![]() |
Over & back
Play:
Everyone's position is in white's front court. White has position of ball in the paint, she tries to pass the ball to to teammate at the top of the key. But Red jumps up, tips the pass, then the ball tips the hand of white, then goes to backcourt where white retrieves it. Back court or not? |
NFHS: Backcourt violation. White had team control in FC and was last to touch before it went to BC.
Note: Didn’t they change this in NCAA a few years back? Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
In NCAA-M this is not a violation since player control was not regained in the frontcourt after the touch by the defense.
|
Violation in NCAAW.
If someone can post NBA and FIBA, we'll have it covered. |
It Is What It Is ...
Quote:
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt. The NFHS played around with this the past few years with rule language, interpretations, and points of emphasis, leading some to mistakenly believe that the NFHS was going down the path of the NCAA, but ultimately it stayed the same. |
Quote:
|
Violation in FIBA
|
NBA
Section IX—Ball in Backcourt A player shall not be the first to touch a ball which he or a teammate caused to go from frontcourt to backcourt while his team was in control of the ball. EXCEPTION: Rule 8—Section III—e. (I placed the exception wording after the below penalty) During a jump ball, a try for a goal, or a situation in which a player taps the ball away from a congested area, as during rebounding, in an attempt to get the ball out where player control may be secured, the ball is not in control of either team. Hence, the restriction on first touching does not apply. PENALTY: Loss of ball. The ball is awarded to the opposing team at the midcourt line. e. Any ball out-of-bounds in a team’s frontcourt or at the midcourt line cannot be passed into the backcourt. On all backcourt and midcourt violations, the ball shall be awarded to the opposing team at the midcourt line, and must be passed into the frontcourt. EXCEPTION: During the last two minutes of the fourth period and the last two minutes of any overtime period, the ball may be passed anywhere (frontcourt or backcourt) on the court. However, if the ball is thrown into the frontcourt and an offensive player on the court fails to control the ball and causes it to go into the backcourt, his team may not be the first to touch the ball. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14am. |