The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-in NFHS (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104769-throw-nfhs.html)

Zoochy Thu Oct 24, 2019 02:37pm

Throw-in NFHS
 
Team A scores a basket. Everybody but B1 & B2 run up the court. B1 in bounds the ball and runs up the court. B2 does not control the ball, but just puts out his/her hand and stops the pass. The ball falls to the floor and stops bouncing. B2 then bends down to tie their shoe.
When does the 10 second count start?
Is it different between NCAA and NFHS?

rwodar Thu Oct 24, 2019 02:44pm

Throw-in NFHS
 
Count starts as soon as the ball is legally touched. Team B has team control in this entire sequence. The rulebook states “A player must not be, not may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds” continuous team control in the backcourt would begin as soon as the ball is touched in the backcourt.

See 9-8 NFHS.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Raymond Thu Oct 24, 2019 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1034989)
Team A scores a basket. Everybody but B1 & B2 run up the court. B1 in bounds the ball and runs up the court. B2 does not control the ball, but just puts out his/her hand and stops the pass. The ball falls to the floor and stops bouncing. B2 then bends down to tie their shoe.
When does the 10 second count start?
Is it different between NCAA and NFHS?

In NCAA-Men's, the shot clock and 10-second count begin when the ball is legally touched inbounds.

I have found no rule, case play, or past interp in the NFHS that would allow us to begin a 10-second count in your scenario.

bob jenkins Thu Oct 24, 2019 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1034991)
In NCAA-Men's, the shot clock and 10-second count begin when the ball is legally touched inbounds.

I have found no rule, case play, or past interp in the NFHS that would allow us to begin a 10-second count in your scenario.

Same for NCAAW

SC Official Thu Oct 24, 2019 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1034990)
Count starts as soon as the ball is legally touched. Team B has team control in this entire sequence. The rulebook states “A player must not be, not may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds” continuous team control in the backcourt would begin as soon as the ball is touched in the backcourt.

See 9-8 NFHS.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

This is not true.

Team control during a throw-in (and the subsequent loose ball when the throw-in is legally touched but not controlled) is for foul purposes only. Team control for violation purposes (10 seconds, backcourt, 3 seconds) does not start until there is player control.

billyu2 Thu Oct 24, 2019 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1034990)
Count starts as soon as the ball is legally touched. Team B has team control in this entire sequence. The rulebook states “A player must not be, not may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds” continuous team control in the backcourt would begin as soon as the ball is touched in the backcourt.

See 9-8 NFHS.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Team Control on a throw in only applies to fouls committed by a player on the throw in team, not to violations such as 3 seconds or back court violations. The confusion based on 9-8 has been discussed here before. The ten second count does not begin until a player from Team B has gained control in the back court. A similar play to illustrate is Case Book 4.12.2.B

rwodar Thu Oct 24, 2019 03:27pm

Throw-in NFHS
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 1034994)
Team Control on a throw in only applies to fouls committed by a player on the throw in team, not to violations such as 3 seconds or back court violations. The confusion based on 9-8 has been discussed here before. The ten second count does not begin until a player from Team B has gained control in the back court. A similar play to illustrate is Case Book 4.12.2.B



My supporting argument to counter this would be that the throwing in team had team control and never lost it. Once the ball is touched by a teammate of the thrower in, the 10 second count begins due to team control in the back court. Same thing if a defender tipped the throw in pass. Team B is still in team control and the count will begin unless someone on Team A were to gain player control.

The only reason I brought up team control on the throw in was to illustrate that Team B had team control once the ball is legally touched in the backcourt, unless player control is gained by a member of team A.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BillyMac Thu Oct 24, 2019 03:27pm

Continuous Control ...
 
NFHS 9-8: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

"Continuous control".

NFHS 4-12: CONTROL, PLAYER AND TEAM
ART. 1 A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or -
dribbling a live ball.
There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a
jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper,
or during an interrupted dribble.
ART. 2 A team is in control of the ball:
a. When a player of the team is in control.
b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.

c. During an interrupted dribble.
d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.
ART. 3 Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.
ART. 4 While the ball remains live a loose ball always remains in
control of the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap
for goal.


