![]() |
NCAA ruling please. a) A4 shoots a lay-up, B4 pins the ball against the backboard. Legal? b) Same situation except B4 blocks the ball after it hits the backboard, but the ball is still on its upward flight. Legal?
BTW, I have been looking for this rule in the NCAA rulebook and have not found the information. Does anyone know the rule and article? Thanks. Jay |
Jay,
I just finished being online looking at CCA Rulebook and could not find anything as well in blocking the ball against the backboard. Since I started working college ball, I have always ruled "That as long as the ball as not on its downward flight to the basket, then it is a legal block of the ball." But, please do not quote me on this, because I am still looking it up as well to get a concrete answer also. |
"Pinning" the ball is not by itself illegal but GT & BI rules remain in effect (affect? who knows...I'm sure mr annoying....errrr...mr dictionary will jump in here).
So all you need to do is make sure the ball is not touched in a manner that would be GT or BI. |
Jay-->
Both plays are legal. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
nice sig. |
Quote:
|
rainmaker is on his game today.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Oh no..
Quote:
Juulie, Did you have that operation.. you know the "adadicktomy";) |
I'll probably get zapped by mick the moderator.
|
The comment that I left for rainmaker was a compliment all the way, and nothing but a compliment.
Thank you for the "insight" oatmealqueen. |
Thank you lady and gentlemen. Can I assume the reason that I could not find the situation in the rulebook is because it is not against the rules?
|
Quote:
Please don't ask whether I enjoyed that part,or not, when I got initiated! |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27pm. |