The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAAW Notre Dame/UConn (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103735-ncaaw-notre-dame-uconn.html)

SC Official Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:47pm

NCAAW Notre Dame/UConn
 
Let’s see the jump ball to start OT.

SC Official Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:49pm

Foul call at 3:04 in OT

JRutledge Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:50pm

Don't the same two players jump the ball that was involved in the held ball?

They let two other players jump the ball.

Peace

SC Official Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:53pm

I believe in NCAAM the rule is that any two can rejump. Is it the same in women’s? I know NFHS it has to be the two that tied it up.

JRutledge Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:57pm

That is what I am asking, I do not know the Women's rule. I would suspect it is the same, but nothing surprises me with these rules differences anymore.

Peace

SC Official Fri Mar 30, 2018 11:01pm

Notre Dame gave UConn every chance to win this game and still came out on top.

Rich Fri Mar 30, 2018 11:03pm

Bumping the ball to the 28 is the dumbest rule ever. I hope that crap never comes to ball I work.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

SC Official Fri Mar 30, 2018 11:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1020079)
Bumping the ball to the 28 is the dumbest rule ever. I hope that crap never comes to ball I work.

Agreed.

bucky Sat Mar 31, 2018 01:02am

With about 9:28 to go in the game, there was a UCONN player control foul called along the endline. Defensive player clearly had a foot OOB. In NCAAW, does the defensive player have to be IB to take a charge? I thought it was a big call at the time and nobody mentioned it. What is the rule?

Multiple Sports Sat Mar 31, 2018 03:47am

You are correct. It is what we refer to as legal guarding position. Unfortunately, Im sure that play will be on the training tape next fall.

Good pick up on your part.

Rut - Can you find it....I don't have exact time.

bob jenkins Sat Mar 31, 2018 06:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1020076)
I believe in NCAAM the rule is that any two can rejump. Is it the same in women’s? I know NFHS it has to be the two that tied it up.

Any two can jump. So, it's usually the original jumpers.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1020079)
Bumping the ball to the 28 is the dumbest rule ever. I hope that crap never comes to ball I work.

Why is that? While I don't think it's the best rule, it's not that bad.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1020085)
With about 9:28 to go in the game, there was a UCONN player control foul called along the endline. Defensive player clearly had a foot OOB. In NCAAW, does the defensive player have to be IB to take a charge? I thought it was a big call at the time and nobody mentioned it. What is the rule?

Yes, the player must be inbounds.

(All of the above with the caveat that I didn't see any of the game)

SC Official Sat Mar 31, 2018 07:59am

I’d also like to see the charge call against UConn that made Geno go bonkers (I think it was 7:28 in the 4Q)

crosscountry55 Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1020088)
Any two can jump. So, it's usually the original jumpers.


Correct for NCAA both rule sets. Not for NFHS.

The NCAA rule used to be the same as NFHS, until there was such a held ball to begin a men’s title game about 15 years ago. The very next season the rule was changed to allow any two players to re-jump. Coincidence? I think not. Not sure when the NCAAW rule changed, but would imagine it was around the same time.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JRutledge Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 1020086)
You are correct. It is what we refer to as legal guarding position. Unfortunately, Im sure that play will be on the training tape next fall.

Good pick up on your part.

Rut - Can you find it....I don't have exact time.

Find what exactly? I have the play for the jump ball, but not any other play. I did not record the game.

Peace

JRutledge Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1020105)
Correct for NCAA both rule sets. Not for NFHS.

The NCAA rule used to be the same as NFHS, until there was such a held ball to begin a men’s title game about 15 years ago. The very next season the rule was changed to allow any two players to re-jump. Coincidence? I think not. Not sure when the NCAAW rule changed, but would imagine it was around the same time.

Here is the actual ruling on the Men's side.

A.R. 140. An official tosses the ball for the opening jump ball. Immediately after the ball is touched by the jumpers, A2 and B2 tie up the ball.

RULING: Since possession has never been established, the official
cannot use the alternating-possession arrow to award possession. An official shall conduct another jump ball. Any two opposing players shall jump.
(Rule 6-3.5)

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1