Situation 10 is not the same as the original post but the language is quite clear, "continuous control".

2017-18 Interpretations
SITUATION 10: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1’s pass to A2, who is also in Team A’s backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second rule specifically requires that a player/team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2, 9-8)

BillyMac Thu Oct 24, 2019 03:31pm

Backcourt Count ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 1034994)
A similar play to illustrate is Case Book 4.12.2.B

Nice citation billyu2.

4.12.2 SITUATION B: During a throw-in by A-1 from the
end line by Team A’s basket: (a) A2 is in the restricted lane
area for four seconds of the throw-in count; or (b) the throw-in
is touched by A2 before it goes across the division line where
it is recovered by A3. RULING: Legal in (a) and (b), even
though Team A is in team control during the throw-in. There
is no three-second count in (a) since team control had not yet
been established in Team A’s frontcourt. There is no
backcourt violation in (b) since team control had not yet been
established in team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into
Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally
touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until
A3 gains control in his/her backcourt.
(9-7, 8, 9)

rwodar Thu Oct 24, 2019 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1034996)
NFHS 9-8: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.



"Continuous control".



NFHS 4-12: CONTROL, PLAYER AND TEAM

ART. 1 A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or -

dribbling a live ball.
There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a

jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper,

or during an interrupted dribble.

ART. 2 A team is in control of the ball:

a. When a player of the team is in control.

b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.

c. During an interrupted dribble.


d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.

ART. 3 Team control continues until:

a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.

b. An opponent secures control.

c. The ball becomes dead.

ART. 4 While the ball remains live a loose ball always remains in

control of the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap

for goal.




Situation 10 is not the same as the original post but the language is quite clear, "continuous control".



2017-18 Interpretations

SITUATION 10: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1’s pass to A2, who is also in Team A’s backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second rule specifically requires that a player/team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2, 9-8)



Maybe my original reply was poorly worded but I think we are on the same page here. The count begins when B2 touches the ball in this example.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BillyMac Thu Oct 24, 2019 03:35pm

Is There Team Control On A Throwin ???
 
It depends.

Basketball Points of Emphasis - 2017-18
2. Team control, throw-in. The relevance of team control during a throw-in only applies when a member of the throw- in team fouls. Such fouls shall be ruled team control fouls. Team control during a throw-in is NOT intended to be the same as player control/team control inbounds. Team control inbounds is established when a player from either team who has inbound status gains control of the ball. During the throw-in, 10-seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are NOT factors as there has yet to be player control/team control obtained inbounds.

BillyMac Thu Oct 24, 2019 03:38pm

Holds Or Dribbles A Live Ball Inbounds ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1034998)
The count begins when B2 touches the ball in this example.

No it doesn't.

The ten second count begins when a player holds or dribbles a live ball inbounds.

Zoochy Thu Oct 24, 2019 04:09pm

I am having fun NOW
 
To add onto the original play.... The possession arrow is pointing towards Team A. The Trail Official sounds his/her whistle. Signals 10 second/Back court violation.:eek:
Now what do you do? :confused: Team B never established Team Control. Inadvertent Whistle from Trail Official.

rwodar Thu Oct 24, 2019 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1035000)
No it doesn't.



The ten second count begins when a player holds or dribbles a live ball inbounds.


...If team A isn’t pressing team b can just touch the ball in bounds and sit in the backcourt as long as they’d like?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

rwodar Thu Oct 24, 2019 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1034999)
It depends.



Basketball Points of Emphasis - 2017-18

2. Team control, throw-in. The relevance of team control during a throw-in only applies when a member of the throw- in team fouls. Such fouls shall be ruled team control fouls. Team control during a throw-in is NOT intended to be the same as player control/team control inbounds. Team control inbounds is established when a player from either team who has inbound status gains control of the ball. During the throw-in, 10-seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are NOT factors as there has yet to be player control/team control obtained inbounds.



