![]() |
Quote:
Peace |
Jumping the Gun
A "work-in-progress", an initial attempt at a resource to use for teaching and sharing this thing.
Posted here to soliticit proposed corrections and improvements and changes and enhancements and revisions and modifications and such. :) **Draft** PowerPoint: New 9-9-1 EXCEPTION Hope this thing doesn't go "180" on me when the Casebook and new Interpretations come out. :cool: (correct link updated) |
Quote:
Peace |
Freddy's Not Dead ...
Quote:
Has the NFHS, or for that matter, the Forum, ever paid so much attention to one simple annual interpretation? The history of this stupid interpretation is amazing, and it's fix, with some well intentioned clinicians, and other officials, anticipating that the new NFHS rule was going to be the same as the NCAA rule (shame on the NFHS for making the press release so generic), was just as bad as the stupid interpretation. Could the NFHS have done a worse job? I nominate Freddy for a seat at the table of next year's NFHS rules committee meeting. Any seconds? https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.D...=0&w=453&h=182 |
Hold On, I'm Comin' (Sam & Dave, 1966) ...
Quote:
Quote:
https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.7...=0&w=266&h=180 |
Quote:
ANd, now that I'm back and can look at the "camp video" in the presentation (I assume it's the same one as posted elsewhere in this (or a similar) thread) -- The official in the play appears to keep his 10-secpond BC count. The ball reached the FC, so when it was returned to the BC, a new count should have been started. |
I'm still a wee bit confused so please correct me. After looking at the powerpoint-
1. - A1 in his frontcourt makes pass, defense knocks it back like in the video. A2 in backcourt catches the ball in air or on a bounce. Violation? No in both cases 2. Same as 1 but this time, B1 knocks ball off A1's leg. Ball then goes into backcourt. Violation once A2 touches 3. A1 in frontcourt with ball, A2 also in frontcourt. A1 makes pass, B2 deflects ball to backcourt. Can A2 go get the ball? 4. Say a press like situation, A1 has ball, A2 is in the backcourt, then frontcourt, then back again. A1 makes the deflected pass off B1, I assume it is not a violation here and A2 can get ball. |
:rolleyes:
Quote:
|
So pretty much, we should be noting if the the ball hits A player last. b2 makes steal attempt, deflects ball. Main issue still remains if team A last to touch in frontcourt.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Red Rubber Ball (The Cyrkle, 1966) ...
Now that we've got the new backcourt exception completely straightened out, basically reversing that stupid interpretation, can we get back to discussing the other major NFHS rule change?
How deeply pebbled does the ball have to be? How granulated does the surface of the ball have to be? How tightly do the panels have to be bonded to the carcass of the ball? I want to be ready for my first scrimmage. I don't want to toss an illegal ball, one that's not deeply pebbled enough, or not granulated enough, or whose panels are not bonded tightly enough to the carcass, for my first jump ball. Let the debate begin. https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.A...=0&w=266&h=177 |
The whole point of making this a rule change is for someone to save face about reading the rule wrong and producing a nonsense interpretation. The new exception doesn't change the rule at all. It just explicitly negates a bad interpretation.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44pm. |