![]() |
Goaltend After Defensive Tip?
NCAA Rules:
A1’s floater is tipped by B2. The defensive player doesn’t get enough of the ball to prevent it from reaching the right side of the backboard. The ball hits the backboard and moves away from the basket. It’s swatted by B3 off the glass. Goaltend or not? Thanks! |
I'd say no if it is moving away from the basket. The try is over once it is certain it can't go in and going away from the basket means it is certain it can't go in. You can't have GT unless it is during a try and it is no longer a try. At that point, it would just be tapping a rebound.
|
Agreed. B2's "tip" doesn't change anything -- the regular GT rules apply. If the touch by B3 meets the GT requirements (at any level) it's GT; if not, it's not.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25pm. |