The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Video Request: UNC at Iowa (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105200-video-request-unc-iowa.html)

Nevadaref Tue Dec 08, 2020 08:50pm

Video Request: UNC at Iowa
 
2nd half 17:25 remaining. Iowa has a throw-in front the frontcourt end line on the table side of the basket.

The UNC player guarding the thrower tips the throw-in pass up into the air and then is able to jump again and catch it.

The Trail official whistles and calls a throw-in violation on the defender for having his toes on the end line when making this play. He is correct.

Two thoughts:
1. I believe that the throw-in plane violation was an NCAAM rules change or clarification. So are the officials supposed to be paying more attention to this?
2. How can the Trail see this from his position? If the Lead doesn’t get this, is this something that another crew member should be concerned about helping with? If the T or C is looking at that defender’s feet, he certainly isn’t watching his area.

JRutledge Tue Dec 08, 2020 10:12pm

Play #1 (Video)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1040475)
2nd half 17:25 remaining. Iowa has a throw-in front the frontcourt end line on the table side of the basket.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/OWSY-avjmCs" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Tue Dec 08, 2020 10:14pm

Play #2 (Video)
 
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/FyAEJRf-Svc" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Raymond Tue Dec 08, 2020 11:04pm

Play #1: the clarification was for the definition of repeated violations of the throw-in plane for the purpose of calling a Class B technical foul.

Play #2: initial LGP is established with left foot on the RA. As he moves his left foot forward off the RA, he places his right foot in the RA. The calling official never points to the restricted area, so he is calling it a blocking foul based on the defender not being in a legal guarding position.

Nevadaref Wed Dec 09, 2020 02:25am

Thank you for the NCAAM rules clarification regarding play #1.

The more I think about this, the more I believe that the Trail was calling an OOB violation on the defensive player and not a throw-in boundary plane violation. Of course, that isn’t his line or his PCA, so I’m still rather surprised by this call coming from the Trail.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1