The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   My individual plays - (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104248-my-individual-plays-video.html)

JRutledge Mon Dec 31, 2018 02:18pm

My individual plays - (Video)
 
Play #1
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/xkWplHHBpHo" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #2

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/rh8KMhdcfxk" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

bucky Mon Dec 31, 2018 03:29pm

Vid 1) Secondary defender. C or T can help.

Vid 2) This is basically a 50/50 call. Half would call it and the other half would not. For me, I would not as the dribbler made no attacking move and did not lose anything from the contact. Had he lost the ball or something funky then I would call it. Dribbler created all the contact and defender certainly did not mean to bump him. My 2 cents.

deecee Mon Dec 31, 2018 04:28pm

1) PC. There was no primary as the defender in the block charge was the first to engage the offensive player as soon as he had the ball, therefore he's the primary.
2) I personally wouldn't have a whistle as there was no advantage and the defender didn't push. The offensive player initiated the contact and defender did his best to avoid it, along with no impact on the play.

sdoebler Mon Dec 31, 2018 04:30pm

Video 1: Secondary defender, T could help but I see help more likely coming from the C.

Video 2: I do not have a foul but the ball handler puts the referee in a difficult decision making situation. I don't have the ncaa rule reference but I believe there is similar wording that the offensive player is responsible for the contact, time and distance play a factor:

NFHS 2016-17 casebook pg 90, 10.7.7 comment:

Screening principles apply to the dribbler who attempts to cut off an opponent who is approaching in a different path from the rear. In this case the dribbler must allow such opponent a maximum of two steps or an opportunity to stop or avoid contact

Camron Rust Mon Dec 31, 2018 04:36pm

1. Yes, secondary defender. Not likely the T would be able to see the heel on the RA (wrong angle), but the C should be able to see it and help.

2. I would not call a foul on the defender. The dribbler tried to cut off the defender more in a screening action (yes a dribbler can also be a screener) than anything else. It "could" be called as an illegal screen (no time/distance). I'm passing on this contact. If the dribbler had been going in a straight line and/or not looked back to see the defender coming and then it happened, I might call a defensive foul, but even so, the contact was marginal. Given that the dribble chose to cause that contact, I'm going to rule that it didn't hinder the dribbler from making normal offensive movements....he did that to himself.

deecee Mon Dec 31, 2018 04:45pm

Section 35. Secondary Defender
Art. 1. A secondary defender is a teammate who has helped a primary defender
after that player has been beaten by an opponent because he failed to establish
or maintain a guarding position. A defensive player is beaten when the offensive
player’s head and shoulders get past the defender.

I would argue that the defender was not secondary as the ball handler drew 2 defenders with him leaving no one as a "primary" on the player that received the ball.

Camron Rust Mon Dec 31, 2018 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 1027959)
I would argue that the defender was not secondary as the ball handler drew 2 defenders with him leaving no one as a "primary" on the player that received the ball.

The primary defender was beat because of the screen catching the defenders as it was designed to do. The two defenders didn't choose to double there. This defender was not defending this play initially and moved over to help. I don't think there is much argument for him being a primary defender.

That said, I think this would be a horrible place for the RA to make the call a block...the offense was still on the floor. It was designed to prevent defenders from sliding under players committed to jumping for a shot at the rim...this wasn't one of those plays.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:10pm

1. Secondary defender.

2. Foul on the defense.

A Pennsylvania Coach Mon Dec 31, 2018 11:13pm

I don't know NCAA well but does LDB apply in play 1?

I'm no-calling play 2 all day long.

JRutledge Tue Jan 01, 2019 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach (Post 1027977)
I don't know NCAA well but does LDB apply in play 1?

No such thing in Men's basketball. The RA stands alone with players in the area cannot be a secondary defender, grounded.

Peace

JRutledge Tue Jan 01, 2019 01:29pm

Play #3:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/gYFiconh5-c" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #4:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/EtuIkCbnvqo" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Camron Rust Tue Jan 01, 2019 03:32pm

#3 & 4...both good calls. The hand-check clearly displaced the dribbler. While I've seen some pass on that, it does have an impact. The post-armbar was more than just an armbar to maintain position. The defender was anchoring himself down and leaning into the post player with the arm. That is too much.

johnny d Tue Jan 01, 2019 03:48pm

Play 4 was not a foul. Defender did not extend the armbar, nor did he dislodge the offensive player. Therefore, not a foul under those criteria. I would argue that the offensive player was within the post area, defined as the three-second lane and approximately three feet outside the lane, and thus not a foul on that criteria either.


