The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Dribble ... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103916-dribble.html)

BillyMac Mon Jul 09, 2018 05:49pm

Got My Back ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1022875)
Isn't that traveling and not an illegal dribble?

Thanks, fixed it.

44-3-C: The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.

BillyMac Mon Jul 09, 2018 05:52pm

The Great Debate ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1022889)
Technically, not true.

Example, or citation please (would prefer an example).

Not to be argumentative, but for the good of the cause.

BillyMac Mon Jul 09, 2018 05:55pm

Guesswork ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1022876)
... many just wait, as you said, until the next touch to confirm it ...

Not waiting, in many cases, but probably not all, is paramount to just plain old ordinary guessing, and we as officials, try to avoid guessing as much as we possibly can.

Not many of us carry a crystal ball in our pocket with an extra whistle, and an extra needle.

https://tse1.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.q...=0&w=300&h=300

BillyMac Mon Jul 09, 2018 06:02pm

Practical Application ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1022876)
Once it is started, it is a dribble and all of the relevant dribble restrictions apply. The ball does not, by rule, have to be touched again for it to be a dribble.

It doesn't feel right, but by rule you may be correct, but by practical application, most times we should wait to confirm that it's not the start of a bounce pass.

This rule could be better worded, much better worded.

bucky Mon Jul 09, 2018 07:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1022876)
Actually, you are too. Once it is started, it is a dribble and all of the relevant dribble restrictions apply. The ball does not, by rule, have to be touched again for it to be a dribble.. Howeover, many just wait, as you said, until the next touch to confirm it but that doesn't mean that is when it becomes a dribble.

No, I am not. You are referring to starting a dribble initially. I am not referring to that at all but rather starting a dribble once a dribble has ended. One might think they are or at least should be the same however the case book clearly distinguishes the two.

bucky Mon Jul 09, 2018 07:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1022892)
Example, or citation please (would prefer an example).

Yes and then the gurus complain about users not reading/finding it themselves. Sigh. Check 4.15.1 Sit C and 4.15.5 Sit C. They involve dribbles without the ball touching the floor. Hard to believe that throwing the ball against an official is considered a dribble.

Camron Rust Mon Jul 09, 2018 08:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1022897)
No, I am not. You are referring to starting a dribble initially. I am not referring to that at all but rather starting a dribble once a dribble has ended. One might think they are or at least should be the same however the case book clearly distinguishes the two.

If the initial dribble is started on the release, how is a subsequent (illegal) dribble not also started on the release?

Again, we may choose to wait for what happens next to make a call (or not), but that doesn't change the fact that the dribble actually began on the release.

BillyMac Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:08pm

Not A Guru, But Still, No Complaints From Me ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1022898)
Yes and then the gurus complain about users not reading/finding it themselves. Check 4.15.1 Sit C and 4.15.5 Sit C. They involve dribbles without the ball touching the floor.

4.15.1 SITUATION C: A1 attempts a pass to A2 during pressing action in A’s
backcourt. The ball hits B’s backboard and deflects directly back to A1 who catches
the ball and: (a) passes the ball to A2; or (b) starts a dribble. RULING: The pass
against B’s backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the
ball. In (a), the pass is legal action. In (b), it is a violation for a second dribble. (4-
4-5; 9-5)

4.15.4 SITUATION C: After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball:
(a) against the opponent’s backboard and catches the rebound; (b) against an
official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; or (c) against his/her
own backboard in an attempt to score (try), catches the rebound and dribbles
again. RULING: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against the
opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is
first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. In (c), the action is
legal. Once the ball is released on the try, there is no player or team control, therefore,
A1 can recover the rebound and begin a dribble.

BillyMac Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:24pm

The Holy Grail ...
 
https://tse1.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.E...=0&w=409&h=179

(Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, 1989)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1022852)
The dribble starts by deliberately pushing/throwing the ball to the floor. That is the control...the deliberate throw/push, not the next action. Nothing about the definition of a dribble requires anything else to happen.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1022899)
... but that doesn't change the fact that the dribble actually began on the release.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1022876)
Once it is started, it is a dribble and all of the relevant dribble restrictions apply. The ball does not, by rule, have to be touched again for it to be a dribble.

