The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Pass hits Rim (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105013-pass-hits-rim.html)

Zoochy Tue Mar 03, 2020 04:55pm

Pass hits Rim
 
A1 is in the back court.
(a) Before he starts his dribble, Throws the ball to A2 and the ball hits the RIM and it bounces back to him.
(b) After he completes his dribble, Throws the ball to A2 and the ball hits the RIM and it bounces back to him.
Has A1 violated? Or what can he do next?

bob jenkins Tue Mar 03, 2020 08:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1038010)
A1 is in the back court.
(a) Before he starts his dribble, Throws the ball to A2 and the ball hits the RIM and it bounces back to him.
(b) After he completes his dribble, Throws the ball to A2 and the ball hits the RIM and it bounces back to him.
Has A1 violated? Or what can he do next?

That makes it a dribble. Rule accordingly.

Nevadaref Wed Mar 04, 2020 03:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1038010)
A1 is in the back court.
(a) Before he starts his dribble, Throws the ball to A2 and the ball hits the RIM and it bounces back to him.
(b) After he completes his dribble, Throws the ball to A2 and the ball hits the RIM and it bounces back to him.
Has A1 violated? Or what can he do next?

Does the ball contact the floor or return directly to the player from the ring?

Camron Rust Wed Mar 04, 2020 03:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1038015)
That makes it a dribble. Rule accordingly.

I know of nothing that declares the rim the same as touching the floor. Backboard, sure, but not the rim. As such, throwing it off the rim seems the same as a player throwing it into the air and catching it. Then the question is whether the feet moved during such action. If so, travel or illegal dribble depending on which year's case play you want to use. If not, nothing has occurred.

bob jenkins Wed Mar 04, 2020 08:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1038022)
I know of nothing that declares the rim the same as touching the floor.

Agreed. I read the term "bounces" as meaning the ball hit the floor.

If the ball returned directly to A1 (in which case I wouldn't use the term "bounces") the play is the same as A1 tossing the ball in the air and catching it. Rule accordingly, considering what else might have happened (pivot foot moving, etc.)

BillyMac Wed Mar 04, 2020 11:32am

Oversight ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1038022)
I know of nothing that declares the rim the same as touching the floor. Backboard, sure, but not the rim.

Basketball Rules Fundamentals
19. A ball which touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated
the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches
the thrower’s backboard, it does not constitute a part of a dribble.


Rim? An oversight by the NFHS?

Or intentionally and deviously done to drive us all nuts?

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon....X342_QL70_.jpg

It's the NFHS, I think we all know the answer.

On the other hand we occasionally see a passed ball touching the basket net.

Most of us would probably just think, "Play on", not give it a second thought, and certainly never consider it to be a dribble.

So maybe the NFHS was right (I just almost vomited into my own mouth) in having the Rules Fundamental only specify the backboard?

Camron Rust Wed Mar 04, 2020 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1038025)
Agreed. I read the term "bounces" as meaning the ball hit the floor.

If the ball returned directly to A1 (in which case I wouldn't use the term "bounces") the play is the same as A1 tossing the ball in the air and catching it. Rule accordingly, considering what else might have happened (pivot foot moving, etc.)

Ah, I read the play differently....that the bounce was off the rim.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1