The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2020, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Latest IAABO Between The Lines Rule Quiz. Three interesting questions that needed some thought.

A1 ends their dribble in their backcourt. A1 throws a long pass that hits their backboard and rebounds back to them in their backcourt. The Trail official rules a backcourt violation. True or False?
True- 9-9-2.
Team control exists during a pass, and a pass is not a try, which would have ended team control.
Except there is a specific nfhs case play (9.5) which states that a player may throw the ball off his own backboard and retrieve the ball without violating. Does that same play ruling negate a backcourt violation? Probably, but if not I’m deeming the thrown ball a try for goal, not a pass, per 4-41-2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post

During a jump ball to start the game, A2 fouls B2 before the tossing official releases the ball. The U1 rules an intentional technical foul on A2. True or False?
True- 4-19-3-c & 4-19-5-c
6-1-2-A: The ball becomes live when: On a jump ball, the tossed ball leaves the official’s hand(s).
Perhaps, but it may also be permissible to ignore the contact per the note to 4-19-1. The specific language of that note does say contact after the ball has become dead and in this case we have a ball which is dead and have yet to be made live prior to the start of the game, so there is a small semantic issue. However, the spirit and intent of the rule is to not penalize what would otherwise be a normal contact foul during a dead ball period. The official should only penalize if the act is deemed intentional or flagrant.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post

The Lead official bounces the ball to A1. Prior to A1 catching the ball B2 fouls A2. The Lead official rules a personal foul against B2. True or False?
False- 4-19-1.
Technical foul.
6-1-2-B: The ball becomes live when: On a throw-in, it is at the disposal of the thrower.
Per the same rule cited above, this action should likely be ignored and not penalized.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Erasing the lines emaxos Softball 12 Mon Apr 02, 2007 11:06am
What lines? Cyber-Ref Basketball 10 Sat Nov 19, 2005 01:25pm
10' side lines hoopsrefBC Basketball 5 Sat Oct 28, 2000 03:22pm
Online rule quiz? ilya Basketball 20 Tue May 23, 2000 07:44pm
IAABO Rule Book Steve Criss Basketball 2 Fri Oct 01, 1999 11:42am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1