The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   There are no dumb questions, right? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10361-there-no-dumb-questions-right.html)

LepTalBldgs Thu Oct 09, 2003 10:56am

I'm just a poor ignorant rookie and had this situation last night.

A1 is dribbling just past the division line toward his basket. He picks up his dribble and momentum causes him to touch the ball to the floor while holding the ball with both hands. So he's got both feet on the ground, and the ball is touching the ground with both hands on the ball. Is there a call? Can you please cite chapter & verse?

ChuckElias Thu Oct 09, 2003 11:01am

In the immortal words of Professor Chris Berman of the University of Bristol, "There are no stupid questions. Only stupid people who ask questions." :D That's a joke, LepTall. I just loved that commercial, that's all.

Anyway, to answer your question, there's no call to be made. It is not a dribble. See 4-15-4, Note 3. (That's from last year's book. The reference may be slightly different this year. Look under "Dribble" in the definitions.)

Dan_ref Thu Oct 09, 2003 11:04am

No such thing as a stupid question, just stupid people :p :D

Perfectly legal, some kind soul will post a reference.

Dan_ref Thu Oct 09, 2003 11:04am


Geeze Chuck, this is scary. :eek:

ChuckElias Thu Oct 09, 2003 11:07am

LOL :D

Mark Padgett Thu Oct 09, 2003 12:06pm

Don't forget Sam Malone's quote (from Cheers): "There's no such thing as a bad boy - only boys with bad haircuts."

Mregor Thu Oct 09, 2003 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by LepTalBldgs
I'm just a poor ignorant rookie and had this situation last night.

A1 is dribbling just past the division line toward his basket. He picks up his dribble and momentum causes him to touch the ball to the floor while holding the ball with both hands. So he's got both feet on the ground, and the ball is touching the ground with both hands on the ball. Is there a call? Can you please cite chapter & verse?

4-15-4 Note 3, It is a dribble when a player stands still and bounces the ball. It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches it to the floor once or more than once. (From 2001-02 rule book)

Mregor

Jurassic Referee Thu Oct 09, 2003 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
[B]
Quote:

Originally posted by LepTalBldgs
Can you please cite chapter & verse?


4-15-4 Note 3, It is a dribble when a player stands still and bounces the ball. It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches it to the floor once or more than once. (From 2001-02 rule book)

Hmmmm. Same rules citation as Chuck's...only his was about 3 1/2 hours ago.

Missed seeing it,didn't ya? Chuck does write <b>small</b>!:D

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Oct 9th, 2003 at 03:10 PM]

Tim Roden Thu Oct 09, 2003 03:20pm

I'd rather you ask a stupid question then we have to correct a stupid mistake.

Definition of a dribble, 4.15.1 A dribble is a ball movement caused by a player in cointrol who bats(intentional strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

Doesn't sound like it fits to me.

Nevadaref Fri Oct 10, 2003 06:07am

As others have said, it is not a dribble, but it is also not a travel or any other violation. This is a legal play and there is simply no call to be made. Therefore, since this action doesn't violate any of the rules, it will be hard for anyone to cite you any rule other than the one already given.

mick Fri Oct 10, 2003 06:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
It is not a dribble. See 4-15-4, Note 3. (That's from last year's book. The reference may be slightly different this year. Look under "Dribble" in the definitions.)
Yer good.
This year's book is the same.

Mregor Wed Oct 15, 2003 08:29am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
[B]
Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
Quote:

Originally posted by LepTalBldgs
Can you please cite chapter & verse?


4-15-4 Note 3, It is a dribble when a player stands still and bounces the ball. It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches it to the floor once or more than once. (From 2001-02 rule book)

Hmmmm. Same rules citation as Chuck's...only his was about 3 1/2 hours ago.

Missed seeing it,didn't ya? Chuck does write <b>small</b>!:D

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Oct 9th, 2003 at 03:10 PM]

Hey, at least we both got the same answer!

ChuckElias Wed Oct 15, 2003 08:57am

Roger, you're not getting any better, man. You were only 3 and a half hours behind my post. . . but you're six days behind JR's post!! :)

Mregor Wed Oct 15, 2003 09:00am

How's this? Better?

Mregor

ChuckElias Wed Oct 15, 2003 09:32am

Now you're getting somewhere!! :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1