The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   RA plays (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103313-ra-plays-video.html)

JRutledge Wed Jan 03, 2018 06:45pm

RA plays (Video)
 
Play 1:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/jKOhqzZFbpc" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play 2:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/kn_re8p2xVo" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

SC Official Wed Jan 03, 2018 06:48pm

1: Extremely close and I honestly can’t tell. If he was out it’s close enough that I don’t have a problem with C/T not coming in with information.

2: Straight up block. Good job by Roger not to point at the RA.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 03, 2018 07:44pm

1. His feet were clearly outside of the RA when he obtained LGP. He then moved laterally and his foot briefly crossed over the RA arc, but once you have LGP outside of the arc, it doesn't matter if you then step over it.

2. Charge (if there were no RA). In the path...check. Facing...check. Two feet down....check. Just because the shooter changes paths on the jump and doesn't hit him square doesn't negate already obtained LGP. I could go with a no-call however for that reason.

Raymond Wed Jan 03, 2018 11:55pm

Play 2: Defender turns his body into shooter after shooter goes airborne.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

bob jenkins Thu Jan 04, 2018 08:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1014074)
1. His feet were clearly outside of the RA when he obtained LGP. He then moved laterally and his foot briefly crossed over the RA arc, but once you have LGP outside of the arc, it doesn't matter if you then step over it.

Agreed -- and even if it did matter (or there wasn't LGP before) then there is LGP after and outside the arc. I think this can be reviewed.

Quote:

2. Charge (if there were no RA). In the path...check. Facing...check. Two feet down....check. Just because the shooter changes paths on the jump and doesn't hit him square doesn't negate already obtained LGP. I could go with a no-call however for that reason.
That's my thought on the first play through. I didn't watch beyond that.

SC Official Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1014081)
Play 2: Defender turns his body into shooter after shooter goes airborne.

My thoughts exactly, and I’m normally one for going charge when in doubt.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1014074)
2. Charge (if there were no RA). In the path...check. Facing...check. Two feet down....check. Just because the shooter changes paths on the jump and doesn't hit him square doesn't negate already obtained LGP. I could go with a no-call however for that reason.

With all the clear charges that get shown on this forum that you think are blocks, I’m surprised this is your response.

Camron Rust Thu Jan 04, 2018 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1014102)
My thoughts exactly, and I’m normally one for going charge when in doubt.

With all the clear charges that get shown on this forum that you think are blocks, I’m surprised this is your response.

That happens when you judge plays by the rules instead of by the seat of your pants.

SC Official Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1014105)
That happens when you judge plays by the rules instead of by the seat of your pants.

By this logic, you would agree that play #2 is a block.

Camron Rust Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1014107)
By this logic, you would agree that play #2 is a block.

If we were to judge with the RA rule, yes. But that wan't the question. The question was about what it would be if there were no RA. What part of LGP did the player not have? By rule??

sdoebler Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:41pm

If you freeze the play at :14 when contact is made the defender is perpendicular to the offensive player. The contact happens against his hip, block with or without RA imo.

SC Official Thu Jan 04, 2018 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1014112)
If we were to judge with the RA rule, yes. But that wan't the question. The question was about what it would be if there were no RA. What part of LGP did the player not have? By rule??

Because the shooter was airborne and then the defender moved toward him creating the contact. And no, this is not the same as bracing for the imminent crash. What this defender did was illegal.

Camron Rust Thu Jan 04, 2018 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1014122)
Because the shooter was airborne and then the defender moved toward him creating the contact. And no, this is not the same as bracing for the imminent crash. What this defender did was illegal.

The defender was moving left to right with contact on the left shoulder. He rotated while moving that direction but his net direction of movement was away.

Raymond Thu Jan 04, 2018 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1014129)
The defender was moving left to right with contact on the left shoulder. He rotated while moving that direction but his net direction of movement was away.

The defender moved the left portion of his body into the Airborne shooter. That is going to be a block all day long on the NCAA Men's side. The NCAA men's rule-makers do not want the defenders moving into airborne players.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

SC Official Thu Jan 04, 2018 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1014133)
The defender moved the left portion of his body into the Airborne shooter. That is going to be a block all day long on the NCAA Men's side. The NCAA men's rule-makers do not want the defenders moving into airborne players.

And I would rule a block in NFHS as well, and doubt I would catch any heat from people whose opinions matter. Also, the rules support a block.

Camron Rust Thu Jan 04, 2018 08:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1014133)
The defender moved the left portion of his body into the Airborne shooter. That is going to be a block all day long on the NCAA Men's side. The NCAA men's rule-makers do not want the defenders moving into airborne players.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

I don't think that is actually what happened. Not what I see in the video anyway.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1