The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   RA Play (Video) Oklahoma vs. Kansas (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104255-ra-play-video-oklahoma-vs-kansas.html)

JRutledge Thu Jan 03, 2019 01:56pm

RA Play (Video) Oklahoma vs. Kansas
 
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/wuoY-V4E0iU" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

bucky Thu Jan 03, 2019 02:08pm

Very tough to see. Left heel on the line and Luckey appears to be straightlined on that foot. C could have helped but apparently agreed with Luckey or did not see the heel.

sdoebler Thu Jan 03, 2019 03:56pm

Tough play, can't fault the official either way imo.

Raymond Thu Jan 03, 2019 04:42pm

Secondary defenders near the RA are supposed to be officiated from the feet up. If you start at the feet, it is obvious he is on then above the RA.

#olderthanilook Thu Jan 03, 2019 05:06pm

Answering the original question in the OP - yes, it appears the defender's left heel was on the RA line.

Even if it wasn't, the video seems to reveal A1's head and shoulders were past B1's torso which per NFHS rule means the foul here would be a block on B1. Also, the contact on B1 was to the outside of his shoulder - not the torso.

Camron Rust Thu Jan 03, 2019 06:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 1028093)

Even if it wasn't, the video seems to reveal A1's head and shoulders were past B1's torso which per NFHS rule means the foul here would be a block on B1.

No, that isn't what that means. A1 getting head and shoulders past B1 only means that B1 can no longer be moving laterally (assuming B1 could otherwise be moving laterally up to that point).
Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 1028093)
Also, the contact on B1 was to the outside of his shoulder - not the torso.

Also not relevant. Stationary B1's position doesn't become illegal just because A1 is able to divert enough to only get B1's shoulder. If stationary B1 had legal position, B1 can't lose it unless B1 himself does something to lose it.

crosscountry55 Thu Jan 03, 2019 06:25pm

Maybe the defender was preparing to absorb imminent impact, but I don’t think so. Certainly looked like he rotated his shoulder/torso counterclockwise and sought contact at the last instant. So I have a straight up block.

L seemed to end up straightlined. I think he may have had to guess here. Bill Self had a beef.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JRutledge Thu Jan 03, 2019 08:00pm

Without the RA, I have a straight charge. With the RA, it appears he is over the RA which he cannot be in or over to take a charge. I get his call, but the C or T should have come into help if they saw it. They must have not seen it, so the call stood.

Again hard to do after all those years of looking at the torso and not the feet so closely.

Peace

#olderthanilook Fri Jan 04, 2019 09:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1028098)
No, that isn't what that means. A1 getting head and shoulders past B1 only means that B1 can no longer be moving laterally (assuming B1 could otherwise be moving laterally up to that point).

Are you discussing this from NFHS or collegiate rules standpoint? Or both?

Camron Rust Fri Jan 04, 2019 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 1028128)
Are you discussing this from NFHS or collegiate rules standpoint? Or both?

Both.

Getting head and shoulders by a defender means the defender no longer has LGP. However, not having LGP only means the defender loses the right to be moving at the time of contact. It doesn't make the position illegal if they are stationary.

If the defender is still moving (laterally), that means the defender is moving INTO the offensive player and will be responsible for the foul. However, if the defender has stopped moving, the defender still has a legal position even if it is no longer LGP and should not be called for a foul when another player runs into him/her. If is up to the offensive player to get around the now stationary defender.

As for the shoulder contact....

When a defender is in the path and has obtained LGP such that it would be a charge if the shooter were to continue, it doesn't negate the defender's legal position just because the shooter changes direction, even if the shooter moves enough to only clip the shoulder. That just means the shooter didn't successfully avoid the contact with a legal defender. Don't penalize a defender who gets proper LGP and is only contacted in the shoulder and not the chest because the shooter changes direction.

Defenders have to DO something wrong to get a foul.

thedewed Sat Jan 05, 2019 06:50am

and the defender goes down VERY lightly. I've got a play on. Encourage players to play straight up without Oscar nominations and they get the message the rest of the game. Give them the call if you believe they couldn't have stayed up if they tried because of the contact.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1