key To Success ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JMUplayer (Post 1042319)
They are up 2 with 5 seconds to go. Inbounds play ... throws a bounce pass that hits in frontcourt deflects off their own player into the backcourt same player goes an retrieves it in the backcourt.

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1042327)

Thanks JMUplayer and dahoopref.

Nice thread.

Camron Rust Tue Mar 23, 2021 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JMUplayer (Post 1042319)
Just curious if any rules are different.

A&M has advanced the ball to the 28 foot line after a timeout
They are up 2 with 5 seconds to go.

Inbounds play:
A&M throws a bounce pass that hits in frontcourt/ deflects off their own player/into the backcourt / same player goes an retrieves it in the backcourt

Obviously Troy goes crazy... announcers go crazy...

I saw this play and I saw a different sequence of events...

A&M throws a bounce pass that hits in frontcourt/ deflects off their own player/then, from the frontcourt, starts a dribble that goes into the backcourt / same player goes an retrieves it continues to dribble in the backcourt

Yes, the first touch was not control. However, the 2nd touched was controlled and the start of the dribble by a player that was in the frontcourt at the time.

I think it should have been a violation.

That said, even if they'd called it, it was unlikely to have changed the outcome.

BillyMac Tue Mar 23, 2021 02:10pm

Bounce Pass ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JMUplayer (Post 1042319)
... throws a bounce pass ...

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1042336)
... throws a bounce pass ...

Where is this bounce pass you speak of?

I see a regular (non-bounce) inbound pass followed by a muff, followed by some controversial stuff.

Does anybody still use the term "muff" anymore? I bet that Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. still uses the term.

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon....NXL._QL70_.jpg

BillyMac Tue Mar 23, 2021 02:31pm

A Tale Of Two Cities (Charles Dickens, 1859) ...
 
https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.x...=0&w=223&h=168

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1042336)
That said, even if they'd called it, it was unlikely to have changed the outcome.

Troy coach Chanda Rigby excitedly exalting players during the timeout preceding this play: "There's 4.5 seconds left".

Texas A&M coach Gary Blair cautiously warning players during the timeout preceding this play: "There's 4.5 seconds left".

Just sayin'.

Nevadaref Tue Mar 23, 2021 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1042336)
I saw this play and I saw a different sequence of events...

A&M throws a bounce pass that hits in frontcourt/ deflects off their own player/then, from the frontcourt, starts a dribble that goes into the backcourt / same player goes an retrieves it continues to dribble in the backcourt

Yes, the first touch was not control. However, the 2nd touched was controlled and the start of the dribble by a player that was in the frontcourt at the time.

I think it should have been a violation.

That said, even if they'd called it, it was unlikely to have changed the outcome.

The A&M coach had the best comment on this play. Saying that if the official deemed the player to not be in control of the ball, then it wasn’t backcourt, but it there was control, then it was a violation.

The aspect of control happens very close to the division line. I happen to agree with Cameron that control looks to be established via a dribble just prior crossing the division line.

JMUplayer Tue Mar 23, 2021 03:07pm

My bad -- going off memory thought the initial throw in was a bounce pass
(not that it matters) :)

I know NCAAW have some different rules from NFHS and NCAAM and just wanted to double check

JMUplayer Tue Mar 23, 2021 03:20pm

Same game different question
 
SAME GAME DIFFERENT QUESTION

They called a foul on Troy #25 with about min or so to go... when it looked like the foul should have been on a completely different player

With possession of the basketball and a two-point lead, A&M's Wilson drove the lane and was tripped by a Trojan defender. The foul originally looked to be on the floor and committed by Troy freshman Sharonica Hartsfield, instead the officials whistled Dye for her fifth and final personal foul and ruled that the foul occurred while Nixon was in the shooting motion.

The play wasn't reviewed that i could tell -- #25 had dropped almost 30 points to that point in the game

Is that a reviewable play on the NCAAW level?

JRutledge Tue Mar 23, 2021 03:51pm

I think you could make a case that she has control in the FC, but to me that is not a very good argument. I actually find it rather suspect. Just because you touch the ball does not mean you have control at that point. Clearly trying to gain control, but not confident that is what is happening here. And to me you cannot split hairs on a play like this if it is not obvious.

