The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Oakland v Youngstown ending (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103537-oakland-v-youngstown-ending.html)

Nevadaref Thu Feb 15, 2018 02:17am

Oakland v Youngstown ending
 
The end of the Oakland/Youngstown State game tonight would be a good one for instruction and discussion, if someone could post a video.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Feb 15, 2018 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1017137)
The end of the Oakland/Youngstown State game tonight would be a good one for instruction and discussion, if someone could post a video.


NevadaRef:

I did not watch the game live on ESPN3.com last night, but I watched the replay and my beloved Youngstown State University Penguins (Bachelor of Engineering (major: Civil Engineering), Class of 1980) won with a buzzer beater, so I do not understand what there is to discuss, ;).

YSU took TO with 0:06.4 left in the 2nd Half and wen the length of the court to shoot the winning shot with 0:00.2 left in the 2nd Half. I am not sure what there is to discuss the game video shows the ball clearly out of Covington's hand with 0:00.1 left in the 2nd Half. The GO checked the video before leaving Dom Rosseli Court.

He is the link to the replay, one can jump to 1:33 of the video to last the end of the game: Oakland vs. Youngstown State (M Basketball) - WatchESPN

MTD, Sr.

#olderthanilook Thu Feb 15, 2018 01:09pm

LOL....I see it.

Oakland coach probably wanted the officials to call a traveling violation on YSU #1.

Nevadaref Thu Feb 15, 2018 06:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 1017159)
LOL....I see it.

Oakland coach probably wanted the officials to call a traveling violation on YSU #1.

That is the point to discuss.

Raymond Thu Feb 15, 2018 07:35pm

From my phone it looks like he simply fumbled the ball and recovered it.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Feb 15, 2018 08:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1017189)
For my phone it looks like he's simply fumbled the ball and recovered it.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


Yes, I am a Penguin, but I saw it as a fumble recovery.

MTD, Sr.

nolanjj68 Thu Feb 15, 2018 08:26pm

You can't travel if you don't have the ball.

bob jenkins Thu Feb 15, 2018 09:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by nolanjj68 (Post 1017195)
You can't travel if you don't have the ball.

except ... ;)

BillyMac Fri Feb 16, 2018 07:06am

Rare Exception ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nolanjj68 (Post 1017195)
You can't travel if you don't have the ball.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1017197)
except ...

A player must be holding the ball (with one very rare exception) in order to travel.

One rare exception. It's when ... Wait ... I'm being told ... Fishing? What's it got to do with fishing? Never mind.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Feb 16, 2018 07:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1017207)
A player must be holding the ball (with one very rare exception) in order to travel.

One rare exception. It's when ... Wait ... I'm being told ... Fishing? What's it got to do with fishing? Never mind.



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wznjAhZ0eWc


MTD, Sr.

sdoebler Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1017197)
except ... ;)

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1017207)
A player must be holding the ball (with one very rare exception) in order to travel.

One rare exception. It's when ... Wait ... I'm being told ... Fishing? What's it got to do with fishing? Never mind.

Sorry is there an exception? I just reviewed section 44 and didn't find anything. Did learn something new in article 2 though:

3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.

Raymond Fri Feb 16, 2018 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sdoebler (Post 1017253)
Sorry is there an exception? I just reviewed section 44 and didn't find anything. Did learn something new in article 2 though:

3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.

You're just learning about a jump stop? :confused:

sdoebler Fri Feb 16, 2018 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1017259)
You're just learning about a jump stop? :confused:

No I guess I was reading this visualizing it in slow motion, catch on one foot look around take a big leap off that foot in one direction and land with both feet.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 16, 2018 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sdoebler (Post 1017253)
Sorry is there an exception?

4.44.5B


Quote:

Did learn something new in article 2 though:

3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.
Who woulda thunk? ;)

sdoebler Fri Feb 16, 2018 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1017266)
4.44.5B

Alright I had to read that a few times to visualize especially after ART. 5 started with A player holding the ball:

bob jenkins Fri Feb 16, 2018 11:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sdoebler (Post 1017268)
Alright I had to read that a few times to visualize especially after ART. 5 started with A player holding the ball:

You know my reference was a case play (dots, not dashes), right?

sdoebler Fri Feb 16, 2018 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1017271)
You know my reference was a case play (dots, not dashes), right?

Ah, I don't have my case play book at work.

LRZ Fri Feb 16, 2018 11:44am

4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating?
RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or request a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b)

jas4yf Fri Feb 16, 2018 11:45am

Technically speaking 4-44-3b can also lead to an exception to the concept that player must be holding the ball in order to travel.

b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.