This also doesn’t make sense. other than a field goal or free throw attempt There is NEVER a live ball situation where team control does not exist. If what you’re saying is true, that would mean if team B commits a foul while the ball is sitting there in the back court and team A were in the bonus, we would shoot free throws, which is NOT the case.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BillyMac Thu Oct 24, 2019 04:49pm

Eight Minutes ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1035004)
...If team A isn’t pressing team b can just touch the ball in bounds and sit in the backcourt as long as they’d like?

Only until the end of the period buzzer sounds.

rwodar Thu Oct 24, 2019 04:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1035006)
Only until the end of the period buzzer sounds.



Welp, I’m glad I no longer play on the off chance you’d be officiating.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BillyMac Thu Oct 24, 2019 04:59pm

Player Control Is Obtained Inbounds ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1035005)
... that would mean if team B commits a foul while the ball is sitting there in the back court and team A were in the bonus, we would shoot free throws, which is NOT the case.

Since the "team control foul" period on a throwin ends when player control is obtained inbounds, and since player control had not been established inbounds, then there would be no free throws.

4-19-7: A team-control foul is a common foul committed by a member
of the team that has team control or by a member of the throw-in team from
the start of the throw-in until player control is obtained inbounds.

BillyMac Thu Oct 24, 2019 05:03pm

Team Control Foul ...
 
4.19.7 SITUATION D: A1 has the ball for a throw in. The throw-in pass deflects off of A2. As A2 and B2 are attempting to retrieve the loose throw-in pass, A2 illegally pushes B2 from behind and is called for a foul. Team B is in the bonus. RULING: Team A is in control during this throw in, therefore a team-control foul has been committed. B2 is awarded a throw in at a spot closest to where the foul occurred. (4-12-6)

rwodar Thu Oct 24, 2019 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1035008)
Since the "team control foul" period on a throwin ends when player control is obtained inbounds, and since player control had not been established inbounds, then there would be no free throws.



4-19-7: A team-control foul is a common foul committed by a member

of the team that has team control or by a member of the throw-in team from

the start of the throw-in until player control is obtained inbounds.



Regardless of the explanation of why this is a team control foul your initial statement about not starting the 10second count until player control is obtained is incorrect.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

billyu2 Thu Oct 24, 2019 06:49pm

[QUOTE=rwodar;1035010]Regardless of the explanation of why this is a team control foul your initial statement about not starting the 10second count until player control is obtained is incorrect.

It is not incorrect. The Case Play that was cited 4.12.2b specifically tell us on a deflected throw in pass there can be no 3 second violation, no over/back violation and a 10 count cannot be started until the player gains control. Again, team control on throw in plays only applies to fouls committed by the throw in team. Please give us a specific citation from the RB, CB or Officials Manual that says the official should start the count when the throw in pass is touched/deflected.

BillyMac Thu Oct 24, 2019 06:51pm

Reading Is Fundamental ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1035010)
Regardless of the explanation of why this is a team control foul your initial statement about not starting the 10second count until player control is obtained is incorrect.

Basketball Points of Emphasis - 2017-18
2. Team control, throw-in ...Team control during a throw-in is NOT intended to be the same as player control/team control inbounds. Team control inbounds is established when a player from either team who has inbound status gains control of the ball. During the throw-in, 10-seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are NOT factors as there has yet to be player control/team control obtained inbounds.


NFHS 9-8: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

NFHS 4-12: CONTROL, PLAYER AND TEAM
ART. 1 A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or -
dribbling a live ball.

rwodar Thu Oct 24, 2019 07:04pm

[QUOTE=billyu2;1035011]
Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1035010)
Regardless of the explanation of why this is a team control foul your initial statement about not starting the 10second count until player control is obtained is incorrect.

It is not incorrect. The Case Play that was cited 4.12.2b specifically tell us on a deflected throw in pass there can be no 3 second violation, no over/back violation and a 10 count cannot be started until the player gains control. Again, team control on throw in plays only applies to fouls committed by the throw in team. Please give us a specific citation from the RB, CB or Officials Manual that says the official should start the count when the throw in pass is touched/deflected.



