![]() |
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Quote:
I am not disagreeing with you if it is obvious, but it is not at all obvious. Meaning I have to look at the video very closely and even slow it down to know if that is what actually took place. A Flagrant Foul is a definite in this situation. But if you make it a T because you say it is a dead ball is not so much. Because as stated before, the coach might try everything to undermine your call. Peace |
Get your point Jrut, not arguing.
I do not think any of the 3 officials could tell you if the ball was dead or not at the time of the foul. L turns and watches the paint so he can't see when the foul occurs. C is likely watching rebounders and their action and he too would not know when the foul occurred. The T called the foul and knows when it happened. He also acknowledged the made 3 so he knows when that happened but he does not know which took place first. This would be a case where general basketball play would help. Generally speaking, 3-point shooters are fouled before the ball passes through the net. When was the last time you saw this not happen? So, given this and no monitor, it would be a safe and practical ruling to say the ball was live at the time of the foul. As others have said, the focus will be on the injured player, the offender, calming the coaches/benches, etc. not splitting hairs on whether the ball was completely through the net or not. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
This is either a flagrant 2 personal or technical, and it's two shots and possession regardless of whichever is ruled. What I am surprised by is that the offended player shot the FTs; I thought trainers had come out on the floor to check on him, which would have mandated a sub unless a TO was granted. It's highly unlikely, in this instance, that any coach is going to throw a fit because the ball was thrown in at the 28-foot line rather than the division line, or vice-versa. Especially at the D3 level where the majority of coaches have less-than-stellar rules knowledge. Heck there are plenty of officials that can't even tell you the difference between F2 personal and technical fouls; you mean to tell me the average coach would be able to? |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Either it's a live ball foul or a dead ball foul. You're either right or wrong. But you seem to be saying it's worse to call this a dead ball foul and be wrong than vice versa. That makes no sense at all. Rignt is right, wrong is wrong, and without a monitor nobody has the exact timing on this. It's a best guess from this crew, one which appears to be correct. Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro |
JRut, you are making a mountain out of a molehill. No one disputed that getting the adjudication right should be a priority.
My point has been, and still is, that this ball is close enough to being dead (it's in the freaking net when the hit occurs, not sure why you can't grasp that) that no supervisor worth his salt is going to harp on whether this is ruled a personal or technical foul. They are going to focus on the important issue: that the offender was ejected from the game. There are assigners that probably don't even know what the technically correct administration is on this play. Yes, the ball is live. Yes, the correct ruling is an F2 personal foul. And it looks like they administered it as such. No one is disputing that you (and I) are correct in our ruling. We are only saying that it is close enough that, as long as the offender is ejected and the offended team gets 2 shots and the ball, it is petty to focus on whether the throw-in was technically at the right spot or not. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Time to give up. He's not going to hear either one of us. No reason to be surprised, either. Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro |
Quote:
Peace |
The last word is a precious commodity to some...
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Quote:
Is it somehow better to be wrong calling it a live ball F2 if it's really a dead ball (and therefore should've been a flagrant technical) than if you get it wrong in the other direction (call it a dead ball flagrant TF when it should've been a live ball F2)? Oh, well. Sucked into the vortex, like always. |
If the shot was already successful when the flagrant foul happened, then it would be a flagrant 2 technical foul, the ball would be put in play at the division line after 2 free throws by ANY player.
If the shot was not yet successful at the time of the flagrant foul, then it would be a flagrant 2 personal foul, the ball would be put in play at the nearest designated spot (the nearest spot to the corner is the 28' mark on that side) following 2 free throws by THE VICTIM of the flagrant foul. In either case, the offender would be ejected from the game, but it is important to be clear on what type of foul happened, because it affects further administration of the game. If I was on the crew, I would send the players to the benches, talk to the T before he reports the foul (unless I am the T, in which case I would call the other officials together and tell them that I have a flagrant 2 foul on White 23, and that he will be ejected from the game. I would ask L and C if the foul was before or after the ball entered the basket, and finally contribute my input. Then, we would decide how to adjudicate the play), and then decide whether the ball entered the basket before or after the foul as a crew. Then, we would adjudicate the play appropriately. I would call this a flagrant 2 technical foul, because the official had time to signal the successful shot before he called the foul (i.e. the ball had entered the basket before the foul was committed). |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15am. |