![]() |
Front court/back court
A1 is throwing in the ball in the front court, from the baseline. The thrown ball is touched by B1 and then A2 before going into the back court (no possession). Please remember that there is no front court or back court during a throw-in. If A2 is the first to touch the ball in back court, is it a violation?? Not a violation?? Please give me rule numbers to justify your answer, thank you.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Look up when inbounds end, and what the criteria are for FC/BC status and the exceptions. There is also a case play that covers tips during the inbounds in relations to BC. Let us know what you find and we can help from there. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
One thing to note on this type of play though is the unique situation where if the ball is thrown in from the front court by A1, then A2 jumps from the front court and catches the ball in the air and lands in the back court this is legal.
Scenario 2: However if the situation you had occurred A1 passes the ball in and it is touched by B1, and then A2 jumps from the front court and catches the ball in the air and lands in the back court, this would be an over an back violation. Status of the ball is ignored on a throw in until the ball is legally touched, the touch by B1 is legal which results in scenario 2 being a violation. |
Quote:
Also, look at #2 on this year's POE. |
Always Listen To bob ...
Quote:
when coming from a throw-in); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06am. |