Play 3 correct call. Although not a big fan of having whistles on plays going away from calling official. C should have moved to get a better look instead of leaning to see the play. Would have been a better whistle coming from C.

JRutledge Tue Jan 01, 2019 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 1027991)
Play 4 was not a foul. Defender did not extend the armbar, nor did he dislodge the offensive player. Therefore, not a foul under those criteria. I would argue that the offensive player was within the post area, defined as the three-second lane and approximately three feet outside the lane, and thus not a foul on that criteria either.

I get all of that, but he clearly was outside the post area if you see . He was about 2 or 3 feet outside of the post area tick (located on the end line) and I even tried to talk him out of his hands being on the ball handler. We were told to call this pretty strictly and I even gave the player a chance but he never listened (I usually say "hands, space" or something like that) if they are technically illegal.

Rarely do I ever have these situations. Usually they are clearly in the area and they are legal. That is why I pointed to there area and even said at the foul, "Way outside of the post area" to sell the reason why I called the foul. Otherwise this is not a foul in the post area. But it is anywhere else on the floor.

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 1027991)
Play 3 correct call. Although not a big fan of having whistles on plays going away from calling official. C should have moved to get a better look instead of leaning to see the play. Would have been a better whistle coming from C.

I just stayed with the play here. I do not think the issue was what the C was doing. I am not a fan of calling things going away from me anymore, but in this case the player entirely started with me and was easy to see. But I would prefer to stay away from most of these kinds of plays and have done a much better job this year.

Peace

JRutledge Tue Jan 01, 2019 05:34pm

Plays 5, 6, 7 (cont.)
 
Play #5
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/vWXTnyYC_D0" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #6
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/dHYtSM-cPE4" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #7
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/t9HvKXriqy0" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

bucky Wed Jan 02, 2019 01:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1027993)
I get all of that, but he clearly was outside the post area if you see . He was about 2 or 3 feet outside of the post area tick (located on the end line) and I even tried to talk him out of his hands being on the ball handler. We were told to call this pretty strictly and I even gave the player a chance but he never listened (I usually say "hands, space" or something like that) if they are technically illegal.

Peace

Vid 3 - Foul all day

Vid 4 - I would have liked to see you wait a millisecond longer as the player with ball elected not to attack and passed to an open player in an attacking position (shot or drive). But..... after reading that you were verbal about the contact, no problem with calling the foul. If they do not listen, then it is on them. Coaches won;t have a problem with that explanation. Although, Ric from GVSU can have problems with just about anything, lol. Love that guy!

Vid 5 - Good foul call. Good to see partner watching screener.

Vid 6 - I'm not worried about lateness of whistle but if calling ref was closed down more, it would have been less of an issue I think.

Vid 7 - Partner all over it right away showing excellent clock awareness.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 02, 2019 03:17am

Play 5...good call....this should be called all the time but it is often missed by officials that ball watch.

Play 6....good call. Play coming down the lane. Defender moving across from the lead's side jumping into the shooter. The only think I don't like is the little hop at the table. I know we sometimes simulate what the foul was but it looked a little goofy.

Play 7...not much to talk about. Good catch...and precise too.

Raymond Wed Jan 02, 2019 09:31am

Play #3 is a foul all day long and HS officials do a poor job of cleaning this type of play up.

Remington Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:29am

Good plays and I'm not going to re-hash what has been stated correctly. The only minor thing I would point out is on play #5, the calling official doesn't post his foul. This scares the hell out of me because when you just bang out a block call it means 2 things IMO: (1) You were off guard when you picked up the foul or (2) You are a prime candidate for BLARGE's because your mechanics are poor in that aspect. I would share that with him if I was a partner of his. Great clips and thanks for sharing!

JRutledge Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1028014)
Play 6....good call. Play coming down the lane. Defender moving across from the lead's side jumping into the shooter. The only think I don't like is the little hop at the table. I know we sometimes simulate what the foul was but it looked a little goofy.

Actually, the signal at the table is the mechanic you describe from an "A to B Foul." This is a college game, not a high school game. This signal is new in the CCA Manual this year. Last year they created a signal to allow the lead to describe a "wall up" legal action. This year they put in a foul signal to suggest when they do not legally "wall up."

