The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2020, 05:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,842
Video Request: Bradley at Xavier

The final throw-in play with under five seconds remaining from the sideline in the backcourt would be an excellent video clip for teaching what is and what is not a backcourt violation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2020, 09:15pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,950
Here is the play (Video)



Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2020, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,906
Normal landing, correct no-call.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2020, 11:53pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,234
Not a backcourt violation because he had jumped and is allowed a normal landing, but he most definitely traveled.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Nov 27, 2020 at 11:59pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2020, 11:57pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Not a backcourt violation because he had jumped in his allowed a normal landing, but he most definitely traveled.
I was wondering if someone was going to mention that part. It does look that way, but not the best angle from the video.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 28, 2020, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Not a backcourt violation because he had jumped and is allowed a normal landing, but he most definitely traveled.
Agree, on both counts.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 30, 2020, 05:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Not a backcourt violation because he had jumped and is allowed a normal landing, but he most definitely traveled.
My exact words.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2020, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,000
Is the rule different between NCAA and HS? I Don't see "normal landing " specified for FED.
I see 9.9.1A

Truthfully, I'd have called a BCV. And, I'm normally pretty lenient, but this seems too obvious. Am I wrong here?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2020, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
Is the rule different between NCAA and HS? I Don't see "normal landing " specified for FED.
I see 9.9.1A

Truthfully, I'd have called a BCV. And, I'm normally pretty lenient, but this seems too obvious. Am I wrong here?
Yes. Read Rule 9-9-3 for FED.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2020, 06:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 864
With regards to the travel after the correct no call regarding whether there was a back court or not, I would bet that the official was processing the back court situation and the time remaining and flat out missed the travel.....type of situation that either sends an official to the next round of the NCAA's or sends him home.
__________________
Go ugly early, avoid the rush !!!!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 03, 2020, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Multiple Sports View Post
With regards to the travel after the correct no call regarding whether there was a back court or not, I would bet that the official was processing the back court situation and the time remaining and flat out missed the travel.....type of situation that either sends an official to the next round of the NCAA's or sends him home.
True, as a general rule for myself: When a player catches the ball with his back to the goal, turns quickly, and does not exepct or is surprised by a defender there they very often travel having to adjust their normal start of the dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2020, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
Yes. Read Rule 9-9-3 for FED.
I'm sorry, but I completely disagree! That is not the correct rule for this situation.

9-9-3 applies to a player who jumps and possesses the ball with both feet off the ground and may make a "normal landing". He never "took off", he was still on the "runway".
He catches the ball with his foot on the floor. The editor even paused the video!

I question, Why would the video be shown if it were so obvious the correct ruling was made?

To me, the case plays describe "what is or is not a BCV"!

Ok, let me have it!
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2020, 12:33pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
I'm sorry, but I completely disagree! That is not the correct rule for this situation.

9-9-3 applies to a player who jumps and possesses the ball with both feet off the ground and may make a "normal landing". He never "took off", he was still on the "runway".
He catches the ball with his foot on the floor. The editor even paused the video!

I question, Why would the video be shown if it were so obvious the correct ruling was made?

To me, the case plays describe "what is or is not a BCV"!

Ok, let me have it!
Go to the replay. Around the 00:15 mark you can see him jump off his left foot and catch the ball with both feet off the ground.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2020, 01:00pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
I'm sorry, but I completely disagree! That is not the correct rule for this situation.

9-9-3 applies to a player who jumps and possesses the ball with both feet off the ground and may make a "normal landing". He never "took off", he was still on the "runway".
He catches the ball with his foot on the floor. The editor even paused the video!

I question, Why would the video be shown if it were so obvious the correct ruling was made?

To me, the case plays describe "what is or is not a BCV"!

Ok, let me have it!
I have read people suggest that he had one foot on the floor, but that is very sketchy at best. He might touch the ball with a toe on the floor, but he certainly does not possess the ball with that foot on the floor. So if that is the hill you want to die on when this is live, be my guest, but not a very good one to die on at all IMO.

I made the video because it was a good example of the rule. Most people do not know the rule or think that if he is touching the FC, he cannot touch the BC on a throw-in (Jump ball and defensive position).

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2020, 02:14pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 20,913
Both Feet Off The Floor ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
9-9-3 ...
NFHS:

During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.

9.9.1 SITUATION A: A1 catches the throw-in pass with one foot on the floor in A's frontcourt and the other foot not touching the floor. The non-pivot foot then comes down in A's backcourt. RULING: Violation. Player and team control are established in A's frontcourt when A1 catches the throw-in pass. The violation occurs when A1 subsequently touches the backcourt with the non-pivot foot. (4-12-6; 9-9-3)

9.9.1 SITUATION B: During a jump ball, A1 taps the ball. A2 takes off from Team A's frontcourt and catches the ball while in the air. A2 lands with: (a) both feet in frontcourt and then steps to backcourt with one foot; (b) one foot in backcourt and one in the frontcourt; or (c) both feet in the backcourt. RULING: Team control is not established until A2 catches the ball. Violation in (a). Legal in (b) and (c). (4-12-6; 9-9-3)


In my opinion White #4 secures the ball with one foot, his left foot, on the floor in frontcourt, followed by his right foot touching the floor in the backcourt.

Backcourt violation.

Then again, I only get this close to a college game when I buy a ticket, or watch the game on television.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Dec 05, 2020 at 05:56pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xavier-Maryland video request OKREF Basketball 2 Thu Mar 16, 2017 09:09pm
Seton Hall/Xavier continuous motion (video request) JetMetFan Basketball 23 Sat Mar 12, 2016 03:40pm
Block/Charge? G'town v Xavier (video request) Nevadaref Basketball 0 Fri Mar 13, 2015 10:52pm
Video request: Memphis/Xavier inbounds play Nevadaref Basketball 12 Fri Mar 01, 2013 08:35pm
VC vs Xavier video request justacoach Basketball 0 Sat Feb 23, 2013 04:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1