![]() |
Dislodging the Ball from the Thrower's Hands, but...
Is the actual element of "reaching through the boundary plane" necessary to issue a 4-47-3 warning along with a player technical in this play?
A1's momentum carries him OOB after a drive and successful score. B1 grabs the ball and steps OOB to initiate the fast break with a quick throw in. On the way back to the court, A1 makes contact with the ball and dislodges it from B1's hands. A player technical was issued. But should this have been a player technical with the delay of game warning at the same time as dictated by 9-2-10 PENALTY 3, 9.2.10A, and 10-4-10? Those rules all include the feature of reaching through the OOB boundary plane, which this player did not do because he was already OOB. The coach asked, "Don't we get a warning for that?" I said, "Coach, when your player dislodged the ball and received the technical foul, that was also considered the warning," recalling in my mind the above rule-based situations. I'm not sure if I was right or not. Any help? |
Yes it is a warning and a T. Why does that matter? Well any other warning is not a T because you did this earlier in the game. So you were right to address this to the coach.
Peace |
Interesting that 10-4-5a allows us to issue a player T but without the "reaching through" aspect and without the otherwise associated delay involved. I would consider that an alternative, but it seems as though the situation merits the warning.
|
Just did a whole bunch of reading. 10-4-5a has the phrase "or from being put in play" which is not included in any of the rules or references that allow for a delay warning.
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
Not Exactly The Same ...
... but will this provide any guidance?
2011-12 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 8: Team A has a designated spot throw-in along the end line. Thrower A1 extends the ball with his/her arms over the end line such that part of the forearms, hands and the ball are entirely on the inbounds side of the boundary line. B2 slaps A1 on the wrist and dislodges the ball. RULING: When a defender makes contact with a thrower-in, the result is an intentional foul. Where A1’s arms are located (on the inbounds or out-of-bounds side of the boundary line) is immaterial for this penalty to be assessed. A1 is awarded two free throws and Team A awarded a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. COMMENT: For a boundary-plane violation warning to also be assessed, the defender must actually violate the rule and penetrate the boundary plane. (4-19-3e; 4-47-1; 7-5-4b; 9-2-10 Penalty 4) |
Quote:
Thanx. |
Let's Go To The Videoptape ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Being out of bounds is completely penetrating the OOB plane. |
Quote:
|
Penetration ...
Quote:
Other than strike the ball from the inbounder's hands, thus delaying and interfering with the throwin (for which he was charged with a technical foul), he did nothing wrong, his momentum carried him off the court, it is not a violation for a player to unintentionally leave the court, and after being legally out of bounds he was expected to not delay in returning back inbounds. 10-4-10: A player shall not: Reach through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touch or - dislodge the ball as in 9-2 Penalty 3. 9-2-10-Penalties: 1. The first violation of the throw-in boundary-line plane by an opponent(s) of the thrower shall result in a team warning for delay being given (one delay warning per team per game). The warning does not result in the loss of the opportunity to move along the end line when and if applicable. 2. The second or additional violations will result in a technical foul assessed to the offending team. 3. If an opponent(s) reaches through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touches or dislodges the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate outside the boundary line a technical foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay required. 4. If an opponent(s) contacts the thrower, an intentional personal foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay required. 9.2.10 SITUATION A: A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1’s hands. Team B has not been warned previously for a throw-in plane infraction. RULING: B1 is charged with a technical foul and it also results in the official having a team warning recorded and reported to the head coach. 10.4.10 SITUATION C: Team A scores near the end of the fourth quarter and is trailing by one point. B1 has the ball and is moving along the end line to make the throw-in. A2 steps out of bounds and fouls B1. Is the foul personal or technical? RULING: This is an intentional personal foul. The time remaining to be played or whether Team A had been previously warned for a delay-of-game situation is not a -factor. If the team had not been warned, the foul constitutes the warning. (4-19-1; 9-2-10 Penalty 4) |
I would not use the case play to address the OP. The end result might be the same, but I think the highlighted part of the case play is meant for the (normal / usual) situations where B is inbounds and A is out of bounds.
|
Abnormal, Unusual, Rare ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Rara Avis ...
Quote:
|
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Officiated Games With Confucius ...
Quote:
Player, after being legally out of bounds does not delay and attempts to return back inbounds. Legal. Player, whose hands are now on the inbounds side of the boundary plane (if this was the case, hard to tell from the earlier post), tips the throwin pass after the ball has been released on a throwin pass, and while the ball is on the inbounds side of the boundary plane (if this was the case, hard to tell from the earlier post). Legal. Confucius says, "If it ain't illegal, it's legal". |
Quote:
When you say legal, do you mean that it's not delay or tech worthy? Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Hustle Play ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
If a player is already out of bounds legally, we cannot penalize him for being there when the throw-in starts after a made basket. So any infractions and penalties should not include those that arise from reaching through the boundary plane or stepping out of bounds AFTER the throw-in starts.
In Freddy's play, the offender can get a technical foul for keeping the ball from being put in play. But keeping the ball from being put in play is not included in any of the references in regards to delay warnings. The offender did not reach through the boundary plane and the offender did not interfere with the ball after a goal or prevent the ball from becoming live. So I have a technical foul with no warning attached. If he had contacted the thrower-in, I would have an intentional foul with no warning attached. Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Held Ball
I'm going up with an open hand, closing down on the discussion and signaling a held ball on this one.
I like the rules-based defenses of both sides of this discussion. And I'm happy it's such an obscure play that it won't happen often, leading to inconsistency of enforcement from crew to crew in any certain area. The one good thing about it is that, for anyone taking the time and effort to investigate the actions and issues and related side-issues, it grants a very thorough review of the principles involved in other plays that indeed happen more frequently that we gotta get right every time. Thanx for the diligent and dynamic discussion everyone! |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24pm. |