Scenario: Player jumps to shoot, realizing his shot will be blocked simply drops the ball. He then lands.

His feet have returned to the floor before the ball has been released on a pass or try for goal. This attempt to circumvent the rules is a travel.

Camron Rust Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jas4yf (Post 1017274)
Technically speaking 4-44-3b can also lead to an exception to the concept that player must be holding the ball in order to travel.

b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.

Scenario: Player jumps to shoot, realizing his shot will be blocked simply drops the ball. He then lands.

His feet have returned to the floor before the ball has been released on a pass or try for goal. This attempt to circumvent the rules is a travel.

Not really.

The foot movement that makes it a travel occurred when the player was holding the ball.....the jump. The player lifted the pivot foot while holding the ball and then started a dribble.

jas4yf Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1017283)
Not really.

The foot movement that makes it a travel occurred when the player was holding the ball.....the jump. The player lifted the pivot foot while holding the ball and then started a dribble.

I mean sure, but by that logic 4-44-5b (the exception noted earlier) is only a travel because the player had been holding the ball first.

Camron Rust Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jas4yf (Post 1017290)
I mean sure, but by that logic 4-44-5b (the exception noted earlier) is only a travel because the player had been holding the ball first.

The difference is that every other case involves some foot movement while holding the ball. The stand-up case doesn't.

#olderthanilook Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1017189)
From my phone it looks like he simply fumbled the ball and recovered it.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Same

jas4yf Fri Feb 16, 2018 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1017292)
The difference is that every other case involves some foot movement while holding the ball. The stand-up case doesn't.

OK I can buy that ... you've convinced me!

billyu2 Fri Feb 16, 2018 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jas4yf (Post 1017274)
Technically speaking 4-44-3b can also lead to an exception to the concept that player must be holding the ball in order to travel.

b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.

Scenario: Player jumps to shoot, realizing his shot will be blocked simply drops the ball. He then lands.

His feet have returned to the floor before the ball has been released on a pass or try for goal. This attempt to circumvent the rules is a travel.

Provided the player is the first to touch the ball after the ball bounces.
4.44.3 Situation A (d)

jas4yf Fri Feb 16, 2018 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 1017300)
Provided the player is the first to touch the ball after the ball bounces.
4.44.3 Situation A (d)

I don't have my case book in front of me but a quick google returned this. Is this the case play you're referring to?

4.44.3 SITUATION A: A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and: (a) slaps the ball out of A1’s hands; (b) touches the ball but does not prevent A1 from releasing the ball; (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball; or (d) touches the ball and A1 drops it to the floor and touches it first after it bounces . RULING: In (a) and (b), the ball remains live. In (c), a traveling violation. In (d), a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. Since the touching did not prevent the pass or try in (b), (c) and (d), the ball remains live and subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation.

If so, in all of these the situation is a defender contacting the ball. The situation I described was a player dropping the ball on his own.

Camron Rust Fri Feb 16, 2018 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 1017300)
Provided the player is the first to touch the ball after the ball bounces.
4.44.3 Situation A (d)

Quote:

Originally Posted by jas4yf (Post 1017302)
I don't have my case book in front of me but a quick google returned this. Is this the case play you're referring to?

4.44.3 SITUATION A: A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and: (a) slaps the ball out of A1’s hands; (b) touches the ball but does not prevent A1 from releasing the ball; (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball; or (d) touches the ball and A1 drops it to the floor and touches it first after it bounces . RULING: In (a) and (b), the ball remains live. In (c), a traveling violation. In (d), a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. Since the touching did not prevent the pass or try in (b), (c) and (d), the ball remains live and subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation.

If so, in all of these the situation is a defender contacting the ball. The situation I described was a player dropping the ball on his own.

The case setup having a player touch the ball after it bounces does not make it a requirement for the ruling. It is an example. It does not say that it isn't a travel if the player doesn't touch it.

BillyMac Fri Feb 16, 2018 07:07pm

Fishing Expedition ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LRZ (Post 1017273)
4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating?
RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or request a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b)

Shouldn't you have let sdoebler find it himself?

