![]() |
I would rather worry about when PC is established than who touched it last.
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Objective/Subjective ...
Quote:
The subjective part is the official deciding, in a possibly bang bang play, whether A1 had regained player control (backcourt), or hadn't regained player control (no backcourt). Of course we make these objective/subjective calls all the time in a game, so it's difficult to figure out if it's an objective call (like stepping on a boundary line), or subjective call (like gaining an illegal advantage on a foul). One official's objective call may be another's subjective call. Sometimes they just blend together. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I Know More About Dark Matter Than I Know About NCAA Rules ...
Quote:
The out of bounds is different. I will sound my whistle to stop the clock, and not make a direction call. If my partner can't help me, then there is a rule that allows me to go the alternating possession arrow. There is no such rule for a unsure backcourt call, and only a backcourt call will stop the clock. Quote:
So I'm guessing about something that I don't know anything about. Take my opinion, and $1.69, and that will get you a large cup of black coffee at McDonald's. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Decisions ...
Quote:
Quote:
I agree that the NCAA backcourt rule has less loopholes, but some part of it can still be subjective in certain specific circumstances. "After the deflection did player control occur before the ball went into the backcourt?" can be slightly subjective, especially using the "Would I grant a timeout request?" on a bang bang play. Quote:
|
I do not consider the first touch, last touch BC to be subjective. It is a judgment call because you have to see it, but it is not always clear.
Either way, the NCAA took away an element of that call and the most controversial part too. We will just have to see. But then again this is just arguing over an irrelevant point anyway. Why does anyone care about what is subjective or not? Peace |
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
OK, the NFHS rule (now) allows you to not make a backcourt violation call if the ball was deflected by B. If no one touched the ball before it squirted loose, and A previously controlled the ball in the frontcourt, and it was recovered in the backcourt by A, violation. If no one touched the ball before it squirted loose, and A had control of the ball in its backcourt, and the ball goes into B's backcourt, where it is picked up by B, no violation. If there was a deflection by B prior to the ball going to A's backcourt, no call. When in doubt, don't make a backcourt call.
|
Quote:
Quote:
Not seeing is just not seeing. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54pm. |