The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2018, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 26
Simultaneous on a coach?

Coach gets a T for shooting his mouth. He then says something else and the ref hits him again. He's ejected. How many free throws do you shoot? Can this be ruled as "simultaneous" technicals on a coach?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2018, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jqb12 View Post
Can this be ruled as "simultaneous" technicals on a coach?
Only if you are asking for an incorrect ruling.

The definition of "simultaneous" foul requires that BOTH teams commit a foul
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2018, 08:53am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jqb12 View Post
Coach gets a T for shooting his mouth. He then says something else and the ref hits him again. He's ejected. How many free throws do you shoot? Can this be ruled as "simultaneous" technicals on a coach?
You would shoot only 2 free throws if you rule the coach's initial T to be Flagrant. Once you call a 2nd T, then you have to shoot a second set of free throws.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2018, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
You would shoot only 2 free throws if you rule the coach's initial T to be Flagrant. Once you call a 2nd T, then you have to shoot a second set of free throws.
While I might give the new acting head coach an opportunity to get his now "Team supporter" under control, if I need to issue the T (as in the OP), we are shooting FTs for it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2018, 10:40am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,137
Bottom line, all Ts are two shots per infraction.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 13, 2018, 01:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jqb12 View Post
Coach gets a T for shooting his mouth. He then says something else and the ref hits him again. He's ejected. How many free throws do you shoot? Can this be ruled as "simultaneous" technicals on a coach?
I am curious if you were there or heard this through the grapevine? Could the 2nd T have been avoided?

This topic of discussion came up post game tonight, slightly unrelated, but my partner made a comment about how he whacked a coach the other night, then whacked the other coach for saying "Its about time!"
__________________
"They don't play the game because we show up to officiate it"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simultaneous foul WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 6 Tue Jan 14, 2014 07:51pm
poi on simultaneous t's kmw Basketball 1 Sun Jan 08, 2006 09:51pm
"Simultaneous" Different Fouls Almost Always Right Basketball 38 Wed May 11, 2005 01:55am
Simultaneous T's ripcord51 Basketball 5 Sun Jan 23, 2005 01:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1