4.15.1 SITUATION C: A1 attempts a pass to A2 during pressing action in A’s backcourt. The ball hits B’s backboard and deflects directly back to A1 who catches the ball and starts a dribble. RULING: The pass against B’s backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the ball. It is a violation for a second dribble. (4-4-5; 9-5)

It's the holy grail, a citation that explicitly tells us that it only takes the start of a dribble to be a dribble.

The casebook play doesn't say anything about the ball hitting the floor, or being touched a second time. Nothing. It just says that A1 "starts a dribble".

I would still wait to be sure that this isn't a legal "bounce" pass, so a second touch would seal the deal for me, but by the book, the second touch isn't necessary.

Nice job Camron Rust. Way to stick to your guns. Nice debate. I learned something. Thanks for your persistence and your patience.

Play A: A1 ends his dribble, intentionally throws the ball in the air, runs several feet, and catches the ball that hasn't touched the floor.

Ruling: Violation for illegal (double) dribble.

Nevadaref Tue Jul 10, 2018 03:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1022892)
Example, or citation please (would prefer an example).

Not to be argumentative, but for the good of the cause.

Probably what he means is throwing the ball off the opponent's backboard or an official. Of course, the rules book states that both of those are treated the same as contacting the floor, so he is just being picky.

I've been striving to make the more important point that the ball must bounce before a moving player may touch it again because it isn't a legal dribble if it doesn't. (Note for someone being picky and not understanding the general premise of this thread: A stationary player may toss the ball into the air and catch it because the rules state that doesn't count as a dribble.)

Nevadaref Tue Jul 10, 2018 03:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1022899)
If the initial dribble is started on the release, how is a subsequent (illegal) dribble not also started on the release?

Again, we may choose to wait for what happens next to make a call (or not), but that doesn't change the fact that the dribble actually began on the release.

100% correct.
We had this discussion on this forum about seven years ago. Camron and I were on the same side then too. The casebook has a play stating that it is a violation when the player releases the ball. That is the start of a dribble.
I'm shocked that Billy does not recall that long thread.

BillyMac Tue Jul 10, 2018 05:33am

Conclusion ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1022907)
I'm shocked that Billy does not recall that long thread.

I definitely recall the thread. I don't recall a consensus, or conclusion, based on language from 4.15.1 SITUATION C.

Now, where are my keys?

BillyMac Tue Jul 10, 2018 05:37am

Floor ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1022906)
Probably what he means is throwing the ball off the opponent's backboard or an official. Of course, the rules book states that both of those are treated the same as contacting the floor, so he is just being picky.

ART. 4 A ball which touches a player or an official is the same as the ball
touching the floor at that individual’s location.
ART. 5 A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is
treated the same as touching the floor inbounds; see also 4-15-1.

BillyMac Tue Jul 10, 2018 05:49am

Touched Twice Before Touches Floor ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1022906)
... the ball must bounce before a moving player may touch it again because it isn't a legal dribble if it doesn't.

4.15.4 SITUATION D: While dribbling: (a) A1 bats the ball over the head of an
opponent, runs around the opponent, bats the ball to the floor and continues to
dribble; RULING: Violation in (a), because the ball was touched twice by A1’s
hand(s) during a dribble, before it touched the floor.


ART. 2 During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is
permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).

BillyMac Tue Jul 10, 2018 06:03am

Trust But Verify ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1022906)
A stationary player may toss the ball into the air and catch it because the rules state that doesn't count as a dribble.)

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1022910)
4.15.4 SITUATION D ... because the ball was touched twice by A1’s hand(s) during a dribble, before it touched the floor.

I know that both of these statements are 100% true, but I can't find a citation for either.

Where does it state that stationary player may toss the ball into the air and catch it?

Where does it state that the ball may not be touched twice by the hands during a dribble? Is it this: The dribble ends when: c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands? But the twice touch doesn't have to be simultaneous, does it? Can't it just be twice before the ball hits the floor?

In don't remember failing Basketball Rules 100. Let me check my transcript. I may have to go to summer school. Yikes.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1