The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 24, 2018, 11:02am
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 602
Throw In After Made Basket

A1 has a throw in after a made basket by B2.

A2 jumps from the court to catch the throw in from A1 and lands out of bounds on the endline. Is this a legal play?

Is A2 required to be out of bounds when the throw in starts to be a legal play?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 24, 2018, 11:37am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
A1 has a throw in after a made basket by B2.

A2 jumps from the court to catch the throw in from A1 and lands out of bounds on the endline. Is this a legal play?

Is A2 required to be out of bounds when the throw in starts to be a legal play?
A2's status is inbounds until he lands out of bounds. So if A2 catches in the air and steps on the line, it's an out of bounds violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 24, 2018, 02:55pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,907
It's True, It's True ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
A2's status is inbounds until he lands out of bounds. So if A2 catches in the air and steps on the line, it's an out of bounds violation.
Agree.

You are where you are until you get where you're going.

I believe that that was one of Dr. James Naismith's original thirteen basketball rules. He came up with the rule in 1891 after a suggestion by his good friend Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 24, 2018, 02:59pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,907
Throwin ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Is A2 required to be out of bounds when the throw in starts to be a legal play?
I don't believe so, he must be out of bounds when he catches the ball, as long as it's within five seconds after the throwin count begins.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 24, 2018, 06:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,852
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
A1 has a throw in after a made basket by B2.

A2 jumps from the court to catch the throw in from A1 and lands out of bounds on the endline. Is this a legal play?
It's an OOB violation, not a TI violation

Quote:
Is A2 required to be out of bounds when the throw in starts to be a legal play?
No
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 25, 2018, 03:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
It's an OOB violation, not a TI violation
If the passed ball was touched on the out of bounds side of the boundary plane, then this is a TI violation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 25, 2018, 07:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
If the passed ball was touched on the out of bounds side of the boundary plane, then this is a TI violation.
Citation please. If the ball isn't touched during and thrown in and goes OOB then I agree. But here the ball is touched, the player just happens to be OOB. Can't remember, and don't have my case book handy, if there is a case play on this.

Secondly if it's after a made basket and the player is legally OOB on the endline then it's no violation as all as this is a legal play.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 25, 2018, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Citation please. If the ball isn't touched during and thrown in and goes OOB then I agree. But here the ball is touched, the player just happens to be OOB. Can't remember, and don't have my case book handy, if there is a case play on this.

Secondly if it's after a made basket and the player is legally OOB on the endline then it's no violation as all as this is a legal play.
Wrong again, junior. 9-2-3
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 25, 2018, 08:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,852
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
If the passed ball was touched on the out of bounds side of the boundary plane, then this is a TI violation.
Agreed. That wan't how I read the OP, but re-reading it, I see it wasn't clear.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 25, 2018, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Wrong again, junior. 9-2-3
Thanks. Although the wording implies that the ball must cross onto the playing court as to make this a violation if the ball doesn't cross the plane of the throw in boundary line that the throw is happening on. The exception even is for throw ins after made baskets which ONLY apply to the same boundary as the throw in.

I always interpreted this to imply that the thrown in MUST first cross from OOB to IB otherwise its a violation. This doesn't say that ball cannot be first touched by a teammate that is simply OOB. Thoughts?

ART. 3 . . .
The thrown ball shall not be touched by a teammate of the thrower while the ball is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary-line plane, except as in 7-5-7.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw In after Made Basket actuary77 Basketball 15 Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:25pm
Made basket, Throw in. texaspaul Basketball 2 Sun Dec 02, 2007 08:33pm
Throw in after made basket CoachP Basketball 15 Thu Aug 02, 2007 05:00pm
Throw in after made basket Rodego Basketball 11 Fri Jul 30, 2004 05:12pm
Throw-In after made basket kschau Basketball 1 Sat Jan 20, 2001 11:10am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1