Give a man a fish and he has food for a day. Teach a man to fish and he has to buy bamboo rods, graphite reels, monofilament lines, neoprene waders, creels, tackleboxes, lures, flies, spinners, worm rigs, slip sinkers, offset hooks, gore-tex hats, 20 pocket vests, fish finders, depth sounders, radar, boats, trailers, global positioning systems, coolers, and six-packs.

billyu2 Fri Feb 16, 2018 09:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jas4yf (Post 1017302)
I don't have my case book in front of me but a quick google returned this. Is this the case play you're referring to?

4.44.3 SITUATION A: A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and: (a) slaps the ball out of A1’s hands; (b) touches the ball but does not prevent A1 from releasing the ball; (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball; or (d) touches the ball and A1 drops it to the floor and touches it first after it bounces . RULING: In (a) and (b), the ball remains live. In (c), a traveling violation. In (d), a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. Since the touching did not prevent the pass or try in (b), (c) and (d), the ball remains live and subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation.

If so, in all of these the situation is a defender contacting the ball. The situation I described was a player dropping the ball on his own.

The defender touching the ball doesn’t change the situation. The player maintained control of the ball and dropped it to the floor. The ruling says violation if the player touches it first. Interestingly, the ruling doesn’t suggest dropping the ball to the floor is illegal because at that point we really don’t know what it is. The ruling suggests it could be a “pass” or “try” in b, c and d and the ball remains live, meaning if the ball touches or is touched by any other player it simply becomes a legal pass. That is the interpretation I adhere to. Others may have different interpretations they go by.

jas4yf Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 1017324)
The defender touching the ball doesn’t change the situation. The player maintained control of the ball and dropped it to the floor. The ruling says violation if the player touches it first. Interestingly, the ruling doesn’t suggest dropping the ball to the floor is illegal because at that point we really don’t know what it is. The ruling suggests it could be a “pass” or “try” in b, c and d and the ball remains live, meaning if the ball touches or is touched by any other player it simply becomes a legal pass. That is the interpretation I adhere to. Others may have different interpretations they go by.

This is certainly a good point and I'm curious to see how others interpret it. Clearly it's hard to legislate intent, but when this occurs it's usually very evident it's not a pass attempt.

Rulebook defines a pass as: A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another
player.

If a player jumps for a shot, second guesses it for whatever reason and drops the ball I don't see any way one could deem that a 'throw, bat or roll' to another player. Perhaps if it occurs with a teammate so near the shooter that he is able to immediately pick up the loose ball I'd consider not blowing it, but I've never seen that occur. Granted, I've only seen the drop ball scenario happen once in 7 years too.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Feb 17, 2018 06:38am

May we please give this thread a rest. The game was my beloved Penguins sixth win of the season against twenty losses. They need all of the help they can get. :D

MTD, Sr.

AremRed Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1017335)
May we please give this thread a rest. The game was my beloved Penguins sixth win of the season against twenty losses. They need all of the help they can get. :D

This thread gonna die itself if we don't get video of the play.

Rich Ives Sat Feb 17, 2018 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1017259)
You're just learning about a jump stop? :confused:

Travelling all day back when I played.

njbell89 Sat Feb 17, 2018 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1017342)
This thread gonna die itself if we don't get video of the play.

I’m interested in folks’ thoughts on this play. Possession in question starts at 1:23. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=kOXjuj-vzmg

HokiePaul Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LRZ (Post 1017273)
4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating?
RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or request a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b)

Can anyone explain the logic to this interpretation? I was aware of it but hadn't given it much thought as it is pretty uncommon. But now that I'm thinking about it, I don't think it really make sense based on the rule, given that the player is allowed to dribble. You can have virtually the same action, but if there is any slight bounce to the ball, then standing and picking the ball up simply ends the dribble. But if the ball is absolutely still, then the same act is a travel. Seems (at best) an unnecessary interpretation to add, given that the defense could just grab the ball if it was placed on the ground -- but maybe i'm missing something.

Camron Rust Wed Feb 21, 2018 02:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 1017561)
Can anyone explain the logic to this interpretation? I was aware of it but hadn't given it much thought as it is pretty uncommon. But now that I'm thinking about it, I don't think it really make sense based on the rule, given that the player is allowed to dribble. You can have virtually the same action, but if there is any slight bounce to the ball, then standing and picking the ball up simply ends the dribble. But if the ball is absolutely still, then the same act is a travel. Seems (at best) an unnecessary interpretation to add, given that the defense could just grab the ball if it was placed on the ground -- but maybe i'm missing something.

It is viewed as an attempt to circumvent the rule. Without going through the efforts of changing various rules to cover this case, perhaps making them unnecessarily complicated, they decided a simple case to handle an oddball situation was enough.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1