Honestly, I wish high school would add some of these signals because they are more descriptive as to what actually happened. Calling a push does not quite do the trick IMO.

Peace

JRutledge Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Remington (Post 1028017)
Good plays and I'm not going to re-hash what has been stated correctly. The only minor thing I would point out is on play #5, the calling official doesn't post his foul. This scares the hell out of me because when you just bang out a block call it means 2 things IMO: (1) You were off guard when you picked up the foul or (2) You are a prime candidate for BLARGE's because your mechanics are poor in that aspect. I would share that with him if I was a partner of his. Great clips and thanks for sharing!

I will put it this way. I would agree if this was a block-charge situation but it is an illegal screen being called. Different sell and different mechanic pace IMO and not the worst thing to worry about. Play in the lane or a foul with the ball handler, then yes I agree totally.

That also being said, I would not be saying much to them personally about their mechanics. Two D1 officials on this game and it was my first game in this particular conference. Just being honest here. I would let our supervisor or JD Collins make comments about those things on their own. I was happier it was picked up by someone else other than me. ;)

Peace

sdoebler Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:30am

Play 7:
I don't have a shot clock so not perfectly familiar but should the shot clock be reset to 21?. Shot at 22 seconds, air ball, reset to 30 ticks down to 29.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 02, 2019 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1028018)
Actually, the signal at the table is the mechanic you describe from an "A to B Foul." This is a college game, not a high school game. This signal is new in the CCA Manual this year. Last year they created a signal to allow the lead to describe a "wall up" legal action. This year they put in a foul signal to suggest when they do not legally "wall up."

Honestly, I wish high school would add some of these signals because they are more descriptive as to what actually happened. Calling a push does not quite do the trick IMO.

Peace

Fair point....it still looks goofy. Perhaps they could have found/defined a better signal.

Raymond Wed Jan 02, 2019 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sdoebler (Post 1028021)
Play 7:
I don't have a shot clock so not perfectly familiar but should the shot clock be reset to 21?. Shot at 22 seconds, air ball, reset to 30 ticks down to 29.

Yes, that would be the correct ruling.

crosscountry55 Wed Jan 02, 2019 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1028018)
Honestly, I wish high school would add some of these signals because they are more descriptive as to what actually happened. Calling a push does not quite do the trick IMO.

Peace

Amen! That said, I have no issue giving the NFHS "book" signal first, followed by an amplification signal (hit to the head, chuck, grabbed the shoulder, A to B, etc.) when the NFHS signal clearly doesn't tell the story. Coaches seem to appreciate it, and most evaluators don't care either. There are a few purists out there, but they seem to be more and more in the minority on this A) the longer the NFHS refuses to move the needle and B) considering how many college officials these days are evaluators and/or fellow HS officials.

As with all local issues of this sort, your mileage may vary. I suppose there are some places where stuff like this will still kill your postseason hopes. If so, shame on those places, but c'est la vie.

crosscountry55 Wed Jan 02, 2019 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sdoebler (Post 1028021)
Play 7:
I don't have a shot clock so not perfectly familiar but should the shot clock be reset to 21?. Shot at 22 seconds, air ball, reset to 30 ticks down to 29.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1028024)
Yes, that would be the correct ruling.

Good catch, sdoebler!

Was there a monitor? If so, probably should have figured this out. If not, I could see how this would be easier to recall on the basis of when the T noticed the reset, which was at 22. Either way, a good get.

Do you blow it dead even if the ball doesn't end up OOB and the offense recovers? Or do you just make a mental note and do the math? Or does it depend on whether an imminent scoring play is in progress?

JRutledge Wed Jan 02, 2019 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1028022)
Fair point....it still looks goofy. Perhaps they could have found/defined a better signal.

Well, it can look that way, but describes the actual action better IMO. Just like many college mechanics actually describe the action, unlike the NF mechanics that are bland and we have to give the same signals all the time for things that never describe what actually happened.

Peace

JRutledge Wed Jan 02, 2019 08:27pm

Last Video added in this thread (Video)
 
Play #8
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/s4P5FSE_nCA" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

bucky Wed Jan 02, 2019 09:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1028032)
Play #8
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Gg0Uq0wIoU4" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

I am guessing that you meant Center or Lead. ??

Center takes it as ball came from his PCA and even ended on his half of the paint. I would not expect L to even blow his whistle in this case and if he did, I would expect him to drop his arm immediately after realizing that C had a whistle. This is Center all day.

