![]() |
Backcourt Violation Editorial Change
The language doesn't clear up the issue that was discussed so much last season.
Situation: With Team A in the frontcourt, a pass from A1 is deflected by B1 in the air towards the backcourt. Does a player for Team A have to let the ball bounce in the backcourt before legally touching the ball? I was hoping this editorial change would clear that up, but in the Ohio state rules meeting, we're told to call it the exact same way as last year. That doesn't help, either. |
Quote:
2) That depends on whether OH followed the rule last year. If not, then there won't be a change. ;) |
Quote:
|
And The Hits Just Keep On Coming ...
Quote:
Quote:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/pJcCL6WWyeI" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
If you really want to delve into depths of the somewhat twisted logic and reasoning behind the original debacle that caused it all and a correct understanding of the NFHS attempt at clarity all the way up to the expanded EXCEPTION stated in this year's rules book under 9-9-1, here's a tutorial that explains it in detail. Watch from the :56 second mark to 3:29 minute mark. Includes videos to illustrate what's legal. Not updated to accomodate the new phraseology in the new rules book because that really didn't add anything to what is legal anyway.
<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/0XNPeV2t1kI" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
Yeah, the NFHS tends to mess things up then fumble through making the correction as they don't want to admit that they messed it up to begin with.
The interpretation that led to the rule "change" last year was bogus to begin with and everyone knew it. All they had to do was redact the interpretation, but they couldn't do that. Would make too much sense. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The OhioHSAA did not include it in this year's packet. Another cutback while charging us an arm and a leg to register. MTD, Sr. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07am. |