The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Wofford vs. Kentucky (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104483-wofford-vs-kentucky-video.html)

JRutledge Sat Mar 23, 2019 02:35pm

Wofford vs. Kentucky (Video)
 
Play #1:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/kwf1h_3vQGQ" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #2:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/EHaVVo-9Dk4" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

grunewar Sat Mar 23, 2019 02:39pm

Play #1, Isn't it something how slo-mo instant replay helps with calls...... Looks like a good block IMO. But, when you have to make the real-time call......tough.

Krr25 Sat Mar 23, 2019 04:47pm

Does anyone have video of a supposed double dribble on Wofford at the end of the first half?

grunewar Sat Mar 23, 2019 05:01pm

I'm sure someone can come up with a better video
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Krr25 (Post 1031491)
Does anyone have video of a supposed double dribble on Wofford at the end of the first half?

This is from a very, unbiased page.

https://www.nationofblue.com/this-wa...ouble-dribble/

Official probably thought it went off the defenders foot.

Calipari and many on the bench almost lost their collective minds.......

JRutledge Sat Mar 23, 2019 05:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Krr25 (Post 1031491)
Does anyone have video of a supposed double dribble on Wofford at the end of the first half?

I will. ;)

Peace

Nevadaref Sat Mar 23, 2019 07:38pm

Can we get the play which was whistled as a Wofford foul with about 17 seconds left in the game? There were also a few close-up replays which were excellent.

JRutledge Sat Mar 23, 2019 08:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1031499)
Can we get the play which was whistled as a Wofford foul with about 17 seconds left in the game? There were also a few close-up replays which were excellent.

I have this play already. I will post them later tonight or in the morning.

Peace

ilyazhito Sat Mar 23, 2019 08:36pm

Play 1 is goaltending, because the ball hit the backboard on the shot before the Wofford player hits the ball away.

Play 2 is an obvious player control foul. The Wofford player establishes legal guarding position with 2 feet on the floor facing his opponent outside the restricted area, and the Kentucky player runs through his torso.

AremRed Sat Mar 23, 2019 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1031499)
Can we get the play which was whistled as a Wofford foul with about 17 seconds left in the game? There were also a few close-up replays which were excellent.

Not a foul.

Nevadaref Sat Mar 23, 2019 09:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilyazhito (Post 1031502)
Play 1 is goaltending, because the ball hit the backboard on the shot before the Wofford player hits the ball away.

It's close, but the defender hits the ball BEFORE it contacts the board. He knocks it into the glass, then contacts it again.

bucky Sat Mar 23, 2019 09:43pm

Play 1 is a fantastic blocked shot. Not GT in any way.

Play 2 is PC.

JRutledge Sun Mar 24, 2019 10:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1031499)
Can we get the play which was whistled as a Wofford foul with about 17 seconds left in the game? There were also a few close-up replays which were excellent.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/qhBl3h0gKq8" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

bucky Sun Mar 24, 2019 11:13am

Not even close to a defensive foul.

JRutledge Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Krr25 (Post 1031491)
Does anyone have video of a supposed double dribble on Wofford at the end of the first half?

Play #4:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/HboWp-jgbGY" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Sco53 Mon Mar 25, 2019 08:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1031589)
Play #4:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/HboWp-jgbGY" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

nope, great no call

chapmaja Mon Mar 25, 2019 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sco53 (Post 1031595)
nope, great no call

Agreed

jakeas2 Mon Mar 25, 2019 06:02pm

Double Dribble
 
Why do we think this is not a double dribble? Not sure I can tell definitively that it was or wasn't touched by the defender. Am I missing something?

Raymond Mon Mar 25, 2019 07:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jakeas2 (Post 1031651)
Why do we think this is not a double dribble? Not sure I can tell definitively that it was or wasn't touched by the defender. Am I missing something?

Some of us see the ball hitting the defender's foot. You say you can't tell if it was touched or wasn't touched. So if the official wasn't sure if was touched or not touched by the defender, his best recourse is to call nothing.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

jakeas2 Mon Mar 25, 2019 08:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1031652)
Some of us see the ball hitting the defender's foot. You say you can't tell if it was touched or wasn't touched. So if the official wasn't sure if was touched or not touched by the defender, his best recourse is to call nothing.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Yea I understand that if you can't tell then it's no call. Just not sure why we are so definitive that this was a great no call if it's inconclusive one way or the other.

