
Fri Oct 24, 2003, 01:40pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
I can actually support Indy's position with the rules (emphasis mine)...
9-1-3: He/she shall throw within 10 seconds, and in such a way that the ball enters the basket or touches the ring before the free throw ends.
4-20-3: The free throw ends when the try is successful, when it is certain the try will not be successful, when the ball touches the floor or any player, or when the ball becomes dead.
So, according to these two rules, when the official determines that it will not be successful and it has not yet hit the rim, it is a violation. When can the official be certain that it will not be successful? If the ball is passing below the front of the rim then hits the back iron from the bottom, I'd bet that just about anyone can tell well before it gets there. Even when it is going towards the front but below the level of the ring, it is prettly obvious.
|
Sooooo....A1, who couldn't put the ball into the Atlantic Ocean if he was falling off the Titanic, is at the line & puts up an obvious miss. You're at trail, see there's no way in hell it's going in & blow the whistle for a violation.
Yeah, sure ya do... 
(...and as you blow the whistle the ball slams off the backboard and goes in. Go directly to 7th grade girls games. If you pass GO do not collect $200.)
|
I never said I call it that way...just that I could find support for Indy's position within the rules...a point he was challenged on.
|