![]() |
Backcourt violation?
This question was email to a group with rule notations but not the correct answer. Which is correct?
A2 passes the ball to A3. The pass is out of the reach of A3 and bounces on the division (half court) line as A3 scrambles to gain control of the pass. Is this a back court violation? A) Yes, when the ball touched the division line the violation occurred B) No, Team A must touch the ball in the back court C) No, ball must be completely in the back court D) No, division line is still in the front court Correct answer is Rule 4.12.2, Page 30 and Rule9.9.2 Page 58 NFHS rule Book |
E: None of the above
|
That's what I thought. A violation when the A3 touched the ball.
|
Not enough information to answer -- was A2 in the BC or the FC?
|
Quote:
Also, did A3's "scrambling" involve touching the ball? |
It's a very poorly written question that appears to intend B as the answer, and asks the reader to assume the A2 was in the FC (as the question makes no sense otherwise) and to assume that scrambling means A3 has not yet touched ball (and the answer choices otherwise make no sense). All of the other three answers are obviously wrong; so despite how crappy the question is, B is the "best answer"--the cop out for test writers.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12am. |