JRutledge Mon Mar 25, 2019 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jakeas2 (Post 1031655)
Yea I understand that if you can't tell then it's no call. Just not sure why we are so definitive that this was a great no call if it's inconclusive one way or the other.

I am so definitive because he touched the ball with his foot and the way the ball stopped, only the defender's foot was there. And I saw that live, but the replay made me question if it did touch the defender. Then when I blew up the image, it was obvious to me it only could have touched the defender's foot. That is why I blew up the image on the video to show it definitely hit something and did not appear at all to hit the dribbler in any way. I am going to assume the official knew as he clearly did not hesitate or seem to flinch when making the call.

Peace

Raymond Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1031658)
I am so definitive because he touched the ball with his foot and the way the ball stopped, only the defender's foot was there. And I saw that live, but the replay made me question if it did touch the defender. Then when I blew up the image, it was obvious to me it only could have touched the defender's foot. That is why I blew up the image on the video to show it definitely hit something and did not appear at all to hit the dribbler in any way. I am going to assume the official knew as he clearly did not hesitate or seem to flinch when making the call.



Peace

That replay pretty much ends the conversation.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

ChuckS Thu Mar 28, 2019 07:59am

Anybody calling him for a travel? After he picks up the ball and establishes his left foot as the pivot foot, he moves it twice.

Raymond Thu Mar 28, 2019 08:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckS (Post 1031703)
Anybody calling him for a travel? After he picks up the ball and establishes his left foot as the pivot foot, he moves it twice.

I see that travel get overlooked at all levels of basketball.

JRutledge Thu Mar 28, 2019 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckS (Post 1031703)
Anybody calling him for a travel? After he picks up the ball and establishes his left foot as the pivot foot, he moves it twice.

Yeah, just like I am calling a foul on the defender. After all, he touches him. No!!!

Peace

Jimmie24 Thu Mar 28, 2019 10:41am

Initially I thought it was a missed call too. After seeing the blown up replay I believe it was definitive that it hit the defenders foot. Great no call. As for the slight shuffling of the pivot, I wondered about that as well, but we see that not called all the time at all levels.

What hurts the most, is I have had plays like this where it was in my PCA and I elected to pass on a call and my partner comes from nowhere to make a call. Makes for an interesting discussion in the locker room.

bucky Thu Mar 28, 2019 01:19pm

Do not need the blowup portion. The ball "deadens" when it hits the foot of the defender.

Yes, could have went with a travel....just as one could have called a travel when #3 initially got the ball in the clip. But...as has been noted, both are too marginal, at least in this sequence.

Camron Rust Sun Mar 31, 2019 02:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1031504)
It's close, but the defender hits the ball BEFORE it contacts the board. He knocks it into the glass, then contacts it again.

So, that brings up the question...if a defender tips the ball before it hits the glass but the ball is still mostly going up and towards the basket, wouldn't the ball touching the glass then make it illegal to touch it after that? The shot hasn't necessarily ended.

AremRed Sun Mar 31, 2019 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1031850)
So, that brings up the question...if a defender tips the ball before it hits the glass but the ball is still mostly going up and towards the basket, wouldn't the ball touching the glass then make it illegal to touch it after that? The shot hasn't necessarily ended.

It's prolly more defendable by rule to say goaltending can still apply after a blocked shot, but the way it's expected to be called at the college level is once a defender blocks or tips the shot attempt and the ball still hits the backboard, it is fair game. Even if another defender comes in and blocks it off the glass, no goaltending. Is that the same expectation in your area Raymond?

Camron Rust Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1031857)
It's prolly more defendable by rule to say goaltending can still apply after a blocked shot, but the way it's expected to be called at the college level is once a defender blocks or tips the shot attempt and the ball still hits the backboard, it is fair game. Even if another defender comes in and blocks it off the glass, no goaltending. Is that the same expectation in your area Raymond?

I've never considered it to be GT on such a play, but this play and how the TV broadcast reviewed it got me thinking....nothing in the rule says the backboard element goes a way if the defender gets is first. It makes sense when the block goes off the board and back to the blocker's hands. It would be silly to then call that GT. But when a defender tips the ball at the release and the ball clearly continues and has a chance to go it, it would not seem right to allow another independent touch after it hits the glass.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1