4.12.2b doesn’t quite make sense to me... in the situation they say team a is inbounding in the backcourt but then also say that the ball “crosses the division line” implying when A3 gains control it would be in the from court...THEN in the ruling they say “the backcourt count does not start until A3 gains control in the backcourt..? The ruling contradicts the situation.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Camron Rust Thu Oct 24, 2019 07:10pm

Just to add another voice to the many correct once, since someone doesn't want to believe it...

* Team control for fouls begins when the thrower has the ball.

* Team control for ALL other purposes begins when a player inbounds established layer control.

Both forms of team control end in the same way: dead ball, other team gains control, or a try is released.

This rule really needs to be rewritten. I may take that challenge on now.

billyu2 Thu Oct 24, 2019 07:50pm

[QUOTE=rwodar;1035013]
Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 1035011)



4.12.2b doesn’t quite make sense to me... in the situation they say team a is inbounding in the backcourt but then also say that the ball “crosses the division line” implying when A3 gains control it would be in the from court...THEN in the ruling they say “the backcourt count does not start until A3 gains control in the backcourt..? The ruling contradicts the situation.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The Case Play starts with an end line throw in by Team A at the basket they are attempting to score at. The deflected pass then goes into Team A's back court. The spot of the throw in doesn't matter since all throw ins originate out of bounds any deflected throw in to that team's back court would still not require a ten count to start until a player from that team gained control of the ball.

BillyMac Fri Oct 25, 2019 08:13am

Until The End Of The Period Buzzer Sounds ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1035004)
...If team A isn’t pressing team b can just touch the ball in bounds and sit in the backcourt as long as they’d like?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1035006)
Only until the end of the period buzzer sounds.

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1035007)
I’m glad I no longer play on the off chance you’d be officiating.

And if B1 makes a throwin pass from under Team B’s own basket, while Team A is just passively sitting back in a zone defense, and B2 just touches, but does not control the throwin pass while in Team B’s frontcourt near the division line, and B2 just puts out his hand and touches the pass, the ball falling to the floor, eventually not bouncing, all while B1, B3, B4, B5 are standing in the lane, I’m not starting a three second count, and in fact those four players can stay in the lane until the end of the period buzzer sounds if B2 never holds or dribbles the ball, and just allows it to remain on the floor at his feet.

rwodar. How do you like them apples?

rwodar Fri Oct 25, 2019 08:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1035019)
And if B1 makes a throwin pass from under Team B’s own basket, while Team A is just passively sitting back in a zone defense, and B2 just touches, but does not control the throwin pass while in Team B’s frontcourt near the division line, and B2 just puts out his hand and touches the pass, the ball falling to the floor, eventually not bouncing, all while B1, B3, B4, B5 are standing in the lane, I’m not starting a three second count, and in fact those four players can stay in the lane until the end of the period buzzer sounds if B2 never holds or dribbles the ball, and just allows it to remain on the floor at his feet.



rwodar. How do you like them apples?



I wave the white flag here and concede that there is nothing in the rule book to support my argument. This is a wild scenario that I was wrong about, the 10 second discussion conflicts with the college rule (count starts once ball is legally touched) and it blows my mind how flawed the HS rule seems to be. My apologies for being abrasive about it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ilyazhito Fri Oct 25, 2019 08:22am

Indeed, why not rewrite the NFHS rule for team control (and, by extension, the backcourt 10-second count) to match the college rule? If there is team control for 1 purpose (fouls) why not have team control for other purposes as well.

rwodar Fri Oct 25, 2019 08:24am

Throw-in NFHS
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1035022)
Indeed, why not rewrite the NFHS rule for team control (and, by extension, the backcourt 10-second count) to match the college rule? If there is team control for 1 purpose (fouls) why not have team control for other purposes as well.