JRutledge Wed Jan 02, 2019 09:28pm

I did mean the Lead and Center (And I fixed it in the updated video).

BTW, so the play happening on the lane would not be the trail's call? I am asking because this is often discussed as to who takes this. Our evaluator even commented about this play and had an opinion. I will share that later if need be.

Peace

jakeas2 Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:18pm

Wouldn't this be the leads call because it was a secondary defender coming from the paint to challenge that play? Also, I believe NCAA all plays in the lane are the primary of the L, contrary to NFHS where the lane is split.

bucky Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1028034)
I did mean the Lead and Center (And I fixed it in the updated video).

BTW, so the play happening on the lane would not be the trail's call? I am asking because this is often discussed as to who takes this. Our evaluator even commented about this play and had an opinion. I will share that later if need be.

Peace

I am confused. You corrected the wording to be "Lead or Center" but yet are asking about the Trail. ?? This is nowhere near the Trail.

Anyway, IMO, I still believe it to be C's call. Perhaps it isn't the exact prescribed mechanic but the entire play originates in C's area and the drive is from C's area. I might buy the L whistle more if he was closed down but he is looking through too much traffic IMO.

AremRed Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:28pm

Play 1: Secondary defender, any official can and should bring info. Grounded secondary.

Play 2: Play on, dribbler puts himself in path of defender who is running down, contact is marginal IMO.

Play 3: Would prefer play on given the pass goes to wide open 3 point shooter. This is where a rulebook foul isn't wrong but there is a better option for the game.

Play 4: If called has to come much sooner. Marginal IMO, offensive player is super close to LDB. Also where the hell is Slot going??

Play 5: Obvious illegal screen, not a fan of the blocking foul signal first. Use that at the table. Not sure what the question/learning point is here, it's an obvious foul.

Play 6: Yes whistle is too late. Either hit earlier and chance giving an and-1 or lay off entirely.

Play 7: Clock should be at 21 or 20 but not a huge miss.

Play 8: Lead. Lead should be more aggressive here and start going to take it.

Camron Rust Thu Jan 03, 2019 03:20am

Play 8....leads call.

It was clearly a secondary defender (really tertiary). The C would have been on the initial defender and probably would have also occupied by the first help defender (thirty something) taking a swipe at the ball from the top side.

The lead had nothing else to take.

Yes, it was slightly across the centerline of the lane, but I don't like to put too much emphasis on that but more on where they balance of players are coming from and going.

crosscountry55 Thu Jan 03, 2019 08:23am

Play 8: Preface: I have an opinion, but I don't think this is one to split hairs over, particularly in light of how it was handled.

I think this is L's, because C had a primary defender during the drive that the ball handler beat, leaving him little time to orient to what came next, i.e. the secondary defenders on L's side. That said, C did have an awesome look at the block, and the blocker was coming toward him which made the contact easier to discern.

To me, what's more educational about this play is how it was handled after the call. This was a perfectly ok double whistle. Both officials were awesomely patient with this, and then there was great posting, eye contact, and awareness. If L wants first crack, he's probably going to take it, and when he doesn't, that's a cue to the C that, "I'm not 100% and I was a little late and it came from your primary, so go ahead and take it." And he did. If I were the evaluator I'd be fine with this.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 03, 2019 08:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1028026)
Do you blow it dead even if the ball doesn't end up OOB and the offense recovers? Or do you just make a mental note and do the math? Or does it depend on whether an imminent scoring play is in progress?

I didn't watch the video, but -- blow it dead as soon as one team gets the ball *unless* it's an immediate shot or drive to the basket AND that will happen before the clock expires.

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1028046)

I think this is L's, because C had a primary defender during the drive that the ball handler beat, leaving him little time to orient to what came next, i.e. the secondary defenders on L's side. That said, C did have an awesome look at the block, and the blocker was coming toward him which made the contact easier to discern.

Give it to whoever just had a similar call at the other end, so the coaches can see you are being consistent. OR, give ti to whoever did NOT just have another call on the same team so the coach doesn't think you are "picking on" that team. OR, give it to whoever is closest to the table, so the game can be resumed more quickly.

Raymond Thu Jan 03, 2019 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1028032)
Play #8
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/s4P5FSE_nCA" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

NCAA Men's mechanics: Secondary defender in the paint, that's Lead's primary. A1 beat B1, then was contested by B2.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1