The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Mississippi St / Tennessee (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105260-mississippi-st-tennessee.html)

Multiple Sports Wed Jan 27, 2021 12:41pm

Mississippi St / Tennessee
 
At 2:31 left to go there is a shot clock play that is very close and under a minute a GT is called against UT but reversed after going to the monitor. Can anyone ( Rut )
post these plays.

Thanks in advance.

JRutledge Wed Jan 27, 2021 01:47pm

Give me a little bit. I have the play and will post it later. ;)

Peace

JRutledge Wed Jan 27, 2021 07:26pm

Video added.
 
Here is the play you requested.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/2NRDvKrXGtA" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

dahoopref Wed Jan 27, 2021 10:37pm

Such a close and tough play. While replay showed the ball in the shooter's hand after the shot-clock showed 0:0 and lights are activated, I could understand why this play was missed.

Putting myself in the T or C, it is clear the sound of the horn occurs after the shot is released; I would be officiating the defender and not actively looking at the shot-clock. The ball strikes the rim after the FG attempt and thus appearing shot-clock violation occured.

Danvrapp Thu Jan 28, 2021 07:08am

Is there any type of recourse at the college level for a missed shot clock violation? Is this a correctable error situation? Can a coach request a TO to review?

Raymond Thu Jan 28, 2021 07:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Danvrapp (Post 1041202)
Is there any type of recourse at the college level for a missed shot clock violation? Is this a correctable error situation? Can a coach request a TO to review?

Only if the try in question was successful.

"11-2-1.e.4. Determine if the ball was released on a try for goal before the sounding of the shot clock horn when the try is successful. The officials must recognize the potential mistake and signal to the scorer that an instant replay review is required prior to the ball next becoming live. When the try is unsuccessful, a review is not permissible."

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

SC Official Thu Jan 28, 2021 08:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1041198)
Such a close and tough play. While replay showed the ball in the shooter's hand after the shot-clock showed 0:0 and lights are activated, I could understand why this play was missed.

Putting myself in the T or C, it is clear the sound of the horn occurs after the shot is released; I would be officiating the defender and not actively looking at the shot-clock. The ball strikes the rim after the FG attempt and thus appearing shot-clock violation occured.

I'm never looking at the shot clock. I'm listening for the horn.

JRutledge Thu Jan 28, 2021 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Danvrapp (Post 1041202)
Is there any type of recourse at the college level for a missed shot clock violation? Is this a correctable error situation? Can a coach request a TO to review?

They actually went back and looked at it and took the points off the board. So yes, there was a recourse. They went to the other end and a foul was called, they reviewed it before the free throws were shot as I recall.

Peace

Nevadaref Thu Jan 28, 2021 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1041209)
They actually went back and looked at it and took the points off the board. So yes, there was a recourse. They went to the other end and a foul was called, they reviewed it before the free throws were shot as I recall.

So did the crew kick this rule? The rule posted above doesn’t state that a review is permissible if a goal is made during that offensive possession or sequence, merely if THE try is successful. I have to believe that “the try” refers to the one attempted just prior to or just after the expiration of the shot clock, not one which takes place several seconds later following an offensive rebound.
The rule very clearly states that no review is permissible when the try is unsuccessful.

Raymond Thu Jan 28, 2021 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1041209)
They actually went back and looked at it and took the points off the board. So yes, there was a recourse. They went to the other end and a foul was called, they reviewed it before the free throws were shot as I recall.

Peace

I don't see how that is allowable by rule.

JRutledge Thu Jan 28, 2021 02:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1041211)
I don't see how that is allowable by rule.

I was thinking the same thing. But something tells me this was an interpretation. Remember the NCAA said they wanted officials to review close shot clock situations when the ball went in. Well this was not that. But they did go back and take points off the board.

But it says that it must be determined before the next live ball as long as they recognize the mistake. Does that mean that they give the little "review signal" and let play continue or does that mean they must stop everything?

Peace

JRutledge Thu Jan 28, 2021 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1041210)
So did the crew kick this rule? The rule posted above doesn’t state that a review is permissible if a goal is made during that offensive possession or sequence, merely if THE try is successful. I have to believe that “the try” refers to the one attempted just prior to or just after the expiration of the shot clock, not one which takes place several seconds later following an offensive rebound.
The rule very clearly states that no review is permissible when the try is unsuccessful.

It kind of states in A.R. 301 (page 92) that if they do not recognize the mistake before the next live ball when the try is unsuccessful, then the review is not permissible. So it appears they should have never allowed the ball to become live on after the put back if there was a question.

I would have to show the entire sequence for that to be clear because they appeared to go to a break and then come back with points taken off the board. Nothing was stopped until the foul on Tennessee on the following possession.

Peace

Multiple Sports Thu Jan 28, 2021 04:19pm

Gentlemen I believe you are incorrect. There was a goaltending called against UT that was called under a minute and that play was reviewed and those points that were originally awarded were rescinded.

Raymond Thu Jan 28, 2021 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 1041216)
Gentlemen I believe you are incorrect. There was a goaltending called against UT that was called under a minute and that play was reviewed and those points that were originally awarded were rescinded.

In the play from the video there is no rules basis for rescinding that goal. So if they were canceling a later GT call, I got my portion of the test correct. ;)

JRutledge Thu Jan 28, 2021 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 1041216)
Gentlemen I believe you are incorrect. There was a goaltending called against UT that was called under a minute and that play was reviewed and those points that were originally awarded were rescinded.

I am only referring to the play in the video, not some other play. I kind of saw that play but not sure what took place there yet.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1