![]() |
Interesting throw in play
A1 scores a basket and her momentum carries her oob. While A1 is oob B2 picks up the ball oob and attempts a throw in. A1 still oob knocks the ball out of the hands of B2.
I'm sure as long as the ball is still on the oob side of the boundary line this would be a violation of the throw in provisions which results in a technical foul and a team delay of game warning. My question is if the ball was on the in bounds side of the boundary line, would this just make the ball dead and become oob by team A and team B would be awarded a throw in again at the spot? |
I would go with a delay of game warning for having part of the body through the boundary plane when making the defensive play against the thrower.
While A1 was legally out of bounds, that doesn’t grant additional privileges to the now defender. For example, a player saving a ball who legally goes out of bounds due to momentum is not allowed to run all the way down the side of the court while out of bounds to get open for a long pass. So if A1 doesn’t wish to get penalized for a boundary plane infraction, she needs to return inbounds before making a defensive play. Ruling: delay warning on team A and another end line throw-in for team B. |
Happened Last Season
Great discussion on this exact play from last season from this exact play, with video, is here:
https://forum.officiating.com/basket...hands-but.html |
Here is another example.
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/7gRtOCer7xg" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe> Peace |
Jrut video is not same play as defender is on inbounds side of plane. Previous link did include video of OP play.
|
Quote:
PS wonderful how the new Trail isn’t even looking at the throw-in play and completely misses the call, which has to be covered by the C. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20pm. |