The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Timing -- Allowing for touch (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105005-timing-allowing-touch.html)

ODog Mon Feb 24, 2020 11:44pm

Timing -- Allowing for touch
 
NFHS rule set.

The phrase "some allowance must be made for the touch, likely tenths of a second ..." is burned in my mind, but I can't find it anywhere.

The scenario:
1.3 seconds left, A1 misses a FT. A2 knocks the rebound OOB. Clock still reads 1.3.

Officials want to take some tenths off.

Am I crazy, or was that at least an old case that no longer appears?

Nevadaref Tue Feb 25, 2020 12:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1037846)
NFHS rule set.

The phrase "some allowance must be made for the touch, likely tenths of a second ..." is burned in my mind, but I can't find it anywhere.

The scenario:
1.3 seconds left, A1 misses a FT. A2 knocks the rebound OOB. Clock still reads 1.3.

Officials want to take some tenths off.

Am I crazy, or was that at least an old case that no longer appears?

It comes from a past NFHS interp which was only published online. It appears in our archive on this forum.

Nevadaref Tue Feb 25, 2020 01:12am

2009-10 Interps Situation 11.

Camron Rust Tue Feb 25, 2020 03:07am

I think that was, while well intended, a bad interpretation, without rule basis. How many tenths? 1, 2, 3, 4000? Are they telling us to guess without guideline on how much to guess?

Nevadaref Tue Feb 25, 2020 03:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1037851)
I think that was, while well intended, a bad interpretation, without rule basis. How many tenths? 1, 2, 3, 4000? Are they telling us to guess without guideline on how much to guess?

Yes, they told us to approximate. We know that some time must come off, but don’t have exact knowledge as to how many tenths to remove. Most have been using the NCAA rule and removing 3/10ths.

I would like to see that become an NFHS rule change.

BillyMac Tue Feb 25, 2020 11:09am

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1037849)
2009-10 Interps Situation 11.

SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1’s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2’s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2’s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1