Peace

Raymond Tue Mar 23, 2021 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1042330)
I think a discussion can be had that the second time the ball hit the floor it was the start of a dribble -- and that might lead to a BC violation.

This is one of those plays where a legitimate argument can be made either way. If this were an NFL game, the official's call on the field would stand no matter which way they ruled.

BillyMac Tue Mar 23, 2021 04:43pm

Of A Certain Age ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JMUplayer (Post 1042341)
My bad, going off memory thought the initial throw in was a bounce pass (not that it matters).

It doesn't matter, and the first touch did "bounce" off her finger tips.

After two Forum members referred to a bounce pass, I thought that I was going crazy, or blind.

Now where are my glasses?

BillyMac Tue Mar 23, 2021 04:56pm

If You're Not Sure, Don’t Call It ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1042343)
I think you could make a case that she has control in the FC, but to me that is not a very good argument. I actually find it rather suspect. Just because you touch the ball does not mean you have control at that point. Clearly trying to gain control, but not confident that is what is happening here. And to me you cannot split hairs on a play like this if it is not obvious.

Agree.

There's a judgment decision to be made here, in a split second with the official's back up against a sideline table. What was her intent? To intentionally push, throw, or bat the ball to the floor to start a dribble, where starting (and starting alone) said dribble would mean player control and team control in the frontcourt? Or to temporarily tap (without controlling) the ball further away from defenders?

If you are not sure, don’t call it.

BillyMac Tue Mar 23, 2021 04:58pm

Astute ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1042340)
The A&M coach had the best comment on this play. Saying that if the official deemed the player to not be in control of the ball, then it wasn’t backcourt, but it there was control, then it was a violation.

I noticed that also, pretty astute for a coach.

Camron Rust Tue Mar 23, 2021 06:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1042339)
Troy coach Chanda Rigby excitedly exalting players during the timeout preceding this play: "There's 4.5 seconds left".

Texas A&M coach Gary Blair cautiously warning players during the timeout preceding this play: "There's 4.5 seconds left".

Just sayin'.

Yes...but by the time the potential violation would have stopped the clock, it would probably have been 3 seconds or less. With a throwin near the division line, most teams have a hard time getting a score.

Camron Rust Tue Mar 23, 2021 06:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1042338)
Where is this bounce pass you speak of?

I see a regular (non-bounce) inbound pass followed by a muff, followed by some controversial stuff.

You are correct. The point of the play/discussion really has nothing to do with that, however. The type of pass is entirely irrelevant. I was merely commenting on what happened after the ball was touched inbounds.

BillyMac Tue Mar 23, 2021 06:45pm

Bookies With A Computer ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1042356)
With a throwin near the division line, most teams have a hard time getting a score.

I'm 99 and 44/100's percent sure that 99 and 44/100's percent of actuaries would agree with you.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1042339)
Just sayin'.

Just sayin'. Cliché. Often meaning, "I hold the stated belief, but I don't have an imperative to act on that belief."

BillyMac Tue Mar 23, 2021 06:47pm

Bounce Pass ??? What Bounce Pass ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1042357)
You are correct. The point of the play/discussion really has nothing to do with that, however. The type of pass is entirely irrelevant. I was merely commenting on what happened after the ball was touched inbounds.

Thanks for confirming.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1042349)
It doesn't matter, and the first touch did "bounce" off her finger tips. After two Forum members referred to a bounce pass, I thought that I was going crazy, or blind. Now where are my glasses?


BillyMac Wed Mar 24, 2021 09:03am

Bats A Ball Away From Players Who Are Attempting To Get It …
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1042351)
There's a judgment decision to be made here, in a split second with the official's back up against a sideline table. What was her intent? To intentionally push, throw, or bat the ball to the floor to start a dribble, where starting (and starting alone) said dribble would mean player control and team control in the frontcourt? Or to temporarily tap (without controlling) the ball further away from defenders?

4.15 COMMENT: It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble. A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from her hand, when she fumbles, or when she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1