I am in complete agreement here... the fact that a situation exists based on the rules where a team can sit in the back court unguarded for significantly longer than 10 seconds is absurd.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BillyMac Fri Oct 25, 2019 08:29am

Scary Stories To The Young'uns ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1035014)
This rule really needs to be rewritten.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1035012)
Basketball Points of Emphasis - 2017-18
2. Team control, throw-in. The relevance of team control during a throw-in only applies when a member of the throw- in team fouls. Such fouls shall be ruled team control fouls. Team control during a throw-in is NOT intended to be the same as player control/team control inbounds. Team control inbounds is established when a player from either team who has inbound status gains control of the ball. During the throw-in, 10-seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are NOT factors as there has yet to be player control/team control obtained inbounds.

Is team control during a throwin a two year old Point of Emphasis that rookie officials would only fully and truly understand by the oral traditions of old, grizzled, veteran officials sitting around a campfire eating beans, passing gas, and telling scary stories about ancient Points of Emphasis to young'uns?

https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.9...=0&w=324&h=167

rwodar Fri Oct 25, 2019 09:10am

Can I circle back here? Are we saying no team control exists between the time the throw in ends (B2 touches it in the back court) and someone gaining player control?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SC Official Fri Oct 25, 2019 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1035027)
Can I circle back here? Are we saying no team control exists between the time the throw in ends (B2 touches it in the back court) and someone gaining player control?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You are confusing team control for foul purposes and team control for everything else. This is understandable if you haven't read NFHS interps/comments since the rule as written still leaves something to be desired.

Team control for foul purposes begins when the throw-in begins. A loose ball following a legal touch would still be under team control of the throw-in team for fouls only (i.e. we don't shoot FTs).

For violations there is no team control until player control is established inbounds. This is why a throw-in that is deflected by A1 in his FC that is then touched by Team A in its BC is not a BC violation.

rwodar Fri Oct 25, 2019 09:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1035028)
You are confusing team control for foul purposes and team control for everything else. This is understandable if you haven't read NFHS interps/comments since the rule as written still leaves something to be desired.



Team control for foul purposes begins when the throw-in begins. A loose ball following a legal touch would still be under team control of the throw-in team for fouls only (i.e. we don't shoot FTs).



For violations there is no team control until player control is established inbounds. This is why a throw-in that is deflected by A1 in his FC that is then touched by Team A in its BC is not a BC violation.



Thank you. Can this be found in the 2019-2020 rule book?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BillyMac Fri Oct 25, 2019 09:53am

Player Control Is Obtained Inbounds ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1035028)
Team control for foul purposes begins when the throw-in begins. A loose ball following a legal touch would still be under team control of the throw-in team for fouls only (i.e. we don't shoot FTs).

Agree.

The "team control foul" period on a throwin ends when player control is obtained inbounds.

4-19-7: A team-control foul is a common foul committed by a member of the team that has team control or by a member of the throw-in team from the start of the throw-in until player control is obtained inbounds.

BillyMac Fri Oct 25, 2019 09:55am

Citation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1035029)
Can this be found in the 2019-2020 rule book?

Yes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1035030)
4-19-7: A team-control foul is a common foul committed by a member of the team that has team control or by a member of the throw-in team from the start of the throw-in until player control is obtained inbounds.


rwodar Fri Oct 25, 2019 09:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1035031)
Yes.



So this explains the foul portion but doesn’t help explain the 10 second count start point.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BillyMac Fri Oct 25, 2019 10:02am

Additional Citations ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1035032)
So this explains the foul portion but doesn’t help explain the 10 second count start point.

Which is why we need additional citations:

9-8: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

4-12-2: A team is in control of the ball:
a. When a player of the team is in control.
b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.

4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball.

Fouls (Rule 10) and violations (Rule 9)? Apples and oranges.

JRutledge Fri Oct 25, 2019 11:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1035022)
Indeed, why not rewrite the NFHS rule for team control (and, by extension, the backcourt 10-second count) to match the college rule? If there is team control for 1 purpose (fouls) why not have team control for other purposes as well.

Because we do not have a shot clock (which is why the rule changed) and not everything that college creates is gold. I have no issues with the current NF rule about any of this.

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1035023)
I am in complete agreement here... the fact that a situation exists based on the rules where a team can sit in the back court unguarded for significantly longer than 10 seconds is absurd.

