The Official Forum

The Official Forum (
-   Basketball (
-   -   inbounds play and bonus fts (

TopicalTropical Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:34pm

inbounds play and bonus fts
Sorry, I just want to make sure I have this right. I was getting confused looking at some web pages.
both teams in bonus.

Team A inbounding, A1. A2 commits foul while A1 still has ball
No bonus fts right?

Same but ball is in air or deflected. No control established. A2 fouls. No bonus fts? That's my reading but I want to make sure.

3. Inbounds for A. For some reason, say A1 about to grab it, maybe he has touched it but no control yet. A2 commits fouls before A1 has possession. What happens here?

sdoebler Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:48pm

If there is team control and the team with team control commits a foul then there are no bonus free throws. There is team control during a throw in.

Ball is the air is a bit vague, but I am assuming you mean during pass in which there is still team control.

Before A1 has the ball I believe you are asking a dead ball foul. A dead ball foul is a technical foul. Review live ball versus deal ball to determine what the status of the ball is.

TopicalTropical Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:51pm

yes, thanks.

For the second one, I mean the ball has been inbounded but neither team has gained control of the ball. Say it is being deflected around and A2 commits a foul. No bonus fts

Nevadaref Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:19am

No FTs for any of your situations.

Rule reference is 4-19-7. Note the end of that rule "...until player control is obtained inbounds."

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32am.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1