The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-in mistake (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104865-throw-mistake.html)

Jqb12 Thu Dec 19, 2019 09:22am

Throw-in mistake
 
Team A is awarded a throw-in after a team B violation. Refs mistakenly hand the ball to Team B for a throw-in. Team B player is dribbling the ball up the court. Do you stop the game and fix this? It isn't one of the correctable errors, so do you just let them play on? What about the arrow?

SC Official Thu Dec 19, 2019 09:26am

Once the throw-in ends, you cannot go back and rectify it if you awarded the ball to the wrong team.

The arrow? Has nothing to do with your play.

Rich Thu Dec 19, 2019 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1036138)
Once the throw-in ends, you cannot go back and rectify it if you awarded the ball to the wrong team.



The arrow? Has nothing to do with your play.


Absolutely correct rule book answer.

I wonder how many follow this in practice.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

SC Official Thu Dec 19, 2019 09:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1036139)
Absolutely correct rule book answer.

I wonder how many follow this in practice.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

The one time I remember it happening to me, we followed the rule. Coach was upset but let it go quickly.

Maybe if I’d caught it sooner, a blip after the throw-in ended, we would have fixed it. But the erroneously awarded team was already running its offense in the frontcourt. At that point I don’t feel like anything good would come from ignoring the rule.

Freddy Thu Dec 19, 2019 09:46am

Here's a phrase that'll help remembering the correct ruling on this: "It's not a "Correctable Error", but it is an error that can be corrected -- if caught in time."

7-6-6: When an official administers a throw-in to the wrong team, the mistake must be rectified before the throw-in ends.

crosscountry55 Thu Dec 19, 2019 09:48am

Officiating mistake. Own it, eat it, apologize, and move on. Coach will be upset but deep down he/she will appreciate your humility.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BillyMac Thu Dec 19, 2019 10:57am

Odds In Favor ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1036143)
Officiating mistake. Own it, eat it, apologize, and move on.

Tell the coach that he'll get two of the next three. Wait ... I'm being told ... Possession arrows? Never mind.

Jqb12 Thu Dec 19, 2019 05:11pm

Got it.
Thank you

MattReferee Fri Dec 20, 2019 10:59pm

Definitely I would REF-up and correct possession

SC Official Fri Dec 20, 2019 11:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MattReferee (Post 1036239)
Definitely I would REF-up and correct possession

What?

johnny d Sat Dec 21, 2019 12:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MattReferee (Post 1036239)
Definitely I would REF-up and correct possession

What other rules are you willing to set aside to REF-up? I think what you meant to say is that you would compound one **** up by purposely ****ing it up worse.

BillyMac Sat Dec 21, 2019 09:10am

Young'uns Are Watching ...
 
https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.W...=0&w=367&h=207

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 1036243)
... compound one **** up by purposely ****ing it up worse.

That's the R Rated version of, "Two wrongs don't make a right".

bob jenkins Sat Dec 21, 2019 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MattReferee (Post 1036239)
Definitely I would REF-up and correct possession


In the real world, at what point would it be too late to "ref up?"

(Similar to the question Rich asked earlier in the thread.)

BillyMac Sat Dec 21, 2019 11:24am

Throwin Ends ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1036252)
In the real world, at what point would it be too late to "ref up?"

For me, in a real high school game, when the throwin ends.

4-42-5: The throw-in ends when:
a. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player inbounds.
b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds,
except as in 7-5-7.
c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.

bob jenkins Sat Dec 21, 2019 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1036256)
For me, in a real high school game, when the throwin ends.[/I]

For me, it's if I *recognize it* before the throw-in ends -- not if it's rectified or the whistle blows before the throw-in ends.

MattReferee Sat Dec 21, 2019 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1036252)
In the real world, at what point would it be too late to "ref up?"

(Similar to the question Rich asked earlier in the thread.)

Anytime prior OR after Balls in flight from out of bounds Ref-Up
AGAIN I WOULD REF UP AND CORRECT possession!!!

Rich Sat Dec 21, 2019 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MattReferee (Post 1036263)
Anytime prior OR after Balls in flight from out of bounds Ref-Up

AGAIN I WOULD REF UP AND CORRECT possession!!!



Is "Ref Up" some made up phrase from somewhere?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

BillyMac Sat Dec 21, 2019 02:10pm

Ungrateful Young'uns ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1036264)
Is "Ref Up" some made up phrase from somewhere.

And while we're at it, where did this come from?

https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.c...=0&w=253&h=169

crosscountry55 Sat Dec 21, 2019 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MattReferee (Post 1036263)
Anytime prior OR after Balls in flight from out of bounds Ref-Up

AGAIN I WOULD REF UP AND CORRECT possession!!!


That’s a little more info than you provided the first time. And you don’t need to invent some esoteric synonym for “man-up.” We’re not impressed. Just say what you’re doing: correcting an officiating error when it is recognized before the throw-in ends.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bob jenkins Sat Dec 21, 2019 06:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MattReferee (Post 1036263)
Anytime prior OR after Balls in flight from out of bounds Ref-Up
AGAIN I WOULD REF UP AND CORRECT possession!!!

Thanks. That';s not how I read your first post. Since you didn't quote anything, I assumed you were responding to the OP -- when the throw-in had (long) ended. IN that case, "ref-up" has two extra letters at the beginning.

Freddy Sat Dec 21, 2019 07:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1036271)
In that case, "ref-up" has two extra letters at the beginning.

If this part of this response had a Like button I would click on it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1