I have been officiating, watching and played for over 30 years of my life and forgive me as I have never once seen what you suggest is "absurd." For one the defense is not sitting and waiting for anyone to just stay in the backcourt. When you see that happen, let me know. And once you have control of the ball, you have a count, which also is going to happen because they are not giving the ball away to the defense easily.

You really are making this way too complicated. It really is not that hard to understand. The count for 10 seconds only starts once the team in control has actual possession of the ball in the backcourt. It has nothing to do with the throw-in control.

Peace

BillyMac Fri Oct 25, 2019 12:01pm

Never, Ever ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1035036)
... I have never once seen what you suggest is "absurd." For one the defense is not sitting and waiting for anyone to just stay in the backcourt.

Absolutely agree. Absurd is a good description. Never observed it. Never will.

But sometimes rules and definitions take on a new light when examined under ultra extreme circumstances that will only happen never in an officiating lifetime.

I'm sure that most of us have observed teams legally taking more than ten seconds to get the ball across the division line after the first inbounds touch after the throwin pass, legal because the thowin pass was fumbled around, maybe rolling around on the floor, before eventually being picked up, caught, or dribbled.

I've seen interesting situations in prep school games because here in Connecticut prep schools use hybrid NFHS/NCAA rules. NFHS rule for ten second count (starts at holding or dribbling), NCAA rule for shot clock (starts on first touch inbounds). Fans scream for ten second violations just because the shot clock has ticked off ten seconds. Stupid hybrid rules.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1035036)
It has nothing to do with the throw-in control.

Simple. Terse. Correct.

Camron Rust Fri Oct 25, 2019 07:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1035022)
Indeed, why not rewrite the NFHS rule for team control (and, by extension, the backcourt 10-second count) to match the college rule? If there is team control for 1 purpose (fouls) why not have team control for other purposes as well.

Because they don't want to get into a bunch of other unintended consequences that would cause them to rewrite the entire rulebook and confuse people for 20 years.


The better solution is to go back to the old and complete team control definition and forget all about call it team control on a throwin. Instead, just declare that fouls that are committed by the throwing once the ball becomes live for a throw are team control fouls just like fouls by an airborne shooter are considered player control fouls even though the player doesn't have player control.

BigCat Fri Oct 25, 2019 09:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1035032)
So this explains the foul portion but doesn’t help explain the 10 second count start point.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Back in old days the control, player and team rule, 4-12 did not contain 4-12-2d-“when a player of team has disposal of ball for throwin.” Also, 4-12-6 used to specifically say there is no team control during a throwin. It was clear back then team control was an INBOUNDS concept. There was also no team control foul definition.

They then decided they didn’t want to shoot so many free throws so they created team control fouls and said no FTs for those. As mentioned above, team control definition was an inbounds thing. So no FTs for illegal screens etc. by team in control of ball inbounds. FTs were still shot if the throwin team fouled during the throwin. (Assuming bonus)
They then decided they didn’t want to shoot FTs when throwin team fouled during throwin so they added 4-12-2d language.

Adding that language to the rest of rule 4-12 makes it read like once ball at disposal for throwin team control exists and continues until ball dead, field goal attempt etc. I understand the confusion of it because it reads like you interpreted it.

As noted by others, they added language to make it clear team control during throwin and in til player control is obtained is for foul purposes only.

They were not intending to change Violation concepts. BC count has always started when player controls ball inbounds. They were trying to eliminate some FTs and confused many folks.

ilyazhito Fri Oct 25, 2019 10:42pm

There are only 2 logically consistent ways to resolve this conundrum of having team control exist (and simultaneously not exist) at different times for different purposes: either eliminate throw-ins from the discussion of team control altogether, or introduce a shot clock into NFHS basketball.

Some states use a shot clock with the visible 10-second count (MD boys), while others have modified their backcourt count rule to incorporate a non-visible count that starts per existing college rules (DC boys). In either approach, the states using a shot clock recognize that team control exists from the throw-in. The only question is whether player control is required (or not) to start the 10-second count off the throw-in. However, we (the NFHS rules-making and enforcing community) can decide this once a shot clock is adopted for high school basketball, whether nationally or by one's local state association.

justacoach Fri Oct 25, 2019 11:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1035020)
I wave the white flag here and concede that there is nothing in the rule book to support my argument. This is a wild scenario that I was wrong about, the 10 second discussion conflicts with the college rule (count starts once ball is legally touched) and it blows my mind how flawed the HS rule seems to be. My apologies for being abrasive about it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Congrats on fessin up, even if it is 5 or 6 responses too late...

Camron Rust Sat Oct 26, 2019 01:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1035051)
There are only 2 logically consistent ways to resolve this conundrum of having team control exist (and simultaneously not exist) at different times for different purposes: either eliminate throw-ins from the discussion of team control altogether, or introduce a shot clock into NFHS basketball.

Some states use a shot clock with the visible 10-second count (MD boys), while others have modified their backcourt count rule to incorporate a non-visible count that starts per existing college rules (DC boys). In either approach, the states using a shot clock recognize that team control exists from the throw-in. The only question is whether player control is required (or not) to start the 10-second count off the throw-in. However, we (the NFHS rules-making and enforcing community) can decide this once a shot clock is adopted for high school basketball, whether nationally or by one's local state association.

Overkill. The shot clock has absolutely nothing to do with this. There are many ways to fix that, all of which don't take the equivalent of using dynamite to kill a mosquito.

BigCat Sat Oct 26, 2019 10:20am

I think 4-12-2d should be removed. Then a 4-12-7 created to say” for foul purposes only, there shall be team control when ball at disposal of team for throwin until player control obtained inbounds.

Something like that to make it read better than it does now....

Camron Rust Sat Oct 26, 2019 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 1035054)
I think 4-12-2d should be removed. Then a 4-12-7 created to say” for foul purposes only, there shall be team control when ball at disposal of team for throwin until player control obtained inbounds.

Something like that to make it read better than it does now....

You could leave team control out of it entirely....no need to say there is team control at all.

Just like the "player control foul" says it applies to airborne shooters even though there is no "player control", you could simply say "team control fouls" apply to throwins even though there is no "team control".

They could even create a new type of foul that would apply to "offensive" players when there is no team control. It would apply to airborne shooters and throwing team players on throwins until team control is secured.

BillyMac Sat Oct 26, 2019 01:42pm

Bigfoot ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1035055)
... create a new type of foul that would apply to "offensive" players when there is no team control. It would apply to airborne shooters and throwing team players on throwins until team control is secured.

The mythical, infamous "offensive foul".

Often talked about by television commentators but never actually observed, kind of like Bigfoot, but even more elusive.

https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.-...=0&w=325&h=163

Nevadaref Sat Oct 26, 2019 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1035055)
You could leave team control out of it entirely....no need to say there is team control at all.

Just like the "player control foul" says it applies to airborne shooters even though there is no "player control", you could simply say "team control fouls" apply to throwins even though there is no "team control".

They could even create a new type of foul that would apply to "offensive" players when there is no team control. It would apply to airborne shooters and throwing team players on throwins until team control is secured.

Yes, create a throw-in foul category and revert to the old NFHS team control rule.

ODog Sat Oct 26, 2019 10:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwodar (Post 1035005)
This also doesn’t make sense. other than a field goal or free throw attempt There is NEVER a live ball situation where team control does not exist ...

The jump ball before a player gains control.

Apologies if anyone addressed this aspect of his claims already, but I didn't see it in the thread.

ilyazhito Sat Oct 26, 2019 11:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1035053)
Overkill. The shot clock has absolutely nothing to do with this. There are many ways to fix that, all of which don't take the equivalent of using dynamite to kill a mosquito.

With the shot clock, team control begins once a team has possession of the ball (or is entitled to possession by having the ball at its disposal). Since a team has control of the ball either inbounds or at its disposal, there is no reason to artificially create 2 different types of team control as NFHS rules mistakenly did. Because a team would already have control.once it has (or is entitled to) possession, and the shot clock is reset to its full value, having a shot clock would ease administration of the backcourt count rule, since team control.would not change unless player control.changes on the court or a shot is released, keeping in line with the normal interpretation of player control.

If the shot clock does not emerge, I would support creating a throw-in foul category as an exception to the bonus rules, so that there are not 2 different types of team control.

Camron Rust Sun Oct 27, 2019 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1035059)
With the shot clock, team control begins once a team has possession of the ball (or is entitled to possession by having the ball at its disposal). Since a team has control of the ball either inbounds or at its disposal, there is no reason to artificially create 2 different types of team control as NFHS rules mistakenly did. Because a team would already have control.once it has (or is entitled to) possession, and the shot clock is reset to its full value, having a shot clock would ease administration of the backcourt count rule, since team control.would not change unless player control.changes on the court or a shot is released, keeping in line with the normal interpretation of player control.

If the shot clock does not emerge, I would support creating a throw-in foul category as an exception to the bonus rules, so that there are not 2 different types of team control.

Shot clock still has NOTHING to do with all of those things. You could have all of those things simply by stating team control exists for all purposes when the throwin begins. They don't want that. Adding a shot clock to make those things happen is entirely unnecessary. They could make those things happen without a shot clock...and probably more easily than adding a shot clock.

You're making it a lot more complicated than it needs to be....the only wanted a way to have no FTs for fouls that occur during throw-in activity.

billyu2 Sun Oct 27, 2019 09:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1035055)
You could leave team control out of it entirely....no need to say there is team control at all.

Just like the "player control foul" says it applies to airborne shooters even though there is no "player control", you could simply say "team control fouls" apply to throwins even though there is no "team control".

They could even create a new type of foul that would apply to "offensive" players when there is no team control. It would apply to airborne shooters and throwing team players on throwins until team control is secured.

Not sure this would be a good rule. If I understand the idea correctly, this would enable the team that is behind to commit offensive fouls immediately after the release of each of their shot attempts causing the clock to stop while the try is still airborne, the attempt still counts if it goes, the opposing team would get no free throws just like the player control foul even though there is no player control. Plus the opponents would likely have an end line throw in allowing the team that is behind to set up their press.

ilyazhito Sun Oct 27, 2019 10:24pm

Either adopt a throw-in foul as a special category, so that the opponents of the team throwing the ball in do not shoot free throws, or have team control be consistent across all purposes (fouls AND violations). The artificial separation of team control on throw-ins for the purpose of fouls, but not for other purposes, has created controversy and confusion among officials where before there was none.

JRutledge Mon Oct 28, 2019 12:49am

This is not even that complicated. The rule is poorly written for the technical crowd, but it is clear what the rule is there to do. It has nothing to do with violations anyway.

Peace

Camron Rust Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 1035064)
Not sure this would be a good rule. If I understand the idea correctly, this would enable the team that is behind to commit offensive fouls immediately after the release of each of their shot attempts causing the clock to stop while the try is still airborne, the attempt still counts if it goes, the opposing team would get no free throws just like the player control foul even though there is no player control. Plus the opponents would likely have an end line throw in allowing the team that is behind to set up their press.

I agree. I was not intending to comment on tries being in the air. Team control would still end on the release of a try. I only intended to talk about the way to cover the game from when the throwin is over (ball touched) until team control is secured.

Camron Rust Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1035066)
This is not even that complicated. The rule is poorly written for the technical crowd, but it is clear what the rule is there to do. It has nothing to do with violations anyway.

Peace

Yet, several times a year, it needs to be explained to someone. Thus, it is a problem and should be cleaned up.

JRutledge Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1035075)
Yet, several times a year, it needs to be explained to someone. Thus, it is a problem and should be cleaned up.

I do not disagree with it being cleaned up. But we also have people that try to turn the discussion into something it should not be or try to make more out of the confusion. The bottom line, the throw-in Team Control portion of the rule is only about a foul situation, not a violation restriction. Many rules like this have multiple elements to them, so this is not new. And people in those cases also have to have those things explained to them as well, that does not mean we need an entire rules change to make it more understood. This rule needs